We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pendray Inn
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$441
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$524
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$184
$178
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
94
72
22
32
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
72
22
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgatsby mansionhigh teatea houseantique furnituresconeshuntingdon manoremily carrno elevatorthird floorrestaurant downstairsold worlddesk clerkport angelesperfect locationempress hotellarge roomvictoria clipper
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 246 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am terribly sorry this has taken so long to write, but rest assured I have given my comments to anyone that would listen. We were there on the May long weekend for my sister-in-laws wedding. When we booked I read all the reviews and was so hesitant that while on the ferry I was looking for alternate hotels. Thank heavens I did NOT CHANGE. The wedding was handled wonderully, the food, the rooms, the breakfasts, the service, the staff.....everything was just so pleasant and top notch. I had the most amazing time the whole weekend. I loved our old quaint room, next time I will book a little larger room but definately back in the Judges house. Thank you so much Gatsby Mansion for everything. I will return!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.
In behalf of all our employees we appreciate very much we had the opportunity to host your family's wedding and we are happy everybody enjoyed the event and you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

As with a lot of older homes that seem romantic but when trying to stay in them it's a bit of a disappointment. The first room had a slanted ceiling which was awful and we upgraded toa nicer room. The plus side was it was more spacious and the rent was the same. However, the room was dark and the chairs uncomfortable for reading. Everything looked nice but was too dainty to use. In the Gastby, you felt rather abandoned by the staff as there was noone there during the night. The bathtub drained awfully slowly which was a bit disgusting. The staff, bless them, were nice to us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterdavidson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay, thank you very much for staying with us.
As we are in the process of planning the details for the upcoming renovations in the fall, I will ensure your comments on the interior are being considered.
We are hoping though that you will visit us again in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Arriving in Victoria we couldn't believe the location and the presence of this "mansion". We had a second floor room which was absolutely wonderful. Even though it's "old", the house is well updated and is beautiful.
Only downfall is there is no smoking in the courtyard. ALSO The restaurant was so busy in the morning we had to wait an hour for breakfast; very short staffed.
Would highly recommend the mansion for your Victoria stay. It is well situated for sight seeing! Hopefully the restaurant will have get their staffing problems rectified soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grammamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
I am happy to hear you did enjoy your stay with us, but do apologize for the invonveniences you encountered during breakfast at the Hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be addressed to ensure that going forward enough staff is scheduled in the mornings.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We decided to try something different while in Victoria for the Brian Adams concert. We found the Gatsby Mansion Inn through Trip Advisor. Trip Advisor lists this as a Victoria Bed & Breakfast, so we thought the price was reasonable, assuming it included breakfast.

We booked the "Baker Room" which was supposed to be a queen four-poster bed.

On checking in, we found the room was not what we had booked. It was a very plain room with two standard beds. This was very disappointing. We complained to the front desk and were upgraded to a better quality room with a sitting area and balcony.

We were to disappointed again when we went down to inquire about breakfast and we were told it was not included because we had booked over the internet. We were told if we had booked directly, it would have been included. I again complained to the front desk staff and told them this was 'false advertising'. Either you are a 'Bed and Breakfast' or you are not. Eventually, we were provided with a coupon toward our breakfast.

I feel we were mislead on both the room and the breakfast. It is too bad because, we otherwise enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank cdnislandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Pendray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
Although we are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay with us, I do apologize for the seemingly misleading information you had received regarding the breakfast.
Our employees are doing daily their best to look after all our customer's requests and find the best solution to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

At an auction we bought a package for two nights at the Gatsby Mansion. After more than half a dozen calls an email exchange over the last three weeks, we were informed that the owners will not honor the auction certificate. Strongly suggest you do your home work before deciding to stay at a place that does not seem to place value on taking care of their customers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank VJ7439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews