We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time probably not the last time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first time probably not the last time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked last minute, was very pleased with room decor and continental breakfast. Initially we were given key passes for the room that did not function properly. I contacted the front desk and a young lady came up immediately and correected the situation. even helped with our bags, showed us the amenities of the room and asked if we required anything further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    374
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
409
1,281
109
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed 3 nights as base in Victoria. Good location. Valet parking works well and it is walking distance from some nice restaurants.

Room peaceful and large with modern fittings and bathroom. Quiet. Staff on front desk very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast pretty good, though staff a bit slow to replenish the buffet. Nice lounge area.

One negative. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night. There was a party of 12 men at one table, who got louder, more drunk and more coarse as the evening went on. The restaurant manager seemed to think that it was not his job to control things appropriately even though other guests dining were given a very poor experience. Food good though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstclassSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear FirstClassSussex,

Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel. Our entire team is thrilled that you had a nice stay, and enjoyed the hotel.
I do apologize that your the great food in Prime Steakhouse was diminished by a loud table nearby. We will review this incident with our team, and apologize that this had a negative impact on your meal.

If I can be of personal service at any time, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at gm@magnoliahotel.com.

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Victoria's Luxury Spa Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed this hotel very much. It was clean, comfortable, and luxurious. The turn down service is an added plus. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown Victoria and the sights of the Inner Harbor. The continental breakfast was nothing special, but it was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

You can' go wrong staying at the Magnolia. The location is perfect for starters. It is a boutique hotel which is nicely appointed, has spacious rooms and very nice staff. An extra bonus is the complimentary breakfast--simple, but fresh, with something for everyone. We visit Victoria often and never even bother looking elsewhere. It stacks up with all the places we have loved elsewhere so why would we bother?

Room Tip: get a corner room on one of the top two floors is you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location of Magnolia Hotel is perfect if you're in town. Aside from the valet service that you can rely on to take care of your vehicle, everything you want to visit in Victoria is practically at your doorstep! The Royal B.C. Museum, Bastion Square, Market Square, The Empress and even the meeting point for nightly ghost tours requires no more than 10 minutes of walking! The staff are helpful at all hours of the day, and extremely accommodating even prior to arrival. Our room was spotless, spacious and offered a gorgeous view of the inner-harbour via our floor-to-ceiling windows. Our bathroom also had a stand-up shower and a deep soak bathtub (useful after a long day of exploring the city). A copy of the Globe and Mail delivered to our door was a lovely touch to a stunning and reputable hotel. If you fancy being spoiled and desire sleep at a classy and top-notch hotel, Magnolia is most certainly for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now, and love it and appreciate it a wee bit more every time. The bell staff and front desk are professional and efficient. I had parked upon arrival at 6 pm in front of the hotel a couple spots down from the front door, and because it was 6, didn't need to move, pay, or valet my car for the night. Free parking after 6 until 9am the next morning.

This is hotel is truly in the most perfect location. I always feel safe while staying in this hotel when I go out for dinner etc., in the evenings. Short walks to restaurants, businesses, attractions in a very clean and elegant area of downtown Victoria.

Room is fabulously decorated and definitely one of the cleanest rooms consistently. The amenities in the room are great. When you arrive in your room they have water, fine foil wrapped chocolates, and fruit complimentary. They have superior robes and slippers. And the beds and bedding are amazing.

They serve a complimentary breakfast in the Prime Restaurant every morning, and it has plenty of choices from hard boiled eggs, to Danishes and breads for toasting, oatmeal, cold cuts and cheeses, yogurts, etc.,

The lobby always has fresh flowers. And has coffee service available beside the grand piano by a fire place and lovely seating area that makes for comfortable refinement.

I haven't had an opportunity yet to try the Spa services because I've always been there on business and have not yet had the time, but do intend to at some point on one of my next visits.

Love this hotel and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayteewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Kayteewoo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful and detailed review of the hotel.

Our entire team is thrilled that you've enjoyed the breakfast, lovely clean rooms, the lobby with our Piano and fresh flowers and so much more. I'm sure our florist, Cory, will be thrilled to hear the great feedback of her floral displays.

We can't wait to welcome you back again with us, on business or leisure.

Thanks again for your business, and for sharing you feedback.

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is first rate. From the moment you enter the beautiful lobby you are taken care of with impeccable service. The staff in the dining room are most helpful. My hot chocolate was prepared specially each morning! Our room was beauifully luxurious, comfortable and clean. The location is very convenient and I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing