We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Getaway”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Joan’s this past October. It is a grand home beautifully decorated and full of charm. The rooms are comfortable and the food and atmosphere is superb. The experience made us feel like we were truly getting away. The B&B is located near Government House and within walking distance of downtown. Joan is a wonderful host! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandC172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The most fun ever in a B and B! Joan is as much a treasure as her magnificent Edwardian home. The perfect location, in a beautiful neighbourhood close to downtown filled with gorgeous old stately homes. Quiet, clean, super comfy bed. I had a room fit for a princess. She made the weekend truly memorable. I can't wait to return - Now I will always have a reason to visit Victoria!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is an amazing gem of a place to stay. Joan is a friendly, hospitable hostess who serves delicious full course breakfasts. Great value in a wonderful location for walking, visiting tourist attractions and getting downtown. This heritage home is full of antiques and fresh flowers and wonderful architecture, including a lovely sitting room off the dining room with beautiful floor to ceiling original stain glass windows. Teddy and Charlie, Joan's friendly corgis, are great greeters.
Our bedroom on the main floor was just fabulous. King bed, huge room with high ceilings and elaborate, comfortable furnishings was so luxurious and inviting and quiet. Just what we needed for our stay!! We would certainly recommend this B&B and will go back again as soon as we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The large room on the main floor is absolutely amazing! King bed, huge wonderfully decorated room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Visiting Joan Brown's is like coming back home. A warm and elegant bed and breakfast that makes "old fashion" a virtue. Not only is the b&b in a wonderful old mansion in a quiet residential neighborhood but Joan Brown is a mixture of your favorite aunt and your best friend. Whenever we hear of someone visiting Victoria we insist they stay with her!
And the breakfasts!! Beautifully set in a warm and sunlit dinning room, breakfast is a feast for the eyes and stomach alike.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HareWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We've stayed at Joan Browns B and B every summer for 20 years. We love the rest, food and how well we are taken care of in an elegant home near gardens and the city.

The fresh marine air and think, quite timbers of this old house makes sleep a joy. Then there is breakfast to look forward to. The table is impressively set with fine China and fresh flowers from the garden. Joan is a genius with food.
We eat out often and have traveled the world. Joan Brown prepares the most enjoyable dishes possible. Always special and delicious.

We enjoy walking two blocks to Government House and one of the best gardens in Canada.

Joan is like an aunt of grandma you never had. Her two Corgi dogs are like Queen Ezliabeth's dogs and a big part of the family.

Don't even think of staying anyplace else in Victoria. What you get for the value of the price is very satisfying. Sure there are more expensive places and fancier hotels, but for a quiet, elegant home with superb meals cooked just for you, you will not be disappointed. That's why we go every year (and one year twice.)

No locks on the doors? So what. Do you have a lock on your bedroom door at home? Put valuables in the trunk of your car.

Room Tip: Book by a phone call and ask questions to be sure you get the room that you want and understand the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stay at Joan's B&B whenever I come to Victoria to visit family. It is hands down the most welcoming, enjoyable, tasteful and delicious place I've ever stayed. The lovely decor, grand bedrooms, and plethora of antiques make you feel like you're living in high style. And the breakfasts... don't get me started about the breakfasts. They have to be seen (or eaten) to be believed. Joan herself is a marvellous host, witty and warm and a pleasure to banter with (and she mixes a mean Rob Roy).

The location is near downtown (a short car ride or a pleasant half hour walk), so you're close to everything you need. The grounds of the house are gorgeous, with beautiful flowers in season and the occasional frolic with Joan's two adorable Corgis.

I cannot recommend this place any more highly. It is an absolute pleasure and you should treat yourself to it.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siegfriedpalindrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My sisters and I decided to take our very first 'sister's vacation' in Victoria. We were greeted by Joan, as though we were family. She is as kind as she is gracious, and we loved her sense of humor. By the time we left, we all felt as though we had met our fairy Godmother, and we all wanted to adopt her!
We were all impressed with Joan's natural ability to cook and bake. She actually purchases many of her organic ingredients from local farms. The taste and the quality of the breakfasts she provides, rivals the best restaurants we have been in.
Even if she didn't provide the best food we had in all of Canada, we would still come back to see Joan....she's that special.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmetfoodgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#2 of 93 in Victoria
437 reviews
Prior Castle Inn
#35 of 93 in Victoria
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#6 of 93 in Victoria
254 reviews
James Bay
Robert Porter House B&B
Robert Porter House B&B
#26 of 93 in Victoria
48 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 729 Pemberton Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Joan Brown's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing