We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis
2 reviews
“Beyond Expectations!”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

My mom, sister and myself stayed in the Floral Suite for two nights on our girls Vacation! It was beyond expectations! This Victorian Home is lovely and very cozy. The food was fabulous! And the caretakers were lovely people! Can't say enough good things. The location was wonderful too and within walking distance from all the sites. Hope to go back someday with my husband! I highly reccommend.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank AuntieBeestl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
163
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2008

The Romance Package offered by the Humboldt house provided everything that we needed for a weekend love retreat. Innkeeper/ chef David Booth greeted us at the door and met all of our requests (even a last minute request for soy milk with our breakfast coffee). We believe that our choice of the Oriental room was a fabulous one! The uniquely flavored room, complete with fireplace, jacuzzi and King Bed made us feel like royalty. We loved going for a 2nd floor room for an added level of intimacy. While snow fell outside of our window, the in room fireside massage was incredible. Breakfast crepes and poached eggs were a fabulous choice. We loved our horse and carriage ride through the neighboring park followed by a truly satisfying dinner at Camilles. As a final note, we highly recommend a stop at Sea Cider to finish out your trip and enjoy a unique twist on the art of hard cider production and tasting. Overall, a fabulous trip, and we look forward to future stays at the Humboldt House!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No separate shower
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmurph125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2008

A really nice place. It was quiet, efficient, and it had everything that was advertised plus more. The package was efficient as well, with no scheduling problems or any other oopses.

The restaurants that we chose as part of our romance package were good, the massage was nice, and the horse drawn carriage ride was a nice end to a good day.

The food was excellent, especially the coffee, which to me is an important part of breakfast, the only small quibble that I had with that was an allergy to an ingredient that wasn't specified on the menu. I could have asked, but it would have been nice to make available an ingredient list when ordering.

The only other small thing was that the soaker tub had a defective jet that kept popping out. Not a big deal!

A really nice, quiet and relaxing place to stay if you want to put your feet up.

Jeff and Corissa Briggs

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank kasloshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We went to the Humboldt House for our honeymoon because I wanted a romantic, Victorian experience in the city I love most. When we got to our room called 'The Celebration Room', I was spellbound. It was absolutely gorgeous. I am big on ambience and this place has oodles of it. The canopy bed, the fireplace, a huge jacuzzi bathtub, champagne and chocolates waiting for us...everything was perfect. They had even put a CD player in the room with a lovely mix of easy listening CD's, which added to the romantic feeling.

There were four breakfasts to choose from and we chose the Eggs Benedict. It arrived in a big picnic basket through a little, private 'door' that was built in a way so we would not have to even see the person who brought it. The food was homemade and completely scrumptious!

Our experience was so perfect that we went back there to celebrate our first anniversary. We will be back again!! Of that I am sure!

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
Thank SingingPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Humboldt House B&B and we were impressed! We were greeted at the door by innkeeper David Booth and shown into the beautiful parlor where we enjoyed some delicious cookies before heading out to explore Victoria (we returned to the parlor quite often during our stay to grab a few sweet treats). We returned that evening to enjoy our room (the Gazebo Room), complete with a two person jacuzzi tub, bottle of champagne, truffles and wood burning fireplace. The view from the room is beautiful as well. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Our favorite part was the breakfast delivered at our requested time each morning. It's delivered in a basket into a small cupboard which we accessed from inside, therefore never having to leave the comfort of our room. It was great to fall out of bed and enjoy a scrumptious breakfast by the window...in our pajamas! The food was excellent - homemade croissants and muffins, fruit, french toast, fresh squeezed OJ, etc. (you choose from four different selections the night before). We thoroughly enjoyed the little touches included in the basket - the lace trimmed place mats, cloth napkins, etc.

Our stay was truly exceptional and we definitely hope to visit again.

  • Liked — Great food, hospitable innkeeper, beautiful/comfortable room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank merryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Humboldt House and the great folks who run it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and impeccably clean. The jacuzzi tub is awesome! David Booth, the innkeeper, is as kind as can be, is always available and keen to help however he can. Humboldt House is most conveniently located, an easy walk to downtown, the ocean and Beacon Hill Park. David is a master baker and prepares the most delicious breakfasts, delivered to the door so you can enjoy breakfast in bed! Also, his divinely decadent hand-made truffles are simply amazing! He will be happy to provide excellent recommendations for dining and entertainment around town. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Victoria. Do yourself a favour and book your stay at this wonderful, wonderful B&B!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejaspriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We absolutely LOVE the Humboldt House and Edward's Suite!! It has to be one of the most romantic spots in downtown Victoria. The Innkeeper is wonderfully helpful and makes our anniversary celebration better each year. The ingenious private method of delivering breakfast to the room, cozy bed, fireplace, and jacuzzi spa tub with the bay window are so much fun!! All this and just two blocks to the heart of the city. My husband and I give it two thumbs up!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank RSStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,600 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing