We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Magnolias!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After staying at the Magnolia in Denver on a previous vacation I decided to book again at a Magnolia on our recent 12 day road trip through Canada. One of our nights was to spend time in Victoria. People brag about the Fairmount (of which is beautiful), but the prices are way too high. We decided to stay at the Magnolia, which was just around the corner from the Fairmount. It would be hard to believe that they would get better service than we did. The staff at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa in Victoria was top shelf! From the front desk to the valet service, we could not have asked for more. The rooms were comfortable, clean, plenty large enough and the location was perfect, being no more than one block from the harbor. I will continue to search for a Magnolia on every trip we may take in the future. You can't go wrong. Just a hint. We were upgraded to a corner room that had a perfect view. Ask for one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Maxnsimon,

Thank you for the kind words following your visit with us.

On behalf of our entire team we truly appreciate the kind comments about the perfect location, guest rooms with a perfect view and exceptional service.

With respect to your wonderful stays with the Magnolia hotels in the USA, I did want to point out for clarity that the Magnolia Hotel & Spa is not affiliated in any way to the chain in the USA. I do understand however that the Magnolia hotel group in the USA runs a exceptional collection of hotels, and am certain they are equally as worthy of your kind feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel,

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,796)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa. We stayed three nights in a corner room on the 6th floor with a fireplace. We stayed last year and were surprised that they have upgraded the rooms. It is obvious that they upgrade before it looks like it needs it. What a clean, cozy, beautiful hotel. The lobby has a two sided fireplace so that you can also enjoy it in the breakfast area on chilly mornings. Victoria is known for the flowers. In the hotel lobby they have a huge fresh flower arrangement that is frequently changed. The rooms are spacious and feel luxurious. The bed is very comfortable. You feel like you are in a really nice private apartment when you enter the hotel. Location is right next to the Empress on the shopping side of town. You really can't get a better location. This hotel has is all. Great location, really, really nice rooms and bathrooms, great service, and a good continental breakfast with smoothies. They have single serve good coffee in the rooms. I drink a lot so they gave me as many packets as I wanted. When you walk out of the lobby you can be in the heart of shopping or the harbor in 3 minutes. It is 10 minutes to Beacon Hill Park. All the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace. Higher floors have better views. We have had both a water view and a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your recent visit with us in Victoria, and returning for another lovely stay.

Thank you also for the kind comments about our 2013 room renovation. We did indeed plan our renovation to occur prior to the hotel's standards ever being allowed to decline. I am thrilled that you enjoyed this stay as much as your last in our luxe new rooms.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the luxurious rooms, the location, and the intimate feeling of our lobby.

I truly hope we see you back for many more visits with us,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a review for a stay that occurred from August 25-31, 2013

This visit was partially business (conference) and personal family travel. The locate is conveniently located near the Victoria Convention Centre and all of the tourist destinations within the core of Victoria, more importantly it is located a small side street (a very nice safe sidestreet) that is very quiet in the evenings.

We arrived early so our room was not ready, they happily stored our bags and offered to call our cellphone when the room was ready. They also indicated that they would have the cleaning staff tend to the room immediately. We left our bags and went in search of lunch. No sooner did we order than the hotel called indicating the room is ready. We wandered back after a great meal and formally checked in. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated, east facing (not the greatest view but we had a window that opened), and spotless -- not marks on the walls or furniture. It was evident that this hotel maintains their facilities on a regular basis.

Our luggage was already in the room, sitting on luggage racks. Our small groceries had been put into the fridge (there is also a mini-bar, the prices almost compared to what you can buy in the stores around the hotel). I imagine they would have unpacked for us if we requested.

**They had turn down service and chocolates on the bed side tables every evening** Nice touch.

Decent, but not great continental breakfast. Service at the concierge's desk was excellent, tech support for a wifi issue was prompt and efficient. All in all the staff took the time to be professional and friendly.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you Christopher for the kind and detailed comments about your visit with us.

I am so pleased that our service levels and attention to detail had such a positive impact on your visit with us in Victoria.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again with us. If I can be of personal assistance in any way in the future please let me know.

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Magnolia for our 2 night visit to Victoria in Sept 13 and absolutely loved it. We had room 706 - a lovely light filled room with views to the inner harbour. It also had huge bed with lovely linnen, plenty of space to spread out and a gas fireplace to boot. Spotlessly clean we could no have asked for a nicer room - probably the best we had in our 10 week trip away. The staff were very helpful with early access to our room on arrival (not bad for 10:30 in the morning) and a breakfast to go pack when we had to leave at 5am for our flight back to Vancouver. All up a great base to explore Victoria from.

Dining tip: if you are looking for a meal nearby try the 10 Acre bar and grill across the road for great fesh local food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights (family of five) at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa in July and were very happy with both the hotel and the location, which is very convenient to the harbor, restaurants and shopping. We found the "standard" rooms we had to be beautiful, with a partial view of the harbor. There were complimentary waters, apples and chocolates left in the room and lemonade was provided in the lobby. The rooms were very well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and there were plenty of options in the lobby restaurant, whose decor was very nice. (Minor note on the to-go cups for the coffee/tea...the cups were small and the lids provided were too large. I pointed this out and was told that was all they had, which made me think "then why even put lids out", but no big deal.)

The bathroom was nice. However, the shower was very small (which made shaving one's legs a bit of a challenge). Also, though it wasn't a big deal, there was no small recognition or reference to a special occasion we were celebrating, though it would have been nice. (I told each of the 3 hotels we stayed at on this trip about the occasion, and 2 of the 3 recognized it.) The front desk was helpful but I was looking for some stronger opinions about what we should do with our limited time in Victoria.

A few quick notes about the rest of our trip...Victoria is a beautiful city with hanging baskets of flowers lining the streets and we loved walking around it. The Canadian people are very friendly. The harbor area is beautiful. Definitely take a Harbor Cruise on the small, colorful harbor taxis. We had a great tour guide. We had dinner one night at an Italian restaurant called Zambri's (which some locals told us about when we went ziplining at Adrena) and it was fantastic. I would highly recommend it. It's a healthy walk from the hotel, but doable. We attempted to go the Irish Times one day for lunch, but was told it was Adult only (and we had 2 children), even though they have a restaurant that is separate from the bar area. Since we are from the states, this was a new one on us, but we moved on to The Local Kitchen. The food was good but a little pricey for lunch. Dinner last night at the Sticky Wicket up the street was fine, but nothing of note. Do not miss Butchart Gardens. It is spectacular (and I am not even a garden person).

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia and would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Looking from outside of the Hotel looked somewhat like a so so hotel to stay in. However, once we got into the lobby it was completely different story. From the friendly staff that valet my car and the cold and hot drink inside the lobby. The corner two rooms that we stay in was very nice and clean. The bathroom water pressure and the other little things in the room indicated the management was very thoughtful. The continent breakfast had a few selection, but the excellent bacon and the tentative service make up the difference. I would stay in this hotel again next time in Victoria.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

what a great hotel, we stayed here for three nights during our tour of Vancouver island

great location in the center of victoria, rooms were large and spotless, rate was very reasonable...and staff were very very helpful

great breakfast in the restaurant, altogether a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $204 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing