We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Victoria for Character, Comfort & Customer Service!”
Review of Gatsby Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gatsby Mansion
Ranked #17 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Portland Ore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Victoria for Character, Comfort & Customer Service!”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The Gatsby Mansion has just as much history as any of the larger hotels, but has so much more elegance and personal charm. As you walk in, you are immediately struck with the character of the home, and how it has been maintained with such care. The staff is right there, pleasant, accomodating and so very professional.

Our room had a view of the beautiful harbor, with planes landing on the water and the beautiful lights during the evening. It was obviously restored, and maintained to it's original style of 1890, yet is was so comfortable, that had we chosen to go nowhere, it would have been the perfect place to do nothing.

Being a Bed & Breakfast, I was even impressed with our breakfasts each morning, and the Sunday Brunch that is served in the regal style and elegance of the last century. Even though they have a wonderful dinner menu themselves, Selina, our host at the hotel, was quick to reccommend wonderful locations that, when I took her advice, proved to be the perfect choices for exactly what we were looking for.

My wife and I were treated like royalty. The staff showed real interest in insuring our stay was the best and went beyond what was needed to guarantee our happiness. For that alone, my wife and I were grateful, as they were sucessful.

We did not need the huge hotel, grandiose opulance, nor the price tag that comes with it. What we got was a first class, subdued luxury with an environment that was like being a personal guest in a friends home. All at a much better price than what we would have spent elsewhere.

So to sum it all up, one word comes to mind...elegance. Historic location and home, restored to original condition, staff that is first rate and personable too, all backed up with a price tag that would be expected at a location with much less being offered.

You will enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshua3060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    18
    30
    24
See reviews for
33
91
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Excellent location - the individuals running the restaurant both in the evening and morning were excellent but they were run off their feet as there were too few i.e. one only people manning the place. However the food was very good. The room we had was on the top floor (3rd floor in the old Mansion – no elevator) well past its best by date. The view would have been great but the windows hadn’t been cleaned in quite some time. Over priced – you can get much better for less just around the corner at the LAUREL POINT INN.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2009

If you have ever imagined what it would have been like to live in the Victorian era when life was unhurried and service mattered, you will enjoy your stay at The Gatsby. We stayed in the Judge's Manor, adjacent to the mansion. Our room was small but charming, furnished with antiques and a turn of the century claw bathtub. Luxurious bathrobes were provided. The hotel staff were cordial and welcoming. We stayed 2 nights and would have liked to have stayed longer. If you require high tech accomodations, this is not the place for you. However, if you want a relaxing, romantic getaway, we definitely would recommend the Gatsby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The location was a surprise being right across the street from the ferry. The whole staff was wonderful, especially the head waiter. He was full of useful info around the area. We were up in the highest room overlooking the harbor, it was gorgeous! When I took a shower, it was better water pressure than what I have at home. I stayed in for a half hour, it felt so good! The woodwork is incredible and the quaint feelings the mansion conjures up. I would highly recommend staying here and would stay here again. Anne from EdenScapes in Port Angeles

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdenScapes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowsfo, Owner at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for the lovely comments you made on your last stay. It's been some time since you stayed at the Gatsby, so we would like to invite you to return. Let us know and we will be delighted to make a reservation for you.
Kind regards,
Rita A. Roy, CHA, CTP
President and CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed here only one night thank God! THe webiste shows a nice luxurious place that we thought would be nice on our last night of a 12 day trip with various other acommodations. This was the most expensive place we stayed and it was also the worst. The room was dumpy with maybe two actual antiques and the rest of the furniture was later. We had a very plain and common bathroom you would find in a Motel 8, with the same bad caulk job around the sink and tub. The room was $270, twice what we paid for our last room we stayed somewhere else which was awesome. The street noise outside was loud, especially with all the Harleys and trucks. The room was just upstars from the restaurant right next to the stairs so you had to hear everyone coming and going, as well as the niose form the kitchen and dining room. The place had strange smell in the hallway and restaurant....like dirty moldy carpet.This was the biggest ripoff in my recent time traveling, don't waste your precious time or money here. I asked the clerk at the front desk if breakfast came with the stay and was told we didn't get breakfast because of the third party we booked through. We booked directly from their own website so there is definetly something wrong with their mangement. I told the desk clerk that this place was a big disappointment otus and he seemed to not really care one bit telling me he would pass that info on to management....instead of asking what was wrong and how he could make it right. It's too bad this place is such a tourist trap for suckers like us....it could have potential to be a really nice place. The only thing they have going for them is location and a nice facade.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hydromann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

NW Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Nightmare!!!! Made reservation for Queen Bed (must) and 3rd floor in Judges House. Kevin specifically assigned us this room. When we got there, they had assigned us 2 doubles! They reassigned us a room. Holly the front desk rude staff, said she would have house cleaning make it up as soon as possible. We returned at 1:30 since check-out is at 11:00 and after being told by Kevin the room would be ready in 15 minutes, didn't get into THIS room #14 Judges House until 3:20!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Holly I am sure made every effort to have house cleaning not accommodate us, since I told her I had been up since 1:30 AM that morning! After nearly crying and being locked out of the Judges House, since they only gave us 1 key for 2 people, and hour later I was able to find a VERY comfortable room at Admiral Inn across the street, who SAVED my vacation! The room had broken draperies that opened directly to the scooter vendor on the sidewalk! And for a 2 person room they gave us only 1 robe! Holly did sure work her magic at being the worst staffer I have ever seen yet to date. She is the one with blond hair! See pics!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renzryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The pictures on line were great. The place was horrible. We booked the Queen Carraway room, and it was dirty, the furniture was old and worn, and the room was very hot. The bathroom was a joke. very tiny and the toilet was behind the door. We could not stay in the room since it was SO HOT. They did move us to the "hotel" which was air conditioned but still old and worn. The cost is NOT I repeat NOT worth the price. DO NOT go to the Gatsby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank healthy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatsby Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatsby Mansion

Property: Gatsby Mansion
Address: 309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatsby Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Gatsby Mansion. A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gatsby Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatsby Mansion Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing