We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Reasonable price, Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, Reasonable price, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 1 night in Victoria, the location is 5 minutes walking distance from the center of Victoria.
The Pub and Restaurant was excellent!
The building was very old though.
We booked for a std double room but they upgraded it for a king size bedroom for free :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riasat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    202
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
63
189
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a neat spot. I was in 328 which was a single queen room. It was a little dark but bed was comfy and the room was nice. Hotel service was nice and there is a pub And resto! You get a 15% off coupon for the resto when you check in. There is a balcony out front of the second floor, good for jamming some tunes on the guit-fiddle! Close walk to downtown and did I mention good price! $68 after tax. Will stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Phulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it was inexpensive, and we wanted a quick trip away. It has character, being an old English style building, but it is definitely an Inn. The walls are paper thin, huge gaps under the thin doors. We could here the neighbours snoring........ If you need a cheap stay in Victoria, it'll work, but if you want a relaxing stay , go for a hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanisletwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I wanted to go for a little weekend getaway with my girlfriend to Victoria. We searched and searched for the best deal and James Bay inn was it. I was not expecting a lot from the two star rating. We had an awesome weekend. Their rooms were very clean, the hotel was quiet and the staff helped in every question we had. Only a 5-10min walk into downtown I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Whenever I go to Victoria, I stay here because it's in James Bay, one of my favorite areas of Victoria with lots of interesting old houses. It's well maintained. The rooms I've stayed in (Queen bed) are clean and quiet. The bed is good.

It feels a bit like home away from home. Staff are friendly. And best of all, I think it's great value for the price (especially through Booking.com) and in the off season.

It's in the heart of James Bay, a historic neighborhood, close to Emily Carr's historic house. It's a quick 10-15 minute walk to the Museum and the heart of downtown. Beacon Hill Park and the waterfront are walking distance. There's free parking and parking, as everywhere, can be problematic in Victoria in the summer so leaving the car and walking everywhere is easy and more enjoyable.
I have never eaten in the restaurant bar in the basement which seems to attract the over 65 crowd so I can't comment.
Coffee and internet in the lobby. Free wi-fi in rooms.
If you prefer authentic and original to the uniformity of a big hotel chain, then this place may be what works for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syowoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff in the hotel and restaurant was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the charm in the lobby. The rooms were small but immaculately clean and very comfortable. Beds and pillows were great. Parking was convenient. We would and will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

James Bay inn is only 3 blocks from the the Empress Hotel and main harbor for Victoria. It is located on a quiet stretch of Government Blvd and offers plentiful parking. It makes walking to the downtown locations easy and convenient. The staff is very friendly and helpful and looks for ways to make your stay pleasant. It is a 3 story building with no elevator so be aware of that fact if you book. The Bistro on the first floor serves good meals and offers a prixe fixe dinner option that is very reasonable. With comfortable rooms and reasonable rates, this is a good place to stay when visiting Victoria!

Room Tip: Ask for a dormer room on the 3rd floor....spacious and a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Property: James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing