We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Service was excellent - everyone very friendly and efficient (despite a citywide power failure the night I arrived). Location is great for business, right in the centre of the city, and close to the convention centre. I would recommend this hotel strongly!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ABC_Brown717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,054 - 2,060 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were so fortunate to stay at the Magnolia. The location is extremely central and convenient for walking to the parliaments buildings or wharf street or downtown locations. The service and rooms were excellent. Very helpful and friendly at the front desk as well as a wonderful spacious room.
The breakfast was continental however it provided everything we needed to start the day off right.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room. It was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was staying in Victoria on business and booked the Magnolia based on a colleague's recommendation. The room was quite comfortable, the bed was wonderful and the products in the bathroom were terrific. I had a very comfortable sleep both nights I was there. I was in kind of an odd room over the front street and the sitting area was crammed into a funny little corner so I really didn't spend any time sitting there - also with just a view of the parking garage it wasn't much to look at. The continental breakfast was quite average but I did appreciate that it was available.

This is in a wonderful location for exploring downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_Traveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and there was no doorman or valet attendant. No assistance was offered for taking baggage up to the room.

The room itself was very nice. We stayed in a "Diamond" room with a fireplace. It was a nice size and tastefully decorated. All the expected accoutrements for this nice of a hotel were present, including robes and slippers, toiletries, hair dryer, and a Keurig coffee machine (with Starbucks cups).

The hotel was quiet and the bed comfortable. However, maid service on Thursday did not show up until after 4:00 in the afternoon, when we were resting from our day of walking around Victoria. We exited the room so that it could be cleaned and hung out in the small but nice lobby by the fireplace.

We stayed at the Magnolia for three nights and will keep it on our list of places to stay in the future. The location is wonderful but the view (so-called "city view") was just of a bunch of rooftops.

A sort of continental breakfast they call "deluxe continental" was included with the room. It was so-so and did not offer any meat other than slices of ham or turkey like you would put on a sandwich at home. The pastries were not great, but the coffee was good. We opted to walk a couple of blocks to a better restaurant for breakfast; there are many choices.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting our son at uni. The staff were so great: personable, friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast each morning in the restaurant came with a lovely view of the Legislature. Delicious appies and drinks in the lounge each night. Pretty, relaxing and nicely appointed rooms. I was treated to a massage at the spa that was wonderful. Great downtown location makes it easy to tour downtown on foot.

Do be aware that parking can be a bit tricky but valet is available for a fee ($25 per day).

I almost hate to recommend this hotel. Don't want to let out the secret!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife selected this location online for our trip to British Columbia and it was definitely a winner. From the attentive and helpful staff to the nicely appointed and well kept room everything was completely in order. We were upgraded to a corner room which was very spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Magnolia Hotel is in an excellent location and very convenient for walking to all of the downtown activities. This is one of the very few times when both my wife and I completely agree that the hotel absolutely met all of our expectations. What a gem, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is only a block and a half from the main street in downtown Victoria which gives you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Excellent service from attentive staff. Very comfortable rooms and spacious. The beds were firmer and provided an excellent night sleep.
The continental breakfast was included and there were just the basics available, ceral, toast, yoghurts waffles all good, muffins not the best.

Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 523sunandmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $193 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing