We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$278
$234
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$178
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Zed(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$136
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,918)
Filter reviews
2,918 results
Traveler rating
2,403
418
69
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,403
418
69
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roomturn down servicecontinental breakfastgreat boutiquevalet parkinggas fireplacedowntown victoriaperfect locationwithin walking distancelovely hotelsmall hotelvalet servicegovernment streetparliament buildingbeautiful roomwonderful staytop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,344 - 2,349 of 2,918 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Top notch service from every staff member we've come into contact with. If something wasn't right, they tried to make it right. Excellent location and good value as a very decent breakfast-think continental then you won't be disappointed-was included in the room price. Enjoyed the little details like providing a tea service in the lobby before retiring to room, even though there were lovely teas in the room, it's nice to be able open the door, kick off the shoes and pop into a comfy chair with a hot cuppa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oLO_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Magnolia with my partner and our recently wounded Australian Shepherd pup. The staff were very accommodating and kind to us. I was in Victoria to attend a meeting with a Government official. The hotel is right downtown! The booking stated that there was a "continental breakfast" included in the room rate. The breakfast was wonderful and included three hot cooked items (bacon and waffled, omelet, and hot cereal with three dried fruit accompaniments. There were also many of the standard "American" style danish and bagel type items, but it was lovely! I read the other reviews and was pleasantly surprised by the reality of the experience. The lobby had fresh coffee and tea all day. There was also mulled cider for the season. The fitness room was small, but had a far infared sauna that is a real treat for detoxing and relaxing. An easy run round the park followed by a sauna is a great start.
The room was exceptionally comfortable and the bath was spacious with a separate shower and deep deluxe soaker tub. The one time $60 pet in the room fee was reasonable for us as we would have paid more for a kennel stay since our pup was still needing tlc from her wound. We definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who appreciates comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We took advantage of a Christmas package offered by this hotel. We had a room on the 5th floor with extra space and more windows. This is one of the few hotels I stayed in that had a HD box, i was able to watch football in HD. The hotel is in a great location, close to downtown shopping. attractions & restaurants. The hotel is small , so you can get around quickly. The continental breakfast was sufficient. The waffles were plentiful, one day they also provided bacon. They had all the normal continental breakfast items. I, like another writer, found the bed to be on the hard side. This hotel is going through an update, starting on the top floor, while the hotel is in great shape, some of the furniture is showing signs of age. I think that after the updates, this hotel will definitely rate 5 stars, hopefully the updates include new beds The staff was great, very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you Paul, for the kind review following your recent stay with us.

We truly appreciate your business and your feedback about your stay.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the HDTV we've added in the past year. You'll be pleased to know with the HDTV we also added a nice selection of complimentary premium movie channels.

I am truly sorry that you found the bed hard and some parts of the room dated. We are currently addressing this with an extensive room renovation, addressing both these issues. Our Diamond Level rooms are now complete, and all rooms will be fully updated by early March.
We are taking extensive measures as well to ensure that all work is not impacting our guests in any way during their stays. All guests can expect the exceptional Magnolia level of comforts during their stays during this work.

Thank you again for your stay with us.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon, and we can work on getting a 5 out of 5 on your next visit!

Please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com if I can be of personal assistance in any way,

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for under $100 a night for 2 nights. The staff was there to great us at the door as we pulled up and the room was modern and very clean. the hotel breakfast was a little disappointing, but it was complinmentary so its a moot point. if you're thinking of coming to Victoria don't hesitate to book a room here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOVINMOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend stay at the Magnolia, from check in to departure everything
was first rate. The staff were attentive and friendly, the room and amenities were very good
the provided breakfast was excellent. I would stay there again and as soon as possible.

Victoria is such a beautiful city and this hotel is in an great location. Thanks to all the staff for contributing to a great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you Walkertoo for your kind words about your stay.
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the "amazing" service and your weekend in Victoria.

We hope to see you back soon,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please contact me.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews