We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Ranked #7 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The home away from home,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We rarely write reviews but we had to this time.

Me and my wife stayed at Birds of a Feather, while I was conducting business in Victoria, what a dream location. Woke up to some awesome sunrises, mist on the lagoon and the local Swans and Geese give it an unreal splendor, the breakfast was amazing everyday, we now will have a passion for Waffles and Chocolate ice cream for ever.

We arrived late and even though we had access to the room (we were provided with an access code for the B&B) I knocked the main door to the residence and was greeted by Dieter our host, he was very polite and offered to show us our room, he made sure everything was to our liking and told us to make his home our home and if we needed anything to let him know . We only got to see Dieter one time, but felt our comfort and well being was his top priority.

We had a great time on the lagoon in the evenings and sat and relaxed on the balcony with a glass of wine (Take some with you from the States, hellishly expensive in Canada). It was also nice to be able to make your own meals after a day at work, the kitchen area is in your room and is perfect. The Internet access was a great plus and allowed me to work and enjoy the view.

Birds of a Feather is now on our go back to locations.

Thanks for a great location, privacy and GREAT BREAKFASTS.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhinprocess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    19
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
91
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My partner and I loved staying at Birds of a Feather. Being right on the lagoon made the morning coffee a real treat! I would highly recommend this to anyone! The beds were very comfortable and Dieter made us feel right at home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This purpose built bed and breakfast was very suitable for a two week residency at neighbouring Royal Roads university. The location is quite pretty overlooking the lagoon with the resident swans and other water fowl. The room was large and well appointed although the kitchenette is very small if you are doing your own cooking.
As some other reviewers have noted, you will not likely see the owner. In two weeks we had no contact other than a note to give us instructions upon arrival. While many may prefer this kind of hands off approach for me it felt a bit cold (probably because of the insistence of being paid in full prior to arrival and then being totally absent) and rather unlike any B and B accommodation I have visited. in fact, the earthquake in the Haida Gwaii had put the area into a Tsunami watch and even at that there was no contact. Odd I felt...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberta_canuckski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birds_of_a_FeatherBC, Owner at Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

In the winter months we also rent our B&B suites as weekly vacation rentals often to neighboring Royal Roads University students in town for several weeks at a time. These students are enrolled in very intense programs at RRU. Our B&B guests would typically interact with us every morning at breakfast and as needed. We live downstairs and are easily available. We do not serve breakfast to long term stays and often do not cross paths with these guests. Perhaps we should try and make ourselves more visible. Thank you again.

Not sure where the “sleep quality” came up short as the rooms are almost soundproof? If there is something we can improve in this regard I sure would love to hear back from you on this point please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in August. We're not into busy cities but prefer privacy. The B&B is situated on a lagoon and is in a residential neighborhood. The location on a cul-de-sac allows for some privacy. The owner, Dieter, has kayaks, canoes and bicycles available for your use at any time. Downtown Victoria is just about 20 minutes away. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable, the cost of 165.00/night was reasonable. I think this is a good location for folks who might want to spend some time in Victoria, as well as explore the trails west of town and relax in a canoe or kayak in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flicka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The room, the view, the staff, the food, the proximity to fun activities both in the city and in the country, it was all absolutely perfect! We took the Birds of a Feather whale watching tour and saw 30+ orcas, seals, jelly fish, and star fish. The equipment they offer was fantastic - we rode their mountain bikes 20+ miles straight from the B&B to the Galloping Goose Trail, which we followed out to Pedder Bay and back through Japanese Gardens and Hatley Castle. The bikes were super comfy and sturdy. What a fantastic place to relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbwhit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you want to relax and just listen to the sounds of nature all around, this is the perfect place. In August I spent a lovely week with my family in this beautiful B&B, kayaking in the lagoon enjoying the sun, walking to the near Hatley Castle and having a delicious breakfast while admiring deers and birds quietly walking in the garden or the enormous cruiseships passing by. We even had the chance to see otters fishing! Easy drive to Victoria downtown. We went visiting the Royal BC Museum and had lunch and dinner in some of the restaurants reccomended in the website. But the best part was coming back in the evening and enjoy the sunset and the relaxing ocean. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony.The service was excellent and the innkeepers absolutely adorable. Unforgettable experience...my children had so much fun and we will certainly go there again in future. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianaC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pala, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is amazing. I am back for the third time and once again am not disappointed. If you are looking to feel completely at ease with yourself and your surroundings I would definitely recommend staying here. The breakfast are always delicious and the local fruits they compliment it with are just mouthwatering. The host are very friendly and always happy to help with ideas on things to do around the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaMoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental

Property: Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Address: 206 Portsmouth Dr, Victoria, British Columbia V9C 1R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lover's nirvana on protected ocean front lagoon located on Victoria's west shore neighboring Fisgard Lighthouse and Hatley Park Historic site. Moderate year-round temperatures with a micro-climate that gives it the warmest winter temperatures anywhere in Canada! Hatley grounds include a castle, Japanese, Italian, and Rose gardens. Private dock, courtesy canoe, kayaks, peddle boat, and bicycles. Affordable luxury suites with cathedral ceilings, oceanfront terraces, kitchenettes, soaker tubs, gas fireplaces, widescreen TV. Completely rebuilt in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing