We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Posh room, top level service, stayed for 3 nights. Great breakfast. Parked on street each day without trouble as it is free after 6 PM. Very central location, close to everything downtown. Had a pleasant walk to office each day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David W E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks David for the great feedback on your recent business visit with us!
We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know at GM@Magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,795)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,894 - 1,900 of 2,795 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

An excellent hotel where, on this occasion, we found maintenance issues not previously encountered e.g .plumbing in the bathroom, dead telephone, safe that wouldn't open. These were addressed but not until the next day when specialized staff were available. The hotel compensated us generously for these difficulties.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gerard/Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear valued guest from White Rock,

Thank you kindly for your business with us and for sharing your feedback.

I am very pleased that we were able to follow up after your visit and review the issues you faced during your visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back, and making up for these challenges on your next visit,

Kind Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wow, where do I start. The rooms at the Magnolia are fantastic! The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom is huge and spa-like. Everything is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't be more convenient. After we checked out of the hotel, we were able to check our bags at the front desk so we could tour the city without having to take everything with us.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1122RTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed in the Magnolia Hotel and Spa for a night in Victoria. They were very accommodating to my needs as it was my partner's birthday. They left a card with a box of chocolates and also upgraded us to a deluxe room. That was very kind of them. The location of the hotel was very central, although Victoria was somewhat boring, it was nearby many places of interest. The complimentary "deluxe" breakfast was a little underwhelming with very basic items like toast and boiled eggs only available. If you want something else, you'd have to pay for it. Also, I feel that as a Hotel that has a spa, there should also be an in-house pool available and not have to walk all the way to YMCA to use their pool, this left us a little puzzled.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greckang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very pleasant hotel within steps of the shopping district, good restaurants/pubs and the picturesque harbour area. Friendly staff and light, bright room. Liked the caraffe of water in the room at arrival, but disappointed that the caraffe was not refilled on subsequent days of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bowenbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Absolutely amazing! It was very nice time. Good location, so friendly atmosphere, nice gues servise. Very representative look, I'd liie go there again. Good service, good sleep quality. Thanks so much!


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nedvedova R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Magnolia Hotel & Spa is simply elegant, tastefully furnished, and completely inviting. We were warmly welcomed from minute one of our arrival. Every staff member we encountered was professional, polite, and passionate.

The hotel's location was a huge bonus--you can walk easily to most places of interest, bars and restaurants. Not once during our weekend in Victoria did we need to find transportation. Given its central location, however, you may prefer a room on one of the upper floors--especially if you are a light sleeper. While our corner room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable, it also faced a brightly lit parking garage and sat at an intersection that saw heavy pedestrian traffic of the happy-drunk kind. ;) Our room was also situated directly above the hotel's restaurant/bar, so at closing time we could hear the occasional clang and bump as stuff was moved around. We did not find this reason enough to lodge a complaint, though, because our room was a complimentary upgrade, which was a cool surprise!

A brief note about the bed and pillows: if you like your mattress firm and your pillows soft, you will sleep soundly at the Magnolia Hotel & Spa. I struggled both nights because I am a medium-mattress and firm-latex-pillow kind of gal. This did not compromise my overall experience at the hotel, though.

We adored the lovely welcome in our room, i.e. glass bottle of water, two apples, and two pieces of chocolate (see pic). I like that they ended their previous practice of providing plastic bottles of water in the name of environmental protection. The inclusion of a recycling can in our room was appreciated. I would love Magnolia to take their commitment to the environment one step further by replacing the bulbs in all their lighting fixtures with LED ones.

The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant: the options, while not plentiful, sufficed for our needs. If you are a typical American tourist, please bear in mind that Canadian restaurants may not feel compelled to provide the gargantuan food portions that you are accustomed to. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts on both mornings. The food was fresh, prepared well, and presented in a visually appealing way. Service was top-notch and non-invasive.

The Spa. You must make an appointment at the Spa. Let me repeat that: you MUST make an appointment at the Spa. Ask for Drew. His magical hands decimated every single muscle ache that I had felt before my massage. Totally rejuvenating and revitalizing! Drew, if you ever read Yelp reviews and see this one, I want you to know that I still wish I did kidnap you home with me. :)

Room Tip: Pay more for a room on the upper floors if you are a light sleeper. Street noise and lights are ampl...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orange0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $205 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing