We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great find.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an excellent 4 star hotel which could easily be regarded as 5 star. Excellent service, good sized, well appointed rooms, immaculately clean and, despite being around for many years it has a very noticeable "new hotel" ambiance.

The location is great, just a block from the Empress, a block from the local shopping mall and very close to numerous nice restaurants.

We had the complementary breakfast in their restaurant and found it to be fairly good. It was a bit short on hot food but, other than that monitor quibble, it was fine.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on a higher floor, it was bright and spacious. Our friends had an adjacent room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,242
    398
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
458
1,411
123
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location in downtown Victoria. A block off the harbor and walking distance to the mall. A car is unnecessary. I needed a car to travel up the island and the valet parking was expensive. I decided to park it myself which worked out well. The staff was friendly and very willing to help, the breakfast was perfect offering GF bread for my son when needed. I highly recommend this hotel.l

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really enjoyed my 3 night stay at this property. What a great location just off of Government street near Parliament, the wharf in the heart of downtown Victoria. From getting off the seaplane, walking to the hotel, walking to the office and to restaurants and shops, I never had to take a taxi or bus anywhere! Very convenient to walk around especially since it rained my whole stay!

Your stay includes a complimentary continental breakfast and they have a very nice selection. Orange/apple/pink grapefruit juices, coffee, a variety of tea selections, muffins, danishes, toast, croissants, bagels with cream cheese, cereals. They even have hard boiled eggs and sausages to enjoy.

The room was comfortable and very spacious. I was on the 2nd floor and facing traffic so I could hear some noise from trucks in the morning but it wasn't too bad. The washroom offers a walk-in shower as well as a bathtub and they use Aveda amenities which were very nice. The wireless internet in the rooms was also surprisingly fast, big plus for me!

I did check out the gym and it's small but packed with lots of weights and machines to use. Luckily I was the only one using it as it is pretty small but they have towels and water for you. They also offer passes to the YMCA gym but I didn't check it out so I'm not sure how far it is or what they offer. The gym also has an infrared sauna that can probably seat two people. Also didn't use it but it looked clean and well kept.

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor but I would recommend a higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

By chance, I was reviewing the specials on the BC Ferries website and came across the Magnolia Hotel & Spa in Victoria, BC. The deal was a reimbursement voucher at the hotel if you took the Ferry from Tsawassen, Vancouver to Swartz Bay, Vancouver Island. This was the best deal I ever booked! The Hotel is a treasure! I'm unsure what is the best - the beautiful, comfortable rooms, the fabulous views, the great price, or the welcoming hosts (Steve C. - front desk, Andrew P. - bell). In reality - I think it was the complete package!! The hotel is located right downtown - next to the Empress Travelodge ("famous" place) and the extraordinary Parliament building. Steve C. was particularly helpful, making great recommendations on local dining spots. He was right on recommending Pescatores (right across the street) & the Prime (in hotel dining). It gets better - there is a beautiful spa connected to the hotel and the women working at the spa could not be more accommodating. The rooms are large and beautiful and impeccably clean. Turn down service was wonderful - with beautiful chocolates and fresh local apples. The Aveda shower and bath products were wonderful. We will definitely return to the Magnolia. Do NOT pass this up! Be sure to say hello to Steve and Andrew when you arrive!

Room Tip: Look for great deals! Corner rooms are exceptional and the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are budget travelers but decided to splurge on the Magnolia after spending the day running errands with our two small children and it was a great choice.

We loved the large room with its view of the parliament buildings and the decadent continental breakfast.

The staff were very helpful even with odd requests of plates and cutlery so that we could eat Chinese food in our room and not have to take the kids back out once we were checked in.

You wouldn't think such a boutique hotel would be kid friendly but it was - and we had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajunglequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are locals, and stayed here with our 1 year old during the Christmas season last year. It's a beautiful hotel in a prime location to everything downtown. Excellent service (they set up a crib/playpen in the room for our baby). I've visited the spa quite a few times and have always left happy & rejuvenated. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view... well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We often come to Victoria. Magnolia hotel is a beautiful small boutique hotel half a block from the Empress. Don't expect a harbor view but the amenities are top rate and the staff warm and friendly.
We got the room through Priceline for $100 a night.
Would definitely come back.
Lots of great places to eat in the vicinity,
Our favorites are Siam Thai restaurant, Famosa Pizza (thin crust Neapolitan style) and Qoola frozen Yogurt.

Room Tip: Terry's Tip - We were on the second floor, If you're a light sleeper you might ask for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing