We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a great place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is centrally located within walking distance to most places like Beacon Hill Park, the breezeway and market square. Rooms are awesome with 2nd to none beds and decor. Service personal is always courteous, helpful, and happy. It is very clean and well taken care of. Look forward to staying again. The bus routes and all the amenities are close by and make life so much easier if you want to just walk or take transit.

Room Tip: Never sleep with your eyes open LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    386
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
425
1,321
115
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia for four nights. The room was very nice and the location was great. The staff was friendly and gave good service. It was easy to walk to many of the attractions and restaurants. The breakfast is very basic. The biggest problem was that the internet would continually kick us off. It would work about 3 minutes and then it would disconnect a few minutes and connect again, on and on this way. It made it impossible to get e-mails sent and get any work done that we needed to do. We called the front desk and they gave us the IT number to call. IT said they would boost the system but we never saw any change. We ended up calling two times with no difference in internet connection. It was the same on different computers and phones. If you have computer work to do, you may not be able to do it there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Amy S

Thank you for choosing The Magnolia, and for your kind feedback of your recent visit with us.

I am pleased to let you, and other Trip Advisor readers, know that we are in the preliminary stages of installing a brand new state of the art wireless Internet system at the hotel. The system will offer reliable speedy Internet to all of our guests, and we expect completion of this later this summer. I sincerely apologize for the issues you faced with the Internet reliability and hope that with this improved service upgrade we can look forward to welcoming you back.

If I can be of personal service at any time, please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coquitlam canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Im still upset about my so called vacation.
The room we had looks nothing like the pictures I saw on Trip advisor! Our bed was supposedly a King, but it was small, probably because our room was small. We had no bathroom counter,and the whole room was very small.(Look at the pictures I posted)
We were in the second floor ( do not stay here if you are on this floor! You have been warned). Our room faced a noisy Restraunt/pub.
They kept us up until late and then the seagulls woke us up at 4:00am. and after dozing off a bit, then the street cleaner woke us up at 6:10am!!
The windows are brutal! I could hear conversations going on at the restraunt with the windows closed and air conditioning going. You will also hear every car that drives by.
We were booked for 3 nights and there was nothing anyone could do to help us! 3 nights of lousy sleep which meant I was tired my entire vacation. There must have been something they could for us for at least one night! Don't you think? This was not even a weekend! (Wed, Thurs, Fri)
I am hoping we just got a bad room but this has been the worst recommended hotel I have ever taken from Tripadvisor. I don't understand the reviews unless I just got a terrible room ( for 3 nights!!!)
Don't get caught up on the location reviews. There are countess hotels close to downtown and much better prices and Im sure you will get a better sleep than we did.
We bought ear plugs for the second and third night and that helped a bit.
I would recommend looking at any hotel other than this one and don't worry about location, they are all walking distance to the action.
If you do decide to stay here I suggest a corner room or a room facing the parliament building on A HIGH floor!
The bed was comfortable but small. I see other photos and the beds looked huge, not ours. Obviously the room was too small to handle a regular King.
There was also a dirty rag left on our towel holder which was not such a big deal to me but it needed to be mentioned here.
The fitness room is small but does have free weights and a small sauna.
We travel A LOT and walk and bike and are very active. Not getting a good night sleep while on vacation is the worst! It happened to us for 3 nights in a row and we tried to make the best of it but when you are always tired it sucks!
Having said all of that, the staff were nice and we did get some great tips and a complete day trip planned to Port Renfrew by Steve at the front desk.
Thanks Steve.
To all Trip advisors, do your homework and stay somewhere else or ensure you get a room on a high floor facing the Parliament buildings!


(Wed, Thurs, Friday)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank k3see5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHtl, Director of Sales at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear K3see5,

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay! As this obviously ruined your holiday, we would like the opportunity to make it up to you. Please contact either myself or Blair Bain, Front Office Manager.

Ronette Nyhan
Director of Sales
Toll-free: 1-877-624-6654
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The lobby is not impressive but the rooms are extremely elegant and a good size. The location is very convenient. Some rooms have the harbor views although you will be looking over the roof tops with much bird mess! The breakfast is average at best. The staff helpful and pleasant. Did not have enough time to use the SPA.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a car - everything is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiraMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Victoria and stayed at the Magnolia for two nights. It is ideally situated just away from the waterfront, so easy to get to those attractions. We stayed in a standard room, so we basically had no view as such. This did not bother us, as we intended to be out as much as possible. The room was large and so beautifully appointed. Everything spelt 'quality' from the décor to the bed linen to the towels etc. It was all absolutely great. The bed was so comfortable. We had coffee making facilities and gorgeous bathrobes. We didn't use the spa, we didn't have the time. I did have one moan - I had to ask three times before I got the kettle and milk I had requested but I won't mark them down for those lapses. The breakfast, included in the price, was plentiful and of the expected high quality. This really is a very nice place to stay if you are in Victoria.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nufcnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in June for 4 nights and really enjoyed both the Magnolia & Victoria. Hotel service was first class - staff were very professional, helpful & friendly. We had a Diamond View room which was a good size, as was the bathroom (with bath & separate shower) and had all the equipment/facilities we needed.

Would certainly stay at the Magnolia on any future visits to Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great boutique hotel; spent 4 nights here. Perfect location in inner harbor but quiet side street; easy walk to attractions & great restaurants. We had a Corner Signature Suite & it was wonderful! Beautiful views from the windows of the side of the Empress, the harbor, & esp. the Parliament which was beautifully lit up at night! Room was large, comfortable, big windows, fully equipped with amenities as was the bathroom. Very quiet; we never heard any noise from rooms above or around us. Plenty of storage, very comfortable bed. Attentive staff, nightly turn-down. Breakfast included was modest but adequate, & a real savings as we found from our other hotels in BC! Fav. restaurants: Aura for dinner, Veranda at the Empress for lunch & drinks & esp. tea/lunch at Butchart Gardens! Didn't care for Il Terrazo. Views across the harbor from Ocean Point Resort restaurant were lovely as well (& they have delicious cheesecake!)

Room Tip: Our corner signature suite overlooked the Parliament Bldgs & was lovely at night. Plenty of win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing