We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Harold Rocks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B. C. Whale Watching Tours

B. C. Whale Watching Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.45*
and up
Winter Whales and Wildlife Tour in Vancouver Island
Ranked #3 of 104 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BC Whale Tours is a superior whale watching tour. Our newly built boats, which have been designed only for wildlife/whale watching are the most comfortable and exciting vessels in Victoria, BC. BC LUNA has inside and an outside seat for each passenger and is our Queen of the Fleet - unmatched in all weather conditions. BC TIKA is the new open 40ft open zodiac, which has more space and room then any other vessel on the West Coast. Its speed & smoothness is unbeatable & is the FASTEST Zodiac-style Vessel in the Industry. Whilst, BC ORCA is another partly covered Zodiacs, which has a private washroom & has the Lowest Carbon Foot Print for powered vessels in the Victorian Whale Watching Fleet. All of our vessels have private washrooms and have the highest safety rating. All Whale Watching trips have our Whale Guarantee Program.Our Captains have been in the business for over 15 years and knows the whales and the beautiful west coast very well. The company has the best whale sighting record during the season. Due to the impressive design of our vessels we are able to run year-round.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Captain Harold Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Even though the weather was against us the first day, we came back the second day for a trip because of how damn friendly the Captain was! You can also tell he really cares about the ocean wildlife and limiting the ecological impact of his vessels.

We knew there wasn't much of a chance of seeing whales in such stormy weather again, but the opportunity (my first time out west) couldn't be resisted! Alas, the weather failed us once more, but Harold was so enthusiastic to take the 700hp BC Tika out that we were able to check out its legs and whip all around the harbour and beyond. It was amazing! The speed and the thrill were like no other, and with only 3 of us on board, we had a blast. I'm going to be back in the area in the summer and would - without a doubt - come back to BC Whale Tours. Thanks, Harold!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCWhaleTours, Owner at B. C. Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks, Natalie!

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience as much as I did. I am looking forward to taking you out again this Summer!

Captain Harold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    34
    11
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing, awesome, best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a tour booked by our hotel. We arrived at BC whale tours early. We inquired about taking my grand-daughters stroller on the boat. They were very accommodating. The captain was amazing he explained the difference between resident pods and transite pods of whales. He explained to us what to look out for in the water to help spot the 2 different whales we might see. He first took us to an area with a lot if sea lions. Then through communication with other boats we were able to see a pod if transiet orcas. I believe there was 5 or 6 we followed them and caught up with them when they disappeared
It was an amazing, experience that I would recommend to anyone. The company and captain was awesome and come highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Wonderingalbertian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCWhaleTours, Manager at B. C. Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on your experience on BC LUNA with BC Whale Tours. We appreciate your feedback and love taking people out on the water to see and learn about the local ecosystem and our beloved whales/Orca that frequent this coastline. We look forward to seeing you again another time and giving you another life lasting memories to share with family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“Animal Friendly Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was impressed with B. C. Whale Tours. The owners have thought through the ecological impact of their tour. They have selected equipment that has the least impact on the environment and the sea life. The captain of our tour was very knowledgeable of the wild life and the government regulations that are in place to protect the animals as they migrate along the coast. He pointed out how other tour boats in the area were not following the government regulations. There is no guarantee that you will see whales on your tour, but once again, the captain was very well informed and knew of good locations. We were fortunate the weather was nice. Three hours on the water can be a long time to be outside on a boat. Luckily, B. C. Whale Tours has boats with cabins. We followed a pod of Orca for about an hour. Stepping inside to warm up was nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“fastest boat in Canada!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and my friend recently traveled to Canada and decided to go Whale Watching whilst in Victoria. There are a lot of companies (almost 10 in total!!) so we did a heap of research and asked around about all of the different companies. We choose BC Whale Tours because of their amazing boats and they have a guarantee! We absolutely loved it!! We saw Orca, Humpbacks and sea lions too. The boat (I think it was called tika) was incredible, the fastest boat in Victoria!! We got comfy, warm suits & had the most amazing time. Our captain was amazing, so knowledgable & entertaining.

We recommend everyone to go with this company! Was worth every dollar & we will definitely go with them again next time we are in Canada

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank happylife97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Boats! Great Captain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spectacular day whale watching with bc whale tours. Our boat was extremely comfortable with great views from every seat. Our captain was very knowledgeable and was able to answer everyone's questions easily. Seeing the orca's ply through the water was magical and an experience everyone on the west coast should see. I will recommend BC whale tours to all visitors who come and stay with me in Victoria.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B. C. Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to B. C. Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing