We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good huevos rancheros.”
Review of Cabin 12 - CLOSED

Cabin 12
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good huevos rancheros.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went on a Friday afternoon, note they close from 3 to 5:00p.m., but they still fed us even though they were closing in 10 minutes. Had a good meal pretty quick, prices good and funky decor. We want to go back for dinner and try more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food itself was of a good standard and liked the retro/used decor. Just service could do with a kick up the but. Very slow and easily distracted when restaurant became busier

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam181190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unremarkable food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I ate here for lunch in September 2012 and again for breakfast in November. Both times my meals were unremarkable. The hash browned potatoes were dry and not enjoyable. Staff was friendly and service was fine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pentys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabin 12 cute but slow”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We ent to Cabin 12 in Victoria for lunch.

The menu was varied with some healthy choices. they served organic coffee which was very good.
We had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated whci was fine as there were some vintage things to look at including a wood stove (non functioning) like the one in my grandmothers cottage. There were siome vinal records as well as toys and games.

We sat at a wooden table and chairs. There were some interesting photographs on the walls. It was quite cozy. We got menus and coffe fairly quickly, but then the service got slow. They were very accomadating with my husband\s dietary requirements (high protien, small portion).

My French Toast arrived cold and it took a while to flag down a waiter. It took a while to be replaced but it was warm and good. We also had to go get a waiter to refill my coffee.

My husband enjoyed his meal.

i would be willing to give this place another chance to see if we hit it on an off day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlahandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very very good”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Victoria has a breakfast problem, especially on the weekend, because everyone goes out and all the restaurants are packed - and this place, a little off the beaten path, is well worth the trip. Not only are the lines shorter (or maybe none at all), but the food is top notch, the service is friendly, and the atmosphere is great. The menu is interesting - a bit more, and a big better, that just a diner.... and the food lives up to the extra billing.

In a city with at least a dozen very good breakfast places, this one is my favorite. Lunch and dinner are good too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabin 12 also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing