We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend of Joan's. We were uncomforable returning late at night as everyone appeared to be sleeping. We were disconcerted by the lack of locks on the door, TV, and telephone. The house is lovely and we were given the "grand tour". The breakfast while well presented was not to our taste.The room was very pricey and we spent very little time in the room.We were disappointed as the place had been presented to us as a superb accomodation. Sorry Joan we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank palmspringer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staying with Joan was a very pleasant experience, so much so that we changed our plans to stay longer. Excellent rooms and decor and the hostess was the icing on the cake. Will be planning a trip back just for a little escape from our Saskatchewan winter in very near future. Close to down town and easy to navigate around . House tour was great. Rooms very large and beds great , will be shopping for king size bed because of our stay with Joan . Breakfast on fine china and silverware was a great treat, food and preparation was superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Joan is a wonderful hostess, a great cook, and a lot of fun. This is my favourite place to stay in Victoria. Joan's mansion ( called " The Priory" ) is in the historical Rockland neighborhood a few steps away from Government House, the Governor General's official residence. If you are at all interested in local history, or just want to see what life was like in bygone times, you will like The Priory. And I can't say enough about Joan's wonderful hospitality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I recently travelled to Vancouver Island and had the good fortune to book a room at Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast in Victoria. The house was magnificent, the rates reasonable, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast plentiful and delicious. But visiting with Joan was our highlight! This delightful woman regaled us with stories for hours. We enjoyed happy hour with her and her beloved Corgi, Teddy on her shaded patio. We laughed and lost track of time. She is a lovely woman who embodied (at least for us) Canadian hospitality.
She acted as concierge by telling us of restaurants and attractions near and far and even offered to book the reservations. She also helped us with Ferry arrangements for an early departure. Like I said: She is a treasure!

Room Tip: Call and personally speak with Joan to ensure the best room available. She will treat you well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Joan Brown's B&B is a real treat . With its appealing location near downtown Victoria , its exquisite furnishings, warm hospitality and breakfast fit for a king .. you get your moneys worth !
A great way to treat somebody special !

Room Tip: each room is unique and you might have your pick if you book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Joan’s this past October. It is a grand home beautifully decorated and full of charm. The rooms are comfortable and the food and atmosphere is superb. The experience made us feel like we were truly getting away. The B&B is located near Government House and within walking distance of downtown. Joan is a wonderful host! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandC172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The most fun ever in a B and B! Joan is as much a treasure as her magnificent Edwardian home. The perfect location, in a beautiful neighbourhood close to downtown filled with gorgeous old stately homes. Quiet, clean, super comfy bed. I had a room fit for a princess. She made the weekend truly memorable. I can't wait to return - Now I will always have a reason to visit Victoria!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,786 reviews
Prior Castle Inn
#27 of 92 in Victoria
20 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#5 of 92 in Victoria
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#25 of 92 in Victoria
30 reviews
Beaconsfield Inn
#12 of 92 in Victoria
448 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 92 in Victoria
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 729 Pemberton Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing