We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Ranked #11 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Avoid this restaurant!
We dined at this restaurant two years ago (8.04) and could not wait to go back. We checked in and were told they have a three course chef's choice dinner. We were also told they could certainly accommodate vegetarians. Perhaps not needing reservations on a Saturday night at the peak of summer and tourist season should have been an indicator. After we were seated we were told the chef would love to make a mixed vegetable risotto. We thought we would go ahead with it. Again, perhaps offered one choice should have been and indicator but we were already seated. The service was truly horrific. Our water glasses sat empty despite asking for more. Our salad was served (an ala carte item) and then the bread. We were never provided with bread plats. When our entree arrived we could not believe it was being served as such. We asked for more bread. The waiter came back to our still empty water glasses ten minutes later and told us he had forgotten the bread, did we still want it. He then came back five minutes later to our still empty water glasses and asked if we wanted anything else. At this point we gave up on the water and bread and asked for our bill. This meal was the most expensive and worst that we had while on holiday in Victoria. The service was a joke and the food quality slightly above that. I only wish I knew where the chef from two years ago was.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank krf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 226 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle
14
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We actually stayed here because our daughters bought us a stay here. However, we had to change our reservations for dates. We are still trying to resolve that issue, and this hotel doesn't seem willing at all to help us out with that.

When we were there, only one of the restaurants was open, and the service was incredibly slow. We waited an hour and a half, and all we got in that time was bread and water. Once we finally got our dinner, it was just okay, not really worth the wait for them to make our steak more presentable.

We also had our reservations to stay in the mansion itself, but ended up staying in one of the outbuildings, which was disappointing as well. To make matters worse, there were no curtains on the windows, and the hotel was not interested in helping us dim the brightness in the room of the streetlight. We ended up hanging our clothes from the window to try to block out the light.

However, they did have lots of hot water for the shower, and of course the city is nice, but we will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver
112
Reviewed April 9, 2006

I'm usually pretty easy to please when it comes to hotels. My boyfriend and I recently planned a vacation to victoria for our 1 year anniversary. we decided to try a different hotel to stay rather then "The Royal Scott" big mistake we should have stayed there. The Gatsby Mansion was the worse ever. We were arriving late from the mainland and didnt get there until about 930 on friday night. Upon arriving we went up to the mansion and went to check in only to be told that there was nobody there and we would have to go around the property to the "huntingdon" formaly a Ramada to check in. This did no impress us very much as we had alot of luggage. Upon arriving at the new check in point we were told by the lady that she didn't have any of our information and we would have to wait until sombody else returned becuause ther computers were down and we would have to lug our stuff all the way back to the mansion. 30 minutes later she walked us over there and informed us she had lost our reservation even though we had called that sunday to confirm our room. She ended up putting us in "the cottage" which is above the liquor store and only has two rooms. We though okay this cant be to bad. We got the stairs and there was dirty laundry on the floor and the lady couldn't even find the light switch. There wasn't one it was o nly lamps on the night table. She left has to be and we started looking around. we couldn't open the windows unless we propped them up with books and upon further inspection the cealing was cracking and pealing and there was mold on the windows and mildew and also a musty smoky smell in the room. We decieded this wasn't going to work out and decided to find another place to stay for the second night. We returned back to the room later that evening and we realized the clock in the room had not yet been changed back to daylight savings time. Not only that but the door at the bottom tf the cottage would not open and it took us 10 minutes to get it open the key would not fit in. Then we got up to our room the key would not fit in the door and that took another 10 minutes. Once we were in the room i started to cough pretty bad and i couldn't stop so we left at 1am and checked into another hotel this was after they tried to put us in 2 other rooms one inthe "judges house" which the night security just put is nose up at the smell and the fact you could see your breath and then they tried to put us in the Hunntingdon in a Smoking room that was right out of the dark ages it had a tv with anttenas and knobs and a bed up in a loft.So we left with the promise we would not be charged and will never stay there again. Anyways on saturday i woke up very ill and we thought it was an allergy to the room the night before so i bought some allergy stuff and took that and then saturday night i had a very hight fever and was dilerious. Same thing sunday and we came home. Today i went to the doctor and got checked out and I have a chest infection due to the room the first night and the mold and mustyness in the room. So I will not reccomend this hotel to anyone and if you want anymore information feel free to leave me a comment!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto
13
Reviewed March 2, 2006

I absolutely LOVE the Gatsby Mansion Inn. Wonderful Gardens, Super Beds, beautiful decor. The food ust be one of the best in town. And he location! If yu like OLD aniques,it is te place to be

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We were lucky enough to be housed in the Gatsby, but some people staying the same time as us were put in the judges House without being forwarned, and since you book Gatsby Mansion, you DO actually expect to stay there! But as I said, we were lucky enough to stay in the Mansion in a lovely oldy worldy room. We arrived at about 7pm which threw a spanner in the works because they have no reception staff in the evenings, well they didn't have any in the mornings either from what we saw. We had to check in through the Ramada next door which was also understaffed, and we had to wait ages. Fortunately we checked when we arrived as to whether breakfast was included in the rate, which it wasn't. Although calling the place Gatsby Mansion B & B gave the impression of breakfast included!
The location is ideal, everything is well within easy walking distance. The Gatsby was certainly value for money considering what some of the other hotels close by charge, but in paying less you get less service. As long as you aware of that then I think it passes as an average stay.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank poppyland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington, VA
16
Reviewed August 25, 2005

If only I had read some of these reviews before going! We too made the mistake of paying good money for this ant heap. This has got to be the biggest bait-and-switch scam on the island.

First off, the Denver reviewer was absolutely correct: if you book through an online "discount" service, breakfast is not included at all. Given that the discount was all of $15 U.S., that's hardly an excuse. Of course, they don't actually tell you about this when you check in or at any time until you ask. Luckily, we called down to the front desk to ask about breakfast hours ahead of time. The desk attendant wasn't the least bit apologetic about it either and actually scolded me for wanting to "have my cake and eat it too". Good customer service, eh? Given that we also were put up in the Judge's House as well (more bait-and-switch), I was not about to spend another cent here.

Secondly, if you are looking for a nice secluded Mom and Pop B&B off the beaten track, or even back off the main tourist thoroughfares, this ain't it. It's actually right on the main drag and is actually owned and operated by the Ramada. A somewhat nice location overall, but if you're looking for quiet, forget about it. The only ventilation in our room was one window, which happened to face onto a neighboring bar. The bar's patrons may have been enjoying themselves, but I sure wasn't.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boulder, CO
112
Reviewed June 27, 2005

First off, let me warn you about booking this "bed and breakfast" through the leading online discount hotel reservation service. (The rules say I can't use commercial web addresses, and the service's name includes its address. Do the math.) Guests who book through this service may get a bed at the Gatsby, but the breakfast part is not included.

Unfortunately, we weren't informed of this by the Gatsby staff until after we'd eaten our elaborate but not very good breakfast, and were surprised by a bill for more than $30. (When I complained about this to the leading online discount hotel reservation service, the customer care representative actually said "people shouldn't expect there to be breakfast at a bed and breakfast." Hmmnn. Never going to book through them again.)

More worrying, however, was the unbelievable stench of male cat spray on the staircase. Gross.

Then, our "deluxe" room: a 3rd floor attic room. The bed (just a mattress and box spring on a frame) was shoved up under the eaves so that one of us couldn't get out of bed without crawling over the other, or even sit up to read. There were no windows! Just slanted skylights with gingham curtains that couldn't be opened. So much for our "harbor view." And there was no way to darken the room, so we woke up at 4:30 with the birds. Cobwebs in the various nooks and crannies. A large but not well-cleaned bathroom with a tub that had seen much better days.

The location is, admittedly, very convenient to all the things one might want to do in Victoria. But location can't make up for the yucky room, the horrifying odor, or the surly staff. I'd rather sleep in a tent in a parking lot.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#19 of 46 in Victoria
706 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Rockland
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendray Inn and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendray Inn and Tea House

Address: 309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $118 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pendray Inn and Tea House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Pendray Inn and Tea House (formerly the Gatsby Mansion). A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pendray Inn and Tea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatsby Mansion Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing