We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our all too brief Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
VICTORIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our all too brief Getaway!”
Reviewed August 15, 2008

My husband and I had the need to just get away and we had heard from friends who previously stayed at the Days Inn that it was great and close to everything we would need. They were so right.. it is in a great location close to many attractions, and just blocks away from other tourist sites, and I have to add, some great stores for shopping therapy! Our room was very clean and nicely decorated... a little small, however the beautiful view more than made up for it. With being new to the city it was extremely helpful to have the front desk staff so well informed. They always greeted us in a friendly manner and gave us some great suggestions for bus tours and places to see in our short time here. There is a great restaurant right in the hotel called the Swiftsure and there is a lovely outdoor patio where we could sit with a beautiful view of the Inner Harbour. We were able to sit and have a tasty lunch and feed the little birds. I have to say that we were initially a little apprehensive with some of the mixed reviews we had read prior to coming, but thankfully we decided to heed our friends advice and stay at Days Inn and we are so pleased that we did. My husband and I would recommend it and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EthelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    529
    391
    157
    59
See reviews for
396
538
109
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We were pleased with our visit to the hotel. We decided to book here despite some of the less than complementary reviews. The hotel is good value for money given its location, view and parking.

Our room was very clean, had a view of the harbour, and included a kitchenette (not that we needed it). We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is dog friendly, so this was a plus for us. Yes, the rooms / hotel could use some updating, but for the price of the room, we were able to overlook this and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2008

And I don't mean WOW in a good way.

Stay at this hotel if you believe the false advertising of recent updates and refurbishing. It is sadly in need of renovation. Patchy wallpaper, patched carpet (or worn out entirely), horrendously outdated/worn out funishings and decor...the list goes on.

Stay at this hotel if you believe it has a great harbour view as advertised. Sure...it's across the street from the harbour - but you don't have a great view if you're on the second floor and the trees have full leaves and the ferry's in. Even the third floor (where they moved us to) isn't much better. Perhaps the 4th (highest) floor?

Stay at this hotel if you want the hot local hangout. It was very obvious they had a popular restaurant and bar - and while both seemed to have pleasant, fun atmospheres, the food left much to be desired. But when it's time to wind down for the night in your room up above, you can bet they're not ready to call it quits below!
Too noisy below to leave the windows open (ok, understandable...we are close to downtown, etc). But no a/c - and the lame excuse from the front desk of "I'm surprised to hear you're warm and stuffy up there - most places in Victoria don't have air conditioning because we don't need it" Well, perhaps they should consider it as a courtesy to the tourists they are catering to, not the locals who are used to the climate.

Stay at this hotel if you want to be treated by not only the staff (some, not all), but particularly the manager like a second class citizen. When we asked to speak with her because we were not impressed with our accommodations, she came out with the attitude like "why are you bothering me?" She obviously didn't realize we could see her make a disgusted face at the nuisance we apparently were. By the time she made her way to the front desk she managed to paint on a very obviously false smile, wave her magic wand and dismiss us to a different room. If you do stay here, avoid the speaking with the queen bee for sure! It's apparent she has more than heard it all before, and has her well-rehearsed robotic responses to her customers who are always wrong! Which leads me to wonder...if she has heard it all before, why is it not fixed?

Stay at this hotel if you want to pay essentially the same price for a much poorer value than, say, the Best Western right next door!

  • Liked — Clean - I'll give it that!
  • Disliked — Everything else - especially staff/manager attitude.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dflcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Wickenburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Could not ask for a better place to stay. Took the Victoria clipper from Seattle and it is just a short walk from the dock to the Hotel. The rates were very goodm and there was a resturant in the hotel. the food was very good, the prices good and the service was great. The Hotel was within walking distance of the Harbor. Would advise a trip on the Water taxi, 45 min. with lots of information about the area. Bouchart Gardens are a must. Took the Greyline and also great naration on the way to the gardens. Allow 1/2 day at least for the gardens. The food in the Gardens was expensive and O,K,, Had lunches at Sam's Deli on the Harbour...excellent food, good value. They packed a dinner for us to take on the Clipper for our return trip to Seatt,le.

  • Liked — CONVIENCE
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jocmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2007

We visited Victoria last week for a convention. The hotel was recommended by the convention organizers. After we had already booked our room, I read the terrible reviews posted on Trip Advisor by previous guests. I was really expecting the worst when we arrived, especially when I saw the attached liquor store, but was pleasantly surprised at how satisfying it actually was. The hotel does need updating but it is mostly just an aesthetic issue. Nevertheless, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was more than helpful. They do not have air conditioning but neither do many of the shops or restaurants in town. The climate is so mild, we never would have needed it. Fans are provided in the rooms. There is an attached bar and restaurant (open breakfast through lunch), which was convenient although, not surprisingly, the food was very average. It can get noisy if you have a harbour-side room but no more than the screeching seagulls off the water. Parking is great. The location is one of the best in the city. We could walk just about everywhere. When you consider what you are paying (in an otherwise pricey city), this hotel is actually a great value. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs an update
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

I've been to Victoria many times, and try to stay somewhere different each time. Victoria is a smorgasbord of hotels, with something for every taste. That said, this Days Inn is the blandest, most mediocre place I've ever stayed in that charming city. For about $100 I got a room just over the front door, with a window that opened, but I certainly wouldn't leave it open, as there's a huge shared balcony just outside, and being a woman alone, it's just not safe. The room was small, the bathroom was small with a recently patched section of the wallpaper that looked amateurish. I wanted a fan and when I called the desk to ask for one (there's no airconditioning in this hotel) the front desk person questioned me as if I wanted it for some nefarious purpose. Finally he found one in the basement and I had to go to the front desk and lug it back to my room myself!

The "included breakfast" is coffee, juice and a roll. Because I wanted something more substantial, they knocked $4 off the bill.

The pool --which is directly off the lobby and completely visible TO anyone in the lobby -- was closed. The one internet computer they had wasn't working. I had the feeling this place just isn't very well managed or maintained.

On the plus side, it's ideally situated if you're coming in on the Clipper or the Black Ball Ferry -- right across the street from the terminal. Checkout is mercifully noon, rather than the 11 am of many hotels.

However, with the plethora of charming and truly unique hotels in Victoria, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lackadaisical attitude
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank VisitorTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We checked in to the Days Inn Victoria Harbour - and immediately checked out and found another place nearby with air conditioned rooms - The Admiral's Inn. Our very small assigned room at the Days Inn had no airconditioning ( there is none at this hotel ) and was unattractive and shabby and provides no complimentary breakfast in the summer. It was right on top of their outdoor restaurant . The cooking odors and noise from the crowds that gathered to hangout and drink beer spread for a distance along the street. Victoria is a small walking city and the harbour can be easily reached from most of the hotels - Avoid this hotel. The Admiral's Inn is a block from the Days Inn Victoria Habour - they have complimentary continental breakfast and free parking - but no swimming pool or health club on site. Our room there had 2 queen beds and also a full kitchen - some of their rooms have patios - and our negotiated rate was lower than at the Days Inn.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank fendifendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#12 of 49 in Victoria
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
896 reviews
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#19 of 49 in Victoria
598 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour

Property: Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Address: 427 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on Victoria's downtown Inner Harbour, walking distance to Convention Centre, Parliament Buildings, Beacon Hill Park, restaurants, shopping, attractions and more. Clean, comfortable guest rooms and an onsite restaurant/lounge, seasonal outdoor heated pool, year-round whirlpool, parking, complimentary high-speed Internet access, local calls, coffee/tea/kettle. Harbourview, Pet-friendly, and Kitchenette rooms available. Come and visit our beautiful Garden City, and we'll take care of the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour Hotel Victoria
Victoria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing