We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“** A Great Find **”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is definitely a historic Inn. Located 2 blocks behind the Parliament Buildings & within walking distance to the marina, downtown shopping, IMAX & the B.C.Museum. We stayed for 12 days & found the accommodation perfect for us. The restaurant on site, as well as the pub had good food. FYI, this is a 3 floor walk up (no elevator), just in case you have trouble negotiating stairs. Entrance to the Inn is also up a flight of steps, to reach the lobby. The decor is fun, older furniture & lamps in keeping with the Inn's history. They even kept the old fire hose reels which are displayed on each floor. Outdoor parking is included.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwynyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 449 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

If my best friend asked if I could recommend a hotel in Victoria, BC I would say Sure, the James Bay Inn. This hotel provides excellent value for the inexpensive price. My room was small with the bed taking up most of the space - by contrast the bathroom was quite spacious. My double bed was very comfortable with the room, bathroom, and the rest of the hotel spotlessly clean. Only the basics in the room including a small TV with cable (lots of channels), a couple of night tables, desk and chair, and a dresser. No microwave or fridge. This historic hotel has been open since 1911 with a 3 year hiatus during the war when nuns ran it as a Seniors Home. The lobby looks like something from the 1920's with faux-antiques and has considerable charm and character with free 15 minute internet access and a chess table. Little in the way of bells and whistles; but more than satisfactory for my needs. No free breakfast; but complimentary coffee and water in the lobby. Hotel has a restaurant (with a set menu) and pub and the one time I had breakfast it was very good. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area of town - 3 blocks south of the Parliament Buildings and the Royal BC Museum. An easy 3-4 minute drive into the downtown area or about a 18-20 min walk. The hotel area is full of charming Victorian style houses and is a pleasant walk both during the day and evening. Highly recommended for those that aren't too fussy and can appreciate the historical charm of a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked our room as part of a package deal.I must say that it was a very nice stay.The room was pretty basic (which is perfect for us) .This hotel is an older style , however it was spotless. I think the biggest advantage to staying here is the location ,lots to see in all directions and the Inner Harbour is only a 15 minute walk.The staff here was very friendly as well.The only negative that comes to mind is the fact that there is no elevator here.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 364AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay with 2 other couples in adjoining rooms. Excellent area, accommodations, and service (wonderful restaurant and pub also.) We would certainly love to do it all over again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved staying at James Bay Inn for many reasons but the number one reason was the location. It was walking distance to everything. Another reason is the bar/restaurant downstairs. It has great food, it was pretty cheap, and it has darts, which is important to me. Another reason we stayed is because it's cheap. The rooms are plain but fine. It's not a Hilton or anything so don't go into it expecting that. But it's a great deal for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

From the outside, James Bay Inn looks like an old hotel of the traditional British sort, and appearances do not deceive. In the traditional style, parking is somewhere off round the corner, there are no lifts, and the climb to your room begins with a few dozen front steps to the lobby, which is nicely decorated and not too shabby, and has a few '80s paperbacks to read while you catch your breath. Whilst assistance with your cases may be available, it isn't offered. Rooms are small and workmanlike with comfortable beds, upgraded a few years ago with televisions and low-budget ensuite baths, but the old baths are still there and you can get the old-school experience by ignoring your own bath and going down the hall. There is no temperature control in the rooms at all, and our third-floor room was stifling hot even in the middle of January, WITH the table fan going full-blast and the window fully open, and my wife felt it even worse than I did. If you are security-minded, you will want to specify a room WITH a working deadbolt at reservation--not all doors have them, ours didn't. Again in the old style there are no in-room coffeemakers, so it's down to the restaurant for the morning cuppa. A decanter of coffee is put out on a serving table in the lobby, but unless you are one of the first five people there you will find it empty. Overall effect is that of Fawlty Towers on a day when Polly is in charge. If you are a thin-blooded fitness maniac, or an over-fifty Briton nostalgic for the seaside accommodations of your childhood, James Bay Inn will suit you.

And now for the good part; the restaurant downstairs. Good prices, great food, and service from a young staff who are keen to please. Stay somewhere else, eat here. Two stars, which go entirely to the restaurant.

Room Tip: You might try the Guest House. I can't recommend the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poustinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised at this lovely inn. Great walking location to the cute downtown districts of Victoria. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Room was simple and tiny but clean and the mattress decent. Free wifi (sometime spotty service but not bad-there is a free public computer in the lobby), good cafe and a pub in the basement. Lots of charm and style. No elevator so keep that in mind if that is important to you. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLifeis4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#20 of 49 in Victoria
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
702 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing