We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel fully deserves all the plaudits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This hotel fully deserves all the plaudits”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Like many other reviewers, this hotel and the staff impressed us from first to last. First, the hotel has a wonderful location, easy to find when you are driving in, steps away from the shops at Government Street, and a minute or two to the bay and views of the legislative buildings. We found the public rooms welcoming and very boutique. The staff could not have done any more, and were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. We found our room to be very comfortable and well equipped - and although we didn't have a view who really needs it when you can step outside and you can be in the middle of things straight away. The complimentary buffet continental breakfast consisting of oatmeal, cereals, granola, yogurt, fruit, breads, baked goods, ham and cheese, waffles and fruit compote, tea coffee and juice etc was perfect for us. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NUTUK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear NUKUK23,
Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience online

Our team is thrilled that you enjoyed the wonderful location, guest room and breakfast, and do indeed hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Thanks again for the wonderful feedback,

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,246
    398
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
459
1,413
123
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at 8 different hotels during our honeymoon and this was by far our favorite. The location is perfect, you can walk to just about everything. The service was top notch, they even sent a bottle of champagne to our room when they found out we were on our honeymoon. They had free wi-fi and free breakfast with many choices. The room was cute and comfortable. We enjoyed everything about our stay here. If we ever go back to Victoria we will stay here again, I recommend it to all!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Aprilp2412,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia, and Congratulations on your wedding.
We appreciate being included in your honeymoon plans and I'm thrilled that we were your favorite hotel on such a special trip.

We hope to welcome you back again with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

If I may be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know. I have forwarded my contact information by private message as well.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Let me start with a tip first - if you booked their Superior (lowest price) room, consider a upgrade. Many superior rooms have a garage view - that is not where you want to spend a night and stare at, especially consider with an extra $30, you will face Legislature building, and/or some harbor view, and very comfortable king size bed.

It is a nice and boutique hotel - excellent services with great care, reasonable extra charges for many things (e.g. room upgrade @30, valet parking @20, etc), good and health free breakfast. While it doesn't have the best view, but I grow to enjoy its quiet location, and and its low profiling :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with some relatives and we both enjoyed this boutique hotel. The staff were friendly, the rooms had a nice decor, the buffet breakfast was good and the location was outstanding. I would highly recommend the hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a wonderful corner room, with a huge bed and kitchenette. Luxury furnishings, great service. We had to leave early and they happily packed a breakfast for us. Good location in the next street to the Empress Hotel - and much better value.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CKMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Shared a double queen with girl friends. Very attractive and comfortable room with gas fireplace. Huge deep bathtub and large shower, all kinds of goodies in the bathroom (bath salts, lotion, mending kit, shampoo, razor, etc.) Buffet expanded continental breakfast in the restaurant downstairs: fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, oatmeal, granola. Internet access is included and a couple of walk-up pcs are available in their small business center -- no extra charge. Upscale decor in rooms and public places, but the most impressive thing about this hotel is the outstanding service. All staff members are friendly, helpful and welcoming beyond expectation. Great location within walking distance of the harbor, museum, shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlwolcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I spent a week in Victoria while my husband was fishing in northern BC. I selected this hotel based on reviews here and its location. The room was very clean and comfortable. The loudest noise at night was the sound of the gulls! The staff was very friendly and responsive to any requests that I had.
The breakfast is a continental buffet with hot oatmeal and waffles added. I especially appreciated the mixture of fresh fruit each morning.
The location very close to the inner harbor and scores of restaurants is very convenient. The spa is very relaxing and offers a discount for hotel guests on some services.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldwalker2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing