We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Heathergate House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heathergate House B&B
Ranked #16 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We (a family of 5) had a great stay at The Heathergate House B&B - we stayed in the lovely self contained cottage. Ned and Ann went beyond the call of duty to make us welcome and Ned's breakfast was truly stupendous. The B&B is very well placed for downtown, in all a real find and somewhere we will definately come back to next time we are in Victoria.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank Adam-Rye-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Heathergate House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2009

We love staying at B & B's. Our hosts, Ann and Ned Easton, were most welcoming.

We celebrated a birthday and everything was perfect. Wonderful bed, excellent service and a full breakfast to last us most of the day.

Our room and ensuite bathroom, so tastefully decorated, provided us a much needed oasis to relax and rejuvenate.

Coffee pot is always on and Ned's cookies are famous.

It was a pleasure to stay at Heathergate. The Eastons are masters in the art of hospitality.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarksCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My husband and I have back problems. We booked for one week in the twin bed suite. about three months in advance, and when we said we must have good firm beds, we were assured the beds were excellent. After one night I felt as though my back was broken and my husband was also in pain. The box springs were ancient and sagged very low when depressed. We gave our notice in the morning, but they charged us for a second night because their policy is 24 hours notice. We felt this unfair as the information given us that the beds would be satisfactory was not true. If you can sleep "on a clothesline ", then you won't mind, but if beds are an issue choose another place. We liked the cleanliness and the terrific breakfast, but the first and foremost part of bed and breakfast is "bed". Young people would probably enjoy this but seniors beware.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Peggyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Everything that the other reviewers have said is true. Ann and Ned are very gracious and helped us plan our activities in Victoria. The bed is very comfortable, the food wonderful, and the location great. As was pointed out, this is not the location for downtown nightlife but it is the place for relaxation. We walked with one rolling suitcase from the ferry and it wasn't bad. Took a taxi back the next morning due to time restraints - very inexpensive at $6 for both of us. An example of their hospitality - my husband left his insulin in Seattle and we didn't realize it until we were off the ferry. When we asked Ned about pharmacies, he called the nearest one and made sure that they would give us the needed medication when we arrived. Wonderful, generous people. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2007
Thank chakrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Heathergate House Bed and Breakfast in Victoria, BC Canada

The owners and on site hosts Ned and Ann have perfected the Bed and Breakfast experience. Upon arrival we were greeted with home made cookies and tea. We had a room with a king bed, down comforter and in room bath that was spacious and charming. The breakfast was made fresh every morning with your choice of either a full English breakfast or the breakfast of the day which offered pecan waffles, blueberry muffins or scones. The buffet was set with silver serving pieces and offered home made jam, granola, fresh fruit and more. They served both coffee and tea and home made cookies were kept in a jar for snacking any time of day.
The location was perfect, only 2 blocks to the harbor or to public transportation. My husband walked to downtown early every morning (while I slept in). Ned made all the arraignments for our sight seeing every day. This was a great help! We did not have to do a thing, just enjoy ourselves.
Victoria is beautiful and there is plenty to do, whale watching tours, Butchart Gardens (a must see) and lots of golf courses.
The temperature is mild and the scenery is gorgeous. Victoria is easily reached by Ferry from Seattle or Vancouver and is great for a day trip or a week. We loved it and hope to return. NK

3  Thank solkjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We read the previous review and though it too good to be true.
But it was actually spot on. We, too, were greeted with an English style afternoon tea with those great home-made cookies. Just one word of caution - as the previous reviewer mentioned Heathergate is situated a "short walking distance from the harbour". That is OK once settled in but don't try walking there with a couple of suitcases as we did - get a taxi. Yes, Ann and Ned are perfect hosts, breakfasts are very good with plenty of variety. Their local knowledge was most helpful. Our room was just by the main entrance with its own little patio with table and chairs. The room itself was delightful with its flowery wallpaper and very comfortable bed. We would have no hesitation in strongly recommending Heathergate House.
No good for lively night life and discoes etc but I rather think that those type of holidaymakers are not likely to go for a B&B in a residential street.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PeterReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with such wonderful hospitality by the couple that own this B&B. Upon checking in we were greeted with home-made chocolate chip cookies and wonderful ice tea in their garden patio. Every morning we were treated to our choice of 3 different wonderful breakfast options. Ned and Ann were so helpful with dinner & visitor suggestions. They also let us borrow a blanket for 2 picnics we took. This English-styled B&B was a short walking distance away from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbor, yet it was located on a nice quiet, residential street. We loved this place and would love to go back again. We've never experienced hospitality like this before.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nesabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,797 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,105 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#13 of 49 in Victoria
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathergate House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathergate House B&B

Address: 122 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $121 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heathergate House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing