We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could not have been more perfect!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I spent our 28th anniversary weekend in the Celebration room at the Humboldt House. David is an excellent and welcoming host. We were greeted and shown to our room. There were truffles awaiting us, and a small bottle of champagne. The Celebration room is large and quiet. The fireplace was ready to light, and there were candles for lighting. The double jacuzzi is very comfortable, as was the bed. There was a CD player with several CDs to choose from to set whatever mood you wanted to set. We slept soundly and comfortably. The room is perfect for a romantic night. In the morning, at our requested time, our breakfast was delivered to our room via a small private cupboard. We had placed our breakfast orders the evening before. Over the two days we tried the continental breakfast, the smoked salmon and shrimp crepe, and the eggs benedict. Everything was delicious, and came with a variety of fresh fruit and fruit juice. We also enjoyed coffee and tea. The location is perfect. It is very quiet, right next to St. Ann's Academy. It's less than 10 minutes walk into downtown Victoria's shopping district, and less than 10 minutes to Beacon Hill Park. David was very helpful in recommending a restaurant for our anniversary dinner, and he made the reservation for us. It was a perfect choice, and we had a wonderful meal. We look forward to staying at Humboldt House in the future and maybe checking out one of the other rooms, although I can't see how they could be better than the Celebration room!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringStranger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
162
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After a night at a standard hotel, we cancelled our two remaining nights and opted for the Humboldt House.

We stayed in Edwards Room. This is a nice room, the least expensive, facing Humboldt but still remarkably quiet. The jetted tub for two was the highlight.

The breakfast was tasty - we tried the crepes, the Benny and the continental and all was good. I have had better breakfasts at other B&Bs but it was certainly good. The odd thing was how it is served. It arrives to your room through a pass-through box at a time predetermined by you. The sign-up sheet is in the lobby the day before and you can choose what you want and what time you want to receive it. Eating in your bedroom would be okay if you had a table or tray to eat off - but in the absence of that you are eating off your lap or sitting on the floor.

Though the tub and breakfast were good I don't think we'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, B.C.
Level Contributor
343 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice breakfasts vary from day to day, served in one's room. Great location - close to the Royal BC museum,the Empress Hotel, the harbour and downtown. The house is on two busy streets, so the rooms are not totally quiet but this did not bother me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonTSmithers_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I visited the Humboldt House for our honeymoon in June. Can't say enough about how perfect of place this was for a honeymoon. From the calm ambiance and wood-burning fireplace already set up for you, to the private breakfast delivered through the small cubby in the wall and sparkling wine and truffles waiting for you upon your arrival. The location is also perfect. Just a few blocks from the harbor (all the tourist attractions), and a few blocks the other direction to the tranquil Beacon Hill Park (that is, if you want to leave the amazing rooms). David was also a terrific host. Non-obtrusive, but constantly available if you need anything or have questions about anything in town. He is calm and quiet, just like the Humboldt House, but makes for a great conversationalist when you are not busy running around Victoria. Everything was just perfect.

Room Tip: Mikado room was the only room along the main hallway of the house, but still extremely quiet and sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tce711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

First and foremost, the location this B&B can't be beat. Just a short walk from the empress building and all the fun of downtown. It's far enough away though to feel private and away from the hustle and bustle. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. We loved our room (we stayed in the Oriental room) which was very large, peaceful and comfortable. Our favorite features of the Inn is that they deliver your homemade breakfast right to your room via a 2 way cubby - they actually slide a basket of your food, coffee, orange juice, croissants etc in a little cubby/locker area that they access via a locked door in the hallway. Then you can simply open the other side from the room and enjoy - soooo cool! Secondly, we loved the big whirlpool bathtub. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapfunk187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This B&B is within easy walking distance to harbour and evening dinning. There is a welcoming sparkling wine and truffles and sherry in the lounge for guests. The room we had was spacious and well appointed. Your choice of breakfast is brought to you in your room. This is different but works well. We would recommend the eggs benedict which come with fruit and croissants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

What an amazing B&B! We are from the area and just needed a quick get-away and the Humboldt House was the perfect spot! The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. The truffles upon arrival were delcious. The breakfast was delievered to our door at our requested time and could not have tasted better. We will be back again and again!

Room Tip: Windsor Room was on ground floor so we weren't concerned about people below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,523 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,178 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing