We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, extremely comfortable, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Super hotel in Victoria that I have had the good fortune to stay at for a couple of weeks on business. Folks are friendly and respectful, and rooms and well furnished. Remarkably comfortable bed and pillows, fabulous bathroom. Not terribly taken with the breakfast options, on a cold wintry day the prospect of cold sliced processed cheese / turkey, cold cereal, fruit etc took the shine off things, was hopeful of improved fare when I first visited as promises of improved breakfasts were in the dining area, but no changes, alas.

Room Tip: 706 has a balcony, is high up, and is spacious with a good view looking south-west over the parliame...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrumplest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Scrumplest

Thank you for your recent visit on business with us, and for taking the time to share your
comments and feedback.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel, and the views from 706, during your recent business stay.

I am truly sorry that the breakfast included did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned changes that are in the works, we are indeed finalizing changes which will be in place by approximately mid-January.
While the Deluxe Continental has been an offering that has been truly enjoyed by our guests for many years we are making changes to improve our overall offerings in the morning. With the collaboration of the talented team at Catalano Restaurant we will be offering an elegant continental breakfast daily, as well as a la carte menu options. We expect to have this in place as mentioned by mid-January.

Thank you again for the kind feedback on your stay,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,797)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,044 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was an enjoyable stay. Room was pricey but worth every penny. Nothing was lacking in the room and the staff was fabulous and the view , Victori-ous! The only dissapointment was the complementary breakfast. Didnt match the excellence of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Four of us indulged in a pre-Christmas getaway, and after our experience here, it will likely become a new tradition for us! The Hotel itself was beautifully and tastefully decorated for the holidays. Shiny red apples and hot mulled apple drink greeted us in the Lobby every afternoon.
Can't find words to describe how amazing we found the spa and the bed/sleep experience. The massages were the best we've ever had. The sleep was so comfortable - haven't slept so soundly in a long time.
The staff are top-notch, and are focused on the guest and attentive to needs and requests. Every time we passed through the Lobby, no matter how busy, every staff member always looked up and greeted us. Doors were opened, elevators buzzed for us, etc.
I highly recommend this Hotel - the massages and the sleep experience were worth every penny, and bumped our weekend from Excellent up to Exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Michele S,

Thank you so much for the "exceptional" comments on your experience with us.
I truly hope we can welcome you back again pre-Christmas getaway!
Please let me know directly and it would truly be my pleasure to arrange this.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for the truly kind feedback and we
are all thrilled that you had a lovely stay in our boutique hotel!

Best wishes for the season,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Magnolia every year since 2009. A great hotel, beautiful rooms and location. Service is friendly and efficient. Food service is very good. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Victoria.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I booked a one night stay as a birthday present for my husband. I chose this location based on Trip Advisor reviews...and the Magnolia didn't disappoint. The location, the building and guest services were really terrific.
Our room was clean and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and we had great sleeps.
In some of the reviews I read on here, there were some semi-complaints about the breakfast, but we thought it was great. There was more than enough selection and the food was just fine. More than anyone would ever need for breakfast.
And what I'd mostly like to mention on here is the continued message that the staff are amazing. They were friendly and helpful. I sent in a special request and they went above and beyond to follow through. I was really impressed. Smiles when we arrived, smiles when we left. It was great.
I would recommend this place to anyone for a perfect little getaway.
Between the hotel and the walks around downtown, we both had to admit it was one of the best weekends we'd had in a long time. Winter in Victoria is amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meghan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Meghan L,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your feedback online.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for the truly kind words about our service team and the experience you had with us.

I am so pleased that this was one of the best weekends you've had in a long time, and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel has a great location, lovely decor and very friendly staff - like stepping back in time to a more gentle time. The breakfast was included and substantial. Views are good and even though the location is very central it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lovely hotel - great staff, lovely rooms, convenient location. Often a good value, especially if you can book the fireplace rooms or the fantastic water view rooms. Restaurant not much, but very nice continental breakfast included in room is a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,101 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,054 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $204 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing