We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best vacation ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Ranked #7 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the best vacation ever!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The house was beautiful and the back yard was amazing. What a beautiful way to wake up everyday. The rooms were very clean and well stocked. The breakfast was delicious!! And the hospitality of Tiffany and the owner Dieter was more than I could ask for. We went on a private tour on the ocean and saw wild orcas. We also took a grizzly tour that was absolutely out of this world!!! Dieter knew exactly where to take us and I enjoyed every minute of this vacation!!! Thank you Birds of a Feather for the amazing adventure in BC Canada!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    20
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
98
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This B&B offers a private and quiet experience with its limited number of rooms. The views to the lagoon were unobstructed and all have at least balcony access. The breakfasts' were very good and everyone partakes at one scheduled time. Innkeeper Dieter is a walking library of information about the island and offers a variety of fun activities. Canoes and Kayaks are available from the private dock. We kayaked to Hatley Park and National Historic Site, which is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are upper level, therefore accessed by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Birds of a Feather certainly was disappointing! It did not live up to the ratings we read here. The food was nothing special unless scrambled eggs is your idea of a delicious breakfast. Only had a meat one day. We chose to eat breakfast on the ferry instead on our last moring because we wanted a better breakfast. The lagoon is pretty, but there is not an ocean view. It would have been nice to have a hot tub. The canoes looked ok, however the river kayaks looked like the came from a garage sale. Birds of a Feather is located in a residential neighborhood. The pictures look better than the real house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgward67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although there were some nice things about this B&B, I was disappointed on several fronts.
The breakfasts were not as good as one expects from a B&B, and in fact was not up to restaurant standards either. In order to actually get to the waterfront beyond the lagoon you would have to walk about a mile. There is a busy road (sort of a causeway) running the length of the lagoon that actually blocks the ocean view, and takes away from the tranquility I expected. There is certainly not a view of the Olympic mountains from your balcony. The canoe/kayak situation was a disappointment as well. If there are 2 young fit adults in your group - then no problem with the canoes. But too much hassle for older folks with back and hernia issues, as the canoes are strapped to a rack on the top of a pier, no clear easy path to the water, and you are instructed to return them as they are. We did not think we could do it and were never offered any assistance, so we could not use them. As for the kayaks, they were not sea kayaks which would have been appropriate for the lagoon, but beat-up looking squatty river kayaks - no doubt from a garage sale so they could advertize that they had kayaks. We only saw our hosts at breakfast, the lighthouse which was in "walking distance" would have been at least 6 miles round trip, and our suite was in fact one room and one of the chairs was in too bad of shape to even sit in. I can think of more, but the little we saw of them they seemed very nice, so I'll stop now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birds_of_a_FeatherBC, Owner at Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Our apologies that our establishment did not live up to your expectations. We are distinctly unique from most other B&Bs in that we are purpose built with our house on the first floor being separated from the B&B suites on the 2nd floor. Over 16 years we have acquired a reputation for giving our guests space and privacy, always being just a door knock or cell phone call away to assist. Had we known about some of your concerns at the time you were here we would have addressed them as best we could. The kayaks are the 4th set we've bought from a local outdoor rec shop over the past 16 years. They get scratched up a lot in the shallow waters at the far end of the lagoon. Having previously had sea kayaks we have recently been guided by our insurance policy which doesn't allow for the narrower sea kayaks. We could easily have had the local kayak rental shop drop off a couple of professional kayaks here.

Breakfast is usually a very enjoyable and positive experience at our table. If you care to send us an email so we could understand why you were disappointed in this we might be able to learn how to improve this. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed. Should you wish to give us another try we will give you 2 days on us complete with sea kayaks that we will rent and pay for and I will personally be on hand for your visit to ensure your every expectation is met. If you wish I will also give you a free outback tour in our hummer, or Marine EcoTour in our zodiac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location is not as close to downtown as some others but the B&B is at a quite location. The building itself is quite nice and our room was large and comfortable. One can access the dock, the patios, and also use the canoe, kayak, bicycles etc. The breakfasts were very nice and Peter was quite helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which as a bed as well as a living space up the ladder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I loved my stay in the Honeymoon Suite at Birds of a Feather in Victoria, BC. The accomodations, views of the ocean, services and hospitality were first-class and wonderful! I higly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Victoria. It is close enough to downtown to venture into the tourist area but far away enough to be a hidden Oasis retreat away from the downtown core and comes equipped with complementary telescopes in the rooms, bikes, kayaks and is only a short walk to the gorgeous grounds of Royal Roads University. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Take a room with a view - it is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank areier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great spot about 15 mins from downtown. Includes use of canoes kayaks and bikes. Also does Ecco tours (we didn't). Inn keeper (Tiffany?) was cheery and helpful. Breakfasts were plentiful.

Not much to complain about at all really. One thing I noticed is the pickets on the railings on the family room mezzanine were a little far apart at the spiral stair. Our kids could fit through save the one bar in the middle. It's a manufactured item so the owner might be able to get a couple of extra pickets.

Loved to see vac tubes for solar hot water!

It is a very residential area so there aren't really any restaurants within walking distance. You will be full from breakfast though. There are great trails at royal roads within walking distance.

Overall a great b&b

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean2012naramoochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental

Property: Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Address: 206 Portsmouth Dr, Victoria, British Columbia V9C 1R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lover's nirvana on protected ocean front lagoon located on Victoria's west shore neighboring Fisgard Lighthouse and Hatley Park Historic site. Moderate year-round temperatures with a micro-climate that gives it the warmest winter temperatures anywhere in Canada! Hatley grounds include a castle, Japanese, Italian, and Rose gardens. Private dock, courtesy canoe, kayaks, peddle boat, and bicycles. Affordable luxury suites with cathedral ceilings, oceanfront terraces, kitchenettes, soaker tubs, gas fireplaces, widescreen TV. Completely rebuilt in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing