We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, minimal customer service but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Regency Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated, minimal customer service but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The best part of the Bedford Regency was the location. Right in the heart of downtown Victoria and the harbour front. Parking is several blocks away and we weren't warned that "after hours" (Sunday morning before 11am) we would have to make arrangements with the front desk to gain entry. Room was very dated and did not match the photos online on their website. Very strange layout with a bi-folding door to close off the bathroom. That being said the room was fairly clean and quiet. Elevator unfortunately as broken during our stay so we had to walk up several stories with all of our bags.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20ACNash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    153
    83
    45
    23
See reviews for
85
153
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had arranged for an Alaskan cruise out of Vancouver and decided to spend a couple days in Victoria, mostly to visit Butchart Gardens. We did not rent a car and wanted to stay within walking distance of down town. We chose the Bedford for its location. What a cute place it is. Nestled among stores and restaurants, it reminded me of an old English Inn. The room was adequate in size and super clean. No concierge or bell service, but the front desk clerk was very helpful and gave us useful information. Right next door is a wonderful coffee shop with delicious pastries and croissants. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concierge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The one and only thing this hotel has going for it is location - right downtown on Douglas, between the Bard & Banker and the Irish Times pubs. A loading zone out front where 2 cars could park if anyone thought of anyone other than themselves, which didn't happen on arrival or departure. Parking was extra, 3 blocks away. Pink hallways and in the rooms - perhaps was supposed to look heritage but instead just looked tacky. Claustrophobic room, although it was amazingly quiet at night. Rather unfriendly counter staff - did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Had to ask for the wifi code, which then did not work - couldn't be bothered to complain as I was only there one night. Got this is a last minute "deal" on Hotwire - it would be a real joke to pay the regular posted rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location couldn't be better. Found free parking on the street Room was clean - double bed only, but fairly comfortable with character. Air conditioning wasn't working that well - so room was a little warm. But pretty quiet. Will stay there again. Fridge and bar area. Wood burning fireplace in the room would be nice in winter. Pub downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chowaniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The best location ever, located in the middle of downtown in front of the shopping centre and near all turistic attractions, restaurants, coffee and gift shops!
The hotel is not that big and luxury, but is very comfortable and clean!
The room was little, the bed was really comfortable with comfortable pilows as well. Me and my fiance stayed on a quiet room, with quite air conditioner!
Shower space was tiny, but the shower was warm and good!!
The wifi was a little slow!
The service was ok, no complaints! Staff are kind!
Tottaly recomend!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thiagoluvizoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here for three nights and four days in the Standard room. The location was amazing, as my fiance and I could walk most of the places that we wanted to go. It is definitely noisy, as there is a pub really close by, so sleep was a little tough in our room. Entering the hotel, the building looks pretty cool with a lot of character.

The service was average. No complaints.

The standard room was too small for my fiance and I. The sink was in the main living space instead of the bathroom, which I found to be a little weird. The shower area was really narrow, so if you're a couple who likes to shower together, this definitely would not work for the two of you, as it only fits one person. If you're traveling alone though, the standard room I feel would do. If I go back to Victoria, I would definitely spend more money on a better room.

The building itself is old, but it has it's charm.

Overall, I think I would have enjoyed my stay here more if I was in a better room. I think what makes this hotel great is the location. It definitely played a big part on our little vacation. Super convenient.

Room Tip: If you are sharing a room, I do not recommend the standard room. I would go with the next biggest op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the room facility . We will definitely review with our team and improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bedford Regency Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday harbor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

we got a nice suite on the top floor which was romantically perfect! A real wood burning fireplace,, not a fake one like more expensive hotels. 2 big bay windows to sit in with a view of downtown/harbor. super cozy room, comfortable bed, and everything very clean. There is truth in what some reviews say, but do you really care if the lobby is under construction but your room is fine no phone, actually I couldn't tell you as we carry cells. We heard some street noise and strains of the musicians on corner, who we then went down and tipped as we enjoyed their music. If you stay in a hotel in a busy city on the 1st to 4th floor you are going to hear noise, part of the package! we had a fridge, champagne, coffee maker and all we needed in room. Yes there was a few funky things, but you are staying in a very old building with character, look at it that way! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: request top floor with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orenpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bedford Regency Hotel. It is our pleasure to have you stay here and providing a great feedback for us. We are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Strathcona Hotel
#37 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Downtown
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
#28 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Property: Bedford Regency Hotel
Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing