We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Regency Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed March 27, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 497 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We chose the Bedford Regency for the location. Its within walking distance to almost everything downtown Victoria. The parking lot is down the street a wee bit and at a cost of $11.00 a day.
The staff were very friendly & helpful.
We were pleasantly surprised with our room. Quite spacious, clean and has everything you need for your weekend stay.
Beds were comfy and the linen clean and soft.
Only a couple of negative things, the shower could use some fresh grouting, it was looking a lil grimy, and they need a power bar, it was a lil awkward trying to make coffee in the morning and finding a plug in. ended up putting the coffee maker on the night table to brew coffee in the am.
But over all, it was a great stay, and next time we are in Victoria we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Bedford Regency Hotel. It is our pleasure to have you stay here and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stay here when in Victoria because we like the location and style of the place. The staff are great also. It's an old hotel but we like that. Nice beds, wi-fi and tv, adequate bathrooms. Parking is easy but not complimentary. It suits our good experience factor.

Room Tip: Street rooms can be noisy on week-end nights, get one courtside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyD673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Bedford Regency Hotel. It is our pleasure to have you stay here and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

First, let me say that this hotel would not be for everyone. But if you appreciate something other than a sterile, concrete tower with standard, modern amenities, you might really enjoy the Bedford Regency. We did! We had room 34. When we first opened the door to our room, we were a bit taken aback by the layout of the room, the big old bedstead, the various built-ins, 2 sinks across the room from each other, etc. Kinda quirky! However, we started to notice how much history is in this old hotel. The built-ins by the sink were actually very useful - most modern hotel bathrooms leave no room to place a cosmetic bag! The room was spotless and smelled really nice and clean too. We sat in the tub chairs by the window (no view except across the alley to another wing of the hotel) and shared some wine before heading out for the evening. It just felt very cozy. The location is fantastic and appropriate that it would be located on historic Government Street. We had a Christmas party to attend at the Keg just around the corner and ended the night at the Bard & Banker Pub, almost next door. Really convenient walking distance to many of Victoria's attractions. We found the bed to be very comfortable and commented on how soft the linens were. No nasty old bedspreads here - all white sheets and duvets. The bathroom was not the usual hotel layout either - no bathtub, but double shower heads in a large, tiled shower stall. Also spotless. You can tell the hotel has likely had many upgrades and renovations over the years to try and keep up with the expectations of the modern traveler. All in all, for the price, we found the Bedford Regency to be an excellent value and an interesting old hotel - we'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmac5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Walking distance of everywhere! It's old and tired but very clean. The main thing is the bathroom which really needs updating. This is my second stay here and the room overall (24) was better than last time which had an odd layout but in both cases the bathrooms were really past their use by....There is a quaintness about the hotel which it would be a shame to lose but a modernising of these facilities would make all the difference. I found my room very quiet, a comfortable temperature despite the fact it was snowing outside, a comfortable bed and plenty of light. One thing was missing - a full length mirror.
Murchies next door is excellent for morning coffee, light lunch or afternoon tea. I didn't sample the coffee in the foyer of the hotel - I found this area rather unappealing. I did however try out the Garrick pub on the other side of the hotel and was unimpressed with the food and was told by the waitress that she had to put out the fire as they didn't have enough logs for the next day!
I would recommend for business travellers who are not looking for luxury but want a central, clean good value place to stay with wifi

Room Tip: Ask to avoid rooms with a 'partition'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray_Joybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We've stayed here a few years ago, but felt it was hanging on by a thread and started staying elsewhere in Victoria. But time goes by and a Groupon was very attractive, so we booked a couple of nights here and are we glad we did! I suspect the place is under new management since our earlier stays. One thing you have to accept: the place is quirky. We love that. Our room was absolutely spotless and we did not have any problem at all with noise from the street or from other guests. We had a small suite with a fireplace and wood and kindling ready for us to light. Books in the bookshelves!! The wireless was excellent. Lots of hot water and a jacuzzi-type bathtub. Lots of fluffy towels. Our small bedroom was clean (the whole place was very clean). Flat screen TV. Excellent housekeeping. We appreciated the reading lights at both sides of the bed. All in all, a very pleasant stay. We'd happily recommend this older hotel to anyone - and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived early at the Bedford Regency and the front desk was able to check us in early to room 45. We asked for 2 queen beds and the room was very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable but our neighbour was extremely noisy (perhaps walls are very thin). We could hear their TV, conversation and flushing of toilets so bring ear plugs if you want quiet. Windows are able to open so you can get fresh air. Washroom is a little outdated but very clean. We didn't spend time in our room but the location was excellent. Walking distance to the Bay (shopping), parliament buildings, inner harbour, restaurants, Chinatown, the Empress Hotel for high tea and Harbour Air by the wharf. Safe area to walk and there is a pub next door so very convenient. Ask for a superior room that faces the water instead of downtown - Government Street, for sure rooms will be quieter. If you'd like to see Victoria in 2 days this is the place to stay. I highly recommend the Bedford.

Irene and Heidi from Vancouver, B.C.

Room Tip: Room 45 or ask for a superior room that faces the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabo154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
260 reviews
The Strathcona Hotel
#37 of 46 in Victoria
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 46 in Victoria
230 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $65 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing