We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Front Desk provided free upgrade and box of chocolates for us. Nice gesture.
Incl. free parking/breakfast. Great customer service

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,401 - 2,407 of 2,835 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Victoria was our first stop on a 9-day BC trip, and the Magnolia a great place to relax after all the travel to get there. It's a little tricky to find because it's on a small side street, and the hotel sign is very indiscreet. But once we arrived, the valet met us on the curb and whisked our car to their secure parking. We had a large king room, facing the harbor. The free water, apples and chocolates were a great welcome treat, as well. The hotel is one block from the Empress and harbor, and easy walking distance to Chinatown and restaurants. The breakfast is served in their lovely restaurant, and is huge with smoothies, baked goods, oatmeal, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, etc. We were thrilled with the hotel, and the great rate we found on hotels.com.

Room Tip: Nice view of the harbor on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We ended up (fortunately) at Magnolia Hotel after spending 3 weeks touring the Pacific North West, including a 1 week cruise to Alaska thru the Inner Passage. We write 'fortunately' because some months before when checking out the rates at the Empress (directly next door and 'pricey') a previous traveler recommended the Magnolia Hotel. We could not find a thing to complain about (did not use pool or spa) hence all the "5's" ratings (rare for us) considering we were not expecting -- or paying for -- ultra-luxury. While we might have paid a little extra for a good view from our room of the Government House well lighted at night, we still saved at least $100+/nite over next door accomodations. Not only were there a number of good restaurants within walking distance, but the location in harbourside-Victoria is excellent. The included B'fast buffet in am was fine. The Magnolia is particularily convenient IF you plan to take the car ferry back to Port Angeles, Washington State (much more convenient than the ferry to Vancouver), since the Port Angeles ferry boarding dock was less than 5 minutes from hotel parking. But be sure to pay the extra reservation fee (we booked 3 weeks in advance by phone). Reason: In mid-August, when we went to board ferry, not only was the morning trip full, but the afternoon trip was full with a big standby line for those without advance reservations. We would go back. Signed: Well traveled from our Fairhope/Pt. Clear, Alabama home.

Room Tip: Ask for room with windows (opening-type) overlooking Government House and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have always stayed at the Magnolia when visiting Victoria. It is a small, very friendly and comfortable place to stay. Excellent service and comfort.

Room Tip: Love the top 2 floors with the fireplace and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YL-vanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Magnolia; I had booked early on the web using the 30/30 plan....30% off/30 days in advance....quite a decent deal if it works for you. I had a corner room and I found it spacious and very nicely appointed. In general the hotel is beautifully maintained and has an ideal location in old town Victoria. The management and staff were very welcoming and accomodating, making an early arrival possible for an early check-in. The included continental breakfast had a nice variety of options...buffet style. Aveda toiletries were a welcome touch, too.

Room Tip: 30/30 plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thanks for the kind review and feedback from your stay Roger!

The 30%/ 30 Day advance rate ("30/30") is indeed a very popular rate for those planning their dates in advance.

I'm glad you were able to take advantage of this value and had a wonderful visit in your corner room!

Thanks again for the great feedback.
If I can be of personal assistance at any time in booking a return visit,
please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia for 3-nights. The front desk personal were very helpful with dinning recommendations, offered us umbrellas when it was raining and genuinely cared about our experience at the hotel and our vacation. Our room was perfect and the hotel location is great. We will stay at the Magnolia again and reccomend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiffHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

There are so many great things to say about this hotel that it's hard to say anything bad about it. Location right in the heart of downtown Victoria and close to shopping and fine restaurants, the room with a large comfy bed and bath with soaker tub, the cleaning staff who always greeted me with a smile and asked how my day was wherever i was in the hotel. the complimentary breakfast was one of the highlights, great variety and very delicious, served in a very warm and nice setting but on the very last day upon checkout, there were 3 hotel staff behind the front desk, none of whom, smiled, asked how my stay was or botherd to help me with my luggage to my ride to airport. i have recently stayed at luxury hotels in new york and california and the other two atleast got that part right.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear PaulTraveler,

Thank you for your recent visit with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time to share your review,

I am very glad to see that your overall stay was very good, and "almost perfect". I do sincerely apologize however at your departure experience, and the impact this had on your visit.

I have forwarded my personal contact information via private message and hope we can be in touch further, and welcome you back again for an entirely perfect stay.

Thank you again for staying with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

Bill Lewis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,893 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,337 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,575 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 47 in Victoria
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $162 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing