We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious breakfasts & accommodations but beware of the lack of locks and privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This B&B is in a lovely neighborhood and Joan offers very good breakfasts. What I found unnerving, and I left early because of it, was no lock on my door. I was traveling alone and was quite nervous to come home in the evening and find my room wide open! My private possessions were in the room and Joan was not around to explain what happened. I slept uneasily w/ a chair against the door and left the next day for another B&B. I can't imagine a couple or single woman as myself feeling comfortable in this situation. My room was also about 20 feet from the front door making this even more disconcerting!

Proceed w/ caution if you decide to stay here.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
4  Thank amandamaeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

We booked with Joan on the advice of a friend who stayed there previously. The house is gorgeous and historic. Joan has good taste and her decorating proves it. The beds are comfortable; the carpets thick and lush. Our son loved the comfort of the chaise lounge in our room and wanted to take it home. The house is bright and cheery during the day. The house is oh, so quiet in the evening, so we slept well. Joan made us a fabulous breakfast both mornings, which included farm-fresh strawberries. We like meeting the owners of B&Bs and we really enjoyed chatting with Joan. Joan is very warm and like a favorite aunt. We will definitely return on our next outing to Victoria. It is walkable from the Inner Harbour ferry terminal in case you don't have a car. Joan is new to computers, so it works better to call. Just be aware that she doesn't have voice mail.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cake_of_Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We found this B&B gem quite by accident and Wow! are we glad that we did. Joan, with her quirky sense of humour, made us feel very welcome as soon as we set foot in her wonderful home. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Her breakfasts are a feast not only for the eye but also the taste buds. Every detail is looked after. Joan even coordinates her china with the seasons! The breakfasts were so generous and delicious that we didn't need to eat again until evening. We enjoyed our time so much at The Priory that we changed our plans to go up island and decided to stay the rest of the week with Joan and take day trips from Victoria. Because she does not have a computer, one needs to phone her directly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
16
Reviewed December 1, 2005

We were in Victoria to see the Christmas lighting at Parliament and chose Joan's on the advice of a friend. We were treated like royalty. The house is historic, decorated impeccably and the hostess was divine. We were treated like family and was served a four star breakfast. Ask for the "Blue Room". We were truly saddened to leave. This is a jewel in Victoria for the discriminating traveler that does not wish to be accommodated in a run of the B&B. We are planning a return trip soon.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta GA
17
Reviewed July 11, 2004

Be careful with currency conversions. We booked this beautiful b and b for a wedding party and rehearsal dinner and were quoted prices over the phone. Calling a Canadian buisness, I assumed the currency was Canadian and was not told otherwise. I was informed that I would be charged American cash because of my 'voice on the phone' only upon time of payment. The Canadians in our party were given the significantly lower Canadian price. If you are looking for a relaxing b and b with not much intrusion, this might not be the place for you. We were reprimanded for not eating all of our food, or for defluffing the pillows, etc.. I might be switching back to hotels.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC
13
Reviewed March 24, 2003

We keep going back to this fabulous B&B. Superb rooms, hospitality and food!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,003 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,877 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 729 Pemberton Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Georgian Italianate mansion built in 1885 for the former Provincial Lieutenant Governor, E.G. Prior. Located less than 5 minutes by car from the centre of town and 2 blocks from Craigdarroch Castle and Government House. Beamed ceilings, highlighted with ornate plasterwork, elegantly furnished rooms with private baths will immediately make you feel welcome and comfortable. Lovely full breakfasts are served in the dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing