We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing I could complain about!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing I could complain about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms, central location, and the spa is a convenient well-priced option. The mints and turn down service were nice additions! The mini bar was very reasonably priced as well. Quick, efficient check in and check out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    334
    64
    18
    6
See reviews for
356
1,117
101
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. My 6th floor corner room had a view of the inner harbour. Staff were very welcoming. The chocolates, apples, and Aveda toiletries were appreciated after a long day of meetings. The continental breakfast had a limited selection, but was an adequate start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Magnolia and were thoroughly impressed. We stayed in a 7th floor room which had a fireplace and beautiful views of the harbour. We enjoyed watching the sunset each night! The bed and pillows were beyond comfortable.

The breakfast was free and fabulous...much better than a typical continental...included basic omelettes, very delicious muffins, fruit smoothies, waffles with many toppings, etc.

The service was always great...from the valet parking, the front desk and housekeeping. They did little things like one staff person saw we were about to walk up to the elevator and she was walking by so she pressed the button.

There were a couple of glitches...housekeeping missed us one day and then on another day we didn't receive turndown service but we called the front desk and they sent housekeeping immediately and when we told them about turndown they gave us a handful of chocolates that you usually receive at turndown.

I enjoyed a facial at the spa which was great. As for the new hotel restaurant, the menu looked great but we already had reservations other places. We did order the flourless chocolate cake one night and it was absolutely delicious.

The location of the hotel is outstanding...right downtown but on a very quiet street.

Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: 7th floor includes fireplaces...get one facing the harbour for a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albernfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, service, and breakfast is included with your stay. Comfortable rooms and walking distance to central harbour. Also close to some good restaurants in the area. Central but away from the noisy crowded tourist area. They recently upgraded the rooms as well. A little more expensive than others but well worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (couple) came up from the U.S. for a couple of nights, and were looking to stay in a fairly nice location. The Magnolia had a deal going on for some of their recently redone rooms - and considering what we got for the price, I'd say it was a steal. The rooms are immaculately well-designed, and the amenities are excellent. Not to mention the beds were beyond comfortable, and we had a view over downtown all the way to the bay. The front desk staff were extremely kind and helpful, and detailed a bunch of exciting things to do in Victoria during our stay. The breakfast was delicious as well. Honestly, I have no complaints whatsoever about this place. My only regret is that we didn't have the time to get some spa treatment next door - I would recommend treating yourself if you stay here! But the hotel is a pretty nice treat itself.

Room Tip: The refresh deal going on has rooms for about 50 dollars cheaper than normal - a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainTopSeaFloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "MountainTopSeaFloor",

Thanks you so much for the kind review following your recent visit with us.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Introductory offer to experience our newly renovated "refreshed" rooms. We are very pleased with the new product, and it is rewarding to hear your great feedback.

I do hope your next visit can include a Spa Magnolia treatment as well,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here back in March. Have to say you can't get a better location. Right from when we checked in literally every staff member we encountered was friendly and courteous. The rooms were nice and clean. It was nice that breakfast was included but it wasn't anything special. Either way great place to stay, highly recommended and there are apples everywhere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Victoria after a few days in Seattle. We took the ferry over which arrived in the morning, and the Magnolia staff were able to honour our early check in request. The hotel is nice and clean. We had a suite which was a great size and had good seating area for relaxing. Nice view of the Parliament buildings from our corner room. The attached restaurant was closed so we did not get a chance to try it. But there are lots of great restaurants close by so we had a great visit. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Pick a suite ... lots of room and nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear T K,

Thank you for your recent visit with us at The Magnolia. We appreciate the kind feedback about your visit.

I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your early check in request following your ferry ride from Seattle. I'm glad also your view was enjoyed from the corner rooms, offering exceptional views of the Victoria Harbour.

You'll be pleased to know that our new restaurant, Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar, is now open at the hotel for lunch and dinner. We are thrilled with the addition of our new Mediterranean inspired menus and hope you can enjoy this on a future visit.

Thank you again for your visit,

We hope to welcome you back again with us soon,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 3,130 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing