We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Joan is a wonderful hostess, a great cook, and a lot of fun. This is my favourite place to stay in Victoria. Joan's mansion ( called " The Priory" ) is in the historical Rockland neighborhood a few steps away from Government House, the Governor General's official residence. If you are at all interested in local history, or just want to see what life was like in bygone times, you will like The Priory. And I can't say enough about Joan's wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I recently travelled to Vancouver Island and had the good fortune to book a room at Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast in Victoria. The house was magnificent, the rates reasonable, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast plentiful and delicious. But visiting with Joan was our highlight! This delightful woman regaled us with stories for hours. We enjoyed happy hour with her and her beloved Corgi, Teddy on her shaded patio. We laughed and lost track of time. She is a lovely woman who embodied (at least for us) Canadian hospitality.
She acted as concierge by telling us of restaurants and attractions near and far and even offered to book the reservations. She also helped us with Ferry arrangements for an early departure. Like I said: She is a treasure!

Room Tip: Call and personally speak with Joan to ensure the best room available. She will treat you well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Joan Brown's B&B is a real treat . With its appealing location near downtown Victoria , its exquisite furnishings, warm hospitality and breakfast fit for a king .. you get your moneys worth !
A great way to treat somebody special !

Room Tip: each room is unique and you might have your pick if you book early.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Joan’s this past October. It is a grand home beautifully decorated and full of charm. The rooms are comfortable and the food and atmosphere is superb. The experience made us feel like we were truly getting away. The B&B is located near Government House and within walking distance of downtown. Joan is a wonderful host! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandC172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The most fun ever in a B and B! Joan is as much a treasure as her magnificent Edwardian home. The perfect location, in a beautiful neighbourhood close to downtown filled with gorgeous old stately homes. Quiet, clean, super comfy bed. I had a room fit for a princess. She made the weekend truly memorable. I can't wait to return - Now I will always have a reason to visit Victoria!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is an amazing gem of a place to stay. Joan is a friendly, hospitable hostess who serves delicious full course breakfasts. Great value in a wonderful location for walking, visiting tourist attractions and getting downtown. This heritage home is full of antiques and fresh flowers and wonderful architecture, including a lovely sitting room off the dining room with beautiful floor to ceiling original stain glass windows. Teddy and Charlie, Joan's friendly corgis, are great greeters.
Our bedroom on the main floor was just fabulous. King bed, huge room with high ceilings and elaborate, comfortable furnishings was so luxurious and inviting and quiet. Just what we needed for our stay!! We would certainly recommend this B&B and will go back again as soon as we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The large room on the main floor is absolutely amazing! King bed, huge wonderfully decorated room w...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Visiting Joan Brown's is like coming back home. A warm and elegant bed and breakfast that makes "old fashion" a virtue. Not only is the b&b in a wonderful old mansion in a quiet residential neighborhood but Joan Brown is a mixture of your favorite aunt and your best friend. Whenever we hear of someone visiting Victoria we insist they stay with her!
And the breakfasts!! Beautifully set in a warm and sunlit dinning room, breakfast is a feast for the eyes and stomach alike.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HareWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Prior Castle Inn
#26 of 92 in Victoria
23 reviews
James Bay
Heathergate House B&B
Heathergate House B&B
#17 of 92 in Victoria
59 reviews
Beaconsfield Inn
#13 of 92 in Victoria
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#3 of 92 in Victoria
282 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
270 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 729 Pemberton Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $73 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing