We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Humboldt House-HIGHLY recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
1 review
“Loved the Humboldt House-HIGHLY recommend it”
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Humboldt House B&B and we were impressed! We were greeted at the door by innkeeper David Booth and shown into the beautiful parlor where we enjoyed some delicious cookies before heading out to explore Victoria (we returned to the parlor quite often during our stay to grab a few sweet treats). We returned that evening to enjoy our room (the Gazebo Room), complete with a two person jacuzzi tub, bottle of champagne, truffles and wood burning fireplace. The view from the room is beautiful as well. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Our favorite part was the breakfast delivered at our requested time each morning. It's delivered in a basket into a small cupboard which we accessed from inside, therefore never having to leave the comfort of our room. It was great to fall out of bed and enjoy a scrumptious breakfast by the window...in our pajamas! The food was excellent - homemade croissants and muffins, fruit, french toast, fresh squeezed OJ, etc. (you choose from four different selections the night before). We thoroughly enjoyed the little touches included in the basket - the lace trimmed place mats, cloth napkins, etc.

Our stay was truly exceptional and we definitely hope to visit again.

  • Liked — Great food, hospitable innkeeper, beautiful/comfortable room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank merryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
162
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Humboldt House and the great folks who run it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and impeccably clean. The jacuzzi tub is awesome! David Booth, the innkeeper, is as kind as can be, is always available and keen to help however he can. Humboldt House is most conveniently located, an easy walk to downtown, the ocean and Beacon Hill Park. David is a master baker and prepares the most delicious breakfasts, delivered to the door so you can enjoy breakfast in bed! Also, his divinely decadent hand-made truffles are simply amazing! He will be happy to provide excellent recommendations for dining and entertainment around town. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Victoria. Do yourself a favour and book your stay at this wonderful, wonderful B&B!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejaspriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We absolutely LOVE the Humboldt House and Edward's Suite!! It has to be one of the most romantic spots in downtown Victoria. The Innkeeper is wonderfully helpful and makes our anniversary celebration better each year. The ingenious private method of delivering breakfast to the room, cozy bed, fireplace, and jacuzzi spa tub with the bay window are so much fun!! All this and just two blocks to the heart of the city. My husband and I give it two thumbs up!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank RSStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Wonderful bed and breakfast in Victoria! I couldnt have asked for more. Extremely friendly proprietors, excellent breakfast, served wonderfully packaged in a picnic basket and served privately to your room at the requested time for a lovely breakfast in bed experience. Rooms were large, tidy and luxurious. Homemade truffles awaiting you were a lovely touch!

Can't wait to return! Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debdenola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2007

If you like the intimacy of a B&B, but don't like an eating schedule or dining with strangers, then Humboldt House is for you! It's a quaint Victorian house, walking distance to everything, and each room is decorated differently and I believe has a Jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The best part is the breakfast! You write your order down the night before (i.e., what time, and what you like to eat and drink.) The next morning, you hear a knock on your door at your designated time to let you know your breakfast has arrived, you open a cupboard and your breakfast is in a picnic basket. They have pass-throughs from the hallway to each room so you never have to see anyone
or leave your room for breakfast! And the food is great! I had the crepes each morning. We'll be staying there again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank EquityRefugees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Dan and I have stayed at the Humboldt House three times since February, as we attend the opera. We've thoroughly enjoyed our stay each time. David is a most gracious and accommodating host. Breakfasts are absolutely divine, especially the Eggs Benedict!! The rooms are tastefully decorated with wonderfully relaxing jacuzzi tubs. Also, special touches like chocolate truffles and champagne in the rooms upon arrival make the Humboldt House truly unique. We can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Fabulous room! Fabulous breakfasts! Excellent downtown Victoria location. My only minor criticism is that we never once laid eyes on our keepers! We let ourselves in with a secret code; we received our food through a cubby-hole in the wall and a knock that it was there. We never saw another soul in two days!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydocBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing