We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$524
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$263
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$248
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$193
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
139
230
62
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
230
62
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorbeacon hill parkemily carrrestaurant downstairsquaint hotelshort walkthe horse drawn carriagesa quiet residential areafew blocksflights of stairsolder hotelheritage buildingthird floorgovernment streetstay there againold world charmno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 468 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved this hotel! Our room was small but very clean and nice. The hotel has a great atmosphere, very comfortable, and the staff could not be more friendly. There are at least two shared balconies - great for playing cards & watching the sunset. In the lobby they always have fresh ice water with lemon (perfect for warm days) and hot tea and coffee. The location was in easy walking distance of the inner harbour, parliament bldg, museums, shopping, and restaurants. We felt very safe and welcome at this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandra681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the main part of the hotel. I cannot say enough about how good this place is. Not only are the beds extremely comfortable, blackout curtains on the windows (when drawn) and a small fridge in the room along with a desk, chairs etc, it has a great restaurant and a great pub. It was quiet, rates are great and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. It is a short walk to downtown and is in a very quiet area. If you wish there is a large grocery store and liquor store just a block away. I want to mention that I accidentily left $15 (along with a copy of my receipt from our breakfast bill) on the table in the lounge area near the lobby. One of the ladies working in the hotel found it and tracked me down to return it later that day. That little act in itself spoke volumes in my mind both about the attitude of the whole staff and the way the James Bay Inn is managed. Do yourself a favor and stay here. I know we will never stay any place else.

Pat and Elle Dean

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great place to overnight if you are biking on the Lochside and Galloping Goose trails and you need a Victoria overnight stay. They have storage for bikes, and is only 4-5 blocks away from the bay. We stayed there, rooms are large with very comfortable beds. Close to start of Galloping Goose and Lochside trails.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Norway1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Garden Suite in the Heritage House, next door to the main building. The suite was spacious and clean with hardwood floors and a nice kitchen and bathroom. It was easy to feel at home there. The Inn is located in a older, residential neighborhood, which we quite enjoyed. It's within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbour and the downtown area of Victoria. There is a pretty good pub/restaurant on the premises, which is convenient, especially for breakfast. If we were to return to Victoria, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently we took an Victoria Clipper overnight cruise from Seattle to Victoria. The James Bay Inn was the lowest cost accommodation available in combination with the ferry. It was a most pleasant surprise. Though not directly one the waterfront it was a short walk in a nice neighborhood away. The staff were uniformly welcoming and helpful, the hotel had a quaint charm and the restaurant was excellent.

Perhaps it is a bit dated, but personally we loved it.

Room Tip: Although there are no elevators, rooms higher up seemed like they would be more desirable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandSaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews