We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed & Breakfast? or Deluxe Accommodation with a Morning Feast?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Ranked #7 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed & Breakfast? or Deluxe Accommodation with a Morning Feast?”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My daughter and I were on vacation in Victoria and we found a really great place to stay called Birds of a Feather. They call themselves a bed & breakfast but its more like deluxe accommodation with a morning feast. We stayed in a large beautifully furnished room c/w fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, flat screen TV, fireplace, the most comfortable bed ever and a loft with a second bed. It was an incredible experience. I had coffee on the oversized balcony looking onto the Esquimalt Bird Sanctuary. The view was great. Every morning we went to breakfast in the "main house" and were treated to pastry baked fresh at the local bakery, a dish of fresh berries and our main course could be anything from Salmon Soufflé to Blueberry Quiche or even a really tasty Ham & Cheese Casserole. Deidre was a wealth of information about the area telling us about great places to go & things to do. We stayed for 6 days and every one of them was awesome. I can hardly wait to return. It is the only place I will stay when I next visit Victoria.
I recommend it to everybody from honeymooners to small families. There is a room for any occasion. Thanks to our hosts for helping to make it a really great holiday.
Make sure to check out the 360 degree tours on Birds of a Feather Website to see all the rooms for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    20
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
95
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed 6 nights and expected more as the price was high. Served an oven baked hash for breakfast. Had to put up with a large barking dog every evening at 11pm. Need I go on.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherGreatDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdsofaFeatherBC1, Owner at Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We had rescued a dog in 2009 and has since been re-homed - we no longer have any pets.

We pride ourselves on serving something different every day. Many of our guests love our Hawaiian baked hash. Fresh fruit, fresh baked goods and healthy cereals and yogurt are also breakfast staples at our table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We recently took a vacation to Vancouver Island in which we'd be spending a few days in Victoria. We searched many B&B's on the internet prior to our trip. We had a difficult time deciding if we wanted to stay in a historic B&B in Victoria or somewhere with a view. Finding Birds of a Feather the view from their rooms won out and what a view we had!

Upon arrival we were met by the family pets, Alice and Taco. Taco, the cutest, friendliest chihuahua with the greatest little story was a highlight. Our plans were to check in and then head out and tour Victoria some more however, once we entered our room and hopped on the over sized feather king bed we decided we weren't going anywhere, we wanted to enjoy our incredible room with an incredible view.

The next morning I had my coffee on the deck and was greeted with an incredible sunrise, otters playing in the lagoon and listening to the many birds singing. It was simply paradise. Our hosts, Dieter and Ashley had a wonderful breakfast waiting for us to start our day. Dieter was a wealth of knowledge during and prior to our stay. He was gracious enough to book us a whale watching tour prior to our trip with Orca Spirit out of Victoria and we weren't disappointed, we seen a pod of Orcas on our trip. He also provided us with great information about whale watching which was able to convince my husband, who suffers from sea sickness, to go with me!

Dieter and Ashley have everything for their guests, fresh flowers in the room, canoes, kayaks and bicycles for their guests. The Honeymoon room had a huge bathroom with an over-sized claw foot tub and rain shower head, the small kitchenette has everything for those that want to cook for themselves. It is conveniently located with easy accessibility to down town Victoria, Hately Castle right next door for those that want to sight see. The room was so welcoming and comforting for those that just want to stay in and relax. Birds of a Feather has it all, through out our stay my husband kept commenting that I couldn't have found a more perfect place to stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I stayed in several rooms; the owner was eager to accomodate me in spite of them being filled up for the week I was there. Rooms were lovely, very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean.

Location was good for the business I had nearby - a quiet suburb of Victoria, but easy to get to conveniences. If your main interest is visiting downtown Victoria, this may be a bit far for you. But there are some nice sights in the area.

Not quite oceanfront - it's on a peaceful lagoon, but I didn't mind. The ocean was very close.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelS108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We booked 2 rooms in Aug. Our son's girlfriend had passport issues and never made it out of Seattle. We did not cancel his room. We didn't know the passport problems were goning to happen.. Our fault. We arrived about 7:00 pm to find our key on door with instructions on use of room. No one to give our dinner info or anything. Found out next day the B & B owners were on vacation. Great no one to tell us what to see or how to get around. Talked to son next day, they were not going to be able to make any of the vacation. The only one to tell was the women who made us breakfast and she said she didn't know how they's handle our cancellation. So when the owner came home form their vacation, I contacted them to see if we could get a credit on a future trip. My reply from owners were (you remember I never got to met them) was on our next trip if we stay 3 nights i'll give us the 4th free. Gee do you think I would give them my buisness again. I read many commits on how much info on the area they gave people. We never received that either. Poor buisness!!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank floridatinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We visited in May. It was a bit more expensive than our other booked accommodation around the island but I fell in love with the place on the internet. Was it worth the extra - to be honest no for the time that we had there and the facilities we used but to be fair that was our fault and not theirs. Its just there is so much to do when you get there unless you are staying about a week or really want to do nothing but relax you really wouldn't.

Just an envelope on the door with our instructions and there is no need to speak to the owner at all as there is a lovely lady there who does the breakfast so we only saw him very briefly. Instructions are to call him on his mobile or email him. He was able to give us excellent instructions on things to do and he is very knowledgeable so there is help there if you need it. The rooms have one separate entrance for coming and going.

The breakfast was very nice but not really a choice. We had a cooked dish one day which was delicious but the children didn't want it but did have the cereal, yoghurt etc but don't think it will be a buffet selection. You all eat around one table which was nice to find out what other have done but not condusive if you have children who don't behave. Luckily ours do!

The accommodation is really nice but I think you would be unlikely to use the limited kitchen area as the food around is nice and reasonably priced. I think the situation is its selling point as the view is lovely. I did expect it to be more remote as its at the bottom of a road of other properties but just to sit on the pontoon and hear the water swishing is a delight.

You will need a car to get there and I had no concept of how big the island is so that 20 minute drive is just that and much more in heavy traffic as we found out.

I cannot complain about the place as if was fabulous but having stayed in other B&B's on the island you can actually get a bit more for your money if you are planning to be out all day .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishywashy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We visited Birds of a Feather for our honeymoon, and it was everything we had hoped for. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and spent the first few peaceful days relaxing and reading on the deck overlooking the lagoon. The room was extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed using the telescope to watch the birds and the other side of the lagoon. We also hiked around town a bit and up the hill to a delightful little bakery featuring pastries and sandwiches.

Dieter was extremely helpful in advising us about the area's highlights. He really made our trip. Every morning we would go down to a delicious full course breakfast, and (if anyone was interested) Dieter would explain exactly where to go, how to get there, what to do, and how best to enjoy it -- with a level of detail that could not have been obtained elsewhere and that greatly contributed to our trip. We went tubing down the Cowichan River, whale watching among the San Juan Islands, daytripping to Victoria and Butchart Gardens, and hiking out near Port Renfrew. We stayed at Birds of a Feather for the first week of our two-week honeymoon and after the first week was over we felt that if we had to go home after that first week, we would have still had an absolutely amazing and unforgettable honeymoon.

We would unconditionally recommend Birds of a Feather to anyone visiting Vancouver Island. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzzzzzz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental

Property: Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Address: 206 Portsmouth Dr, Victoria, British Columbia V9C 1R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lover's nirvana on protected ocean front lagoon located on Victoria's west shore neighboring Fisgard Lighthouse and Hatley Park Historic site. Moderate year-round temperatures with a micro-climate that gives it the warmest winter temperatures anywhere in Canada! Hatley grounds include a castle, Japanese, Italian, and Rose gardens. Private dock, courtesy canoe, kayaks, peddle boat, and bicycles. Affordable luxury suites with cathedral ceilings, oceanfront terraces, kitchenettes, soaker tubs, gas fireplaces, widescreen TV. Completely rebuilt in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing