We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Victoria Inn
Ranked #17 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Nisswa MN
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at this inn during a cool and rainy week in Victoria. Our accommodations were very nice. Warm and welcoming- with fireplace. We had a one bedroom unit with full kitchen and living room. The staff is wonderful. We had daily service and were pleased. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the company of other visitors int he B and B setting. Very enjoyable stay. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are said to be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nisswatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at the Rosewood this January and it was great! Very nice, well appointed room with a small refrig and microwave for snacks. The free wi-fi was an unexpected bonus! Breakfasts were amazing and more than we could usually eat. The staff was friendly and very accommodating, especially when we had a problem with ferry transportation the day we were leaving and they worked to arrange an extended stay. Just two blocks from downtown, the museum and IMAX theater with plenty of great restaurants. There is also a nice little convenience store right across the street. We love this place and plan to return!

Room Tip: Room 42 was very nice and quiet with radiant heat floors and a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleWAcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We spent one week at the Rosewood Victoria Inn in October of 2011. The hotel was warm and welcoming upon arrival, but our room at the top of the stairs was more cozy second hand chic than the antiques that furnished the public rooms. Our room was nonetheless clean and functional, until we discovered that when entering the downstairs foyer, we would be greeted by comforting warmth, but our room was markedly chillier.
We called down several days in a row. The first day they found a way to turn it on, but four hours later we were cold again. We requested heat again and they again turned it on, but by the time it turned itself off the staff was gone for the night. The next morning we went through it again and by afternoon we were told repairmen were on the way. Two days later, after continuing requests, they brought us a small space heater. They were helpful, but we got tired of having to continually be the squeaky wheel for something as basic as heat.
Additionally, when we went down to breakfast the first morning, although we had not specified any particular dietary restrictions, it was very different from our ordinary fare. Biscuits followed by pancakes, or some other starch followed by another carb was the mainstay, after yogurts and other dishes that were just much too sweet for me. Also, my husband was irritated when he was told we were not allowed to sit at a table for two because they would have to make it up again for the next setting, So?
It was interesting, because I do freelance review assignments, and often my directions will include asking to be seated at a different table, or for some other change. The young lady who was our server that morning would have gotten a complete fail. Our happiness was infringing on her ability to control her table service and that was that! So while most of the staff was lovely, the customer's comfort is not EVERYONE's concern.

The breakfast experience tainted our view of the breakfast. We set out to find the best breakfasts on Vancouver Island and found some great spots. We also never participated in tea at the Rosewood because we again did not want to deal with one of the staff there. Between the basics of heat and service, not impressed.
BUT the location is fantastic, with most of Victoria within walking distance and there is a wonderful little pub a half block away for easy dinners or lunch.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new part and make sure it has heat!!! Also, if you have the need of protein at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisefromnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at the Rosewood Victoria Inn in June & found this Inn & surrounding area delightful! All colors of roses were blooming along a white picket fence in the front yard. We had a top floor room with a small porch & refrigerator & microwave. The room was immaculate, nice comfortable bed, & small couch. Our front windows looked out over the street & we loved to hear the clop-clop of the horses as the tourist carriages went pass this historic district. It was fun to listen as the tour guides talked about this Inn as a "romantic" getaway! Breakfast was included with this "time share" for an additional cost which saved us from having to drive or walk to a restaurant every morning. It was fun to meet people from all over the country at breakfast time. The breakfast area is in an addition with sky lights giving it a bright airy feeling. China dishes added to the Victorian atmosphere. Each morning a new breakfast "treat" was eaten. The scones & fruit & egg dishes were good & you could sign up for afternoon tea, which was included, if you so desired. We walked to the Royal British Museum & the inner harbor area. The only negative was the lack of parking space. We ended up parking in the driveway next door which turned out fine since no one else knew to park there. The location was perfect for seeing the city & Parliament buildings. They offer movies & swimming at their "sister" hotel within driving distance. All the staff were very helpful. Do sign up early for breakfast as there is limited space. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are unable to climb MANY stairs, ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureLover99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The staff at the Rosewood were exceptional! They were eager to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. The Inn is in a great location - just a few blocks away from the wharf, museum and other sights in Victoria. Hot breakfast was served in a darling dining area with tables for 4 and 2 with lovely china. Our meal each of the 2 mornings there was very good. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable with a microwave, refrigerator - in cabinets so as not to detract from the ambiance of the room. Some of the furnishings are in bad need of replacement. Upholstered furniture had passed the "shabby chic" stage and were really just worn out! Nonetheless, I would still recommend this Inn. We used RCI points for the room but were charged $13 each for the breakfast which is not optional. That was a bit steep in our opinion. The location cannot be beat. We prefer a neighborhood rather than being in the bustle of things so this provided that and a quick walk to all we were interested in doing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank qtpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I am a regular visitor to the Rosewood and have been for years. There are a number of things that are important for the visitor to understand:
1. This is a combination of two older buildings joined together with a common eating area. It is expected that internal and external (street) noise will be an issue for many given its age. This is especially true if you stay in the rooms at the front and under the third floor. Expect it.
2. While billed as a cleaning expense the nightly fees include a breakfast and high tea. I have never attended the tea but it appears very nice. The breakfast has always been very well done and more than adequate but visitors should remember that this is not a restaurant - it is, in effect, a B&B - you get what is being served. Sign up for your preference time early as it fills up. My preference would be for the owners to make this optional.
3. Staff have always been most pleasant and very helpful - I have never experienced a disappointment here.
4. Parking is tight at this location - I would recommend you back into your parking space given this fact.... and oh yes ... beware the tree at the entrance!
5. As mentioned I have been a frequent visitor for many years. I have watched the interior, furniture and appliances age as I have - it is time for a makeover. Enough said.
The location is probably one of the best in the inner harbour as it provides the visitor with easy walking to the greatest places to see and visit in Victoria. If you stay at the Rosewood enjoy the ambiance and Victorian style and accept the noise (including the fire engines) as part of the experience.

Room Tip: Try reserving the 1 bedroom units as they are in the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is our fourth stay here. The time before this was quite problematic but.... this time was great -again. We were celebrating our 40th anniversary this time so it had to be good. We were given the "Venetian" - "Honeymoon Suite". It is a very spacious and nicely decorated room with a huge jacuzzi tub - very nice. Everything was clean and tidy this time around. The breakfasts were "fine" and the afternoon teas were "fine". There is a new innkeeper "Jen" who seems to be very energetic on on top of things - thanks Jen. Yes, we will be back again for our annual anniversary weekend. For those using RCI timeshare points apparently the more points you spend the better the room but I am not exactly sure how to figure this part out. From previous visits we can tell you that there is a great variety of rooms from smallish to huge. Some have jacuzzis - some do not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank therealsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Victoria Inn

Property: Rosewood Victoria Inn
Address: 595 Michigan St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1S7, Canada (Formerly Holland House)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Victoria Hotel Victoria
Rosewood Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing