We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Regency Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived early at the Bedford Regency and the front desk was able to check us in early to room 45. We asked for 2 queen beds and the room was very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable but our neighbour was extremely noisy (perhaps walls are very thin). We could hear their TV, conversation and flushing of toilets so bring ear plugs if you want quiet. Windows are able to open so you can get fresh air. Washroom is a little outdated but very clean. We didn't spend time in our room but the location was excellent. Walking distance to the Bay (shopping), parliament buildings, inner harbour, restaurants, Chinatown, the Empress Hotel for high tea and Harbour Air by the wharf. Safe area to walk and there is a pub next door so very convenient. Ask for a superior room that faces the water instead of downtown - Government Street, for sure rooms will be quieter. If you'd like to see Victoria in 2 days this is the place to stay. I highly recommend the Bedford.

Irene and Heidi from Vancouver, B.C.

Room Tip: Room 45 or ask for a superior room that faces the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabo154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 497 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights and booked a superior room with the jacuzzi bath along with the opportunity to use an open fire.

The hotel is centrally located in town within easy walking distance of the shopping areas and waterfront.

However, we were disappointed with the room. It desperately needs some tlc.

The curtains were thin and badly fitted. The bed was fairly comfortable but had a strange mattress protector which meant that the bottom sheet became very ruched.

The layout was strange with badly fitting sliding doors to the bathroom which were right next to the bed. We didn't try the jacuzzi bath as the enamel was badly stained and quite unappealing. Shower nice and hot but really dislike those that have separate taps that require you to fiddle in order to get the right temperature.

The wireless was free and very effective. Reasonably sized TV but beware that remote difficult to operate if you are sitting on the bed as the TV is too far away.

We wouldn't stay there again, think you pay a premium for the location rather than the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotttyjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My second time at the Bedford Regency this year. I love the convenient location which is within easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The hotel has a few interesting quirks like an obscure glass door on the bathroom, and narrower than average doors and hallways. I had requested and was given a room well above the street to avoid traffic noise. The rooms were clean and had comfortable beds with extra pillows. The beds were well separated and there were also separate reading lamps for each bed which I really appreciated. The windows could be safely left opened for the fresh air that I prefer over a/c, also outside the windows were very nice flower boxes.

Room Tip: There is a pub downstairs so I ask for the 3rd or 4th floor for a quieter time, which also kept us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the middle of Government St. It is surrounded by pubs, stores, restaurants, the mall is across the street. A short walk away is the water, the Royal BC Museum and the nautical museum. It's close to the bus station and the pier. The Empress is only 5 blocks away. If you want to stay right in the middle of everything, then this hotel is perfect.
But it is an older boutique hotel. The rooms are very basic and I'm sure haven't been updated in a long time. We had a two queen room, since my husband and I are with my grandma. The foot of the beds faced each other, and the TV didn't face either bed. No sitting area, just an oversized desk. The bathroom is directly next to one of the beds and the door is some sort of etched glass or something. Sure, it's beautiful, but a little awkward when sharing a room. Because it's right in the heart of things, it's very loud at night. I heard people until after 2 AM outside, having a good time. It was on a Friday night and I should be embarrassed that I wasn't out there too. But the walls are thin and you can hear everything. Thanks to the close proximity to the water, the birds are very loud and active in the morning. And the curtains, which appear to be homemade cloth curtains, do not keep much light out. And the beds are not very comfortable and every time you move it sounds like it might snap in half.
But the check in process was easy, and they even let us check in early. And the hotel is very clean. There is a restaurant/pub that sounds really good but it was packed when we wanted to eat, so we had to go somewhere else.
I probably wouldn't stay here again, unless I was with other people that wanted to be close to everything without spending a lot of money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our second visit to Victoria, and both times we have stayed at the Bedford Regency hotel. The location is ideal for visitors, ---- you are right in the middle of everything. Surprisingly, (considering the location) we heard no street noise at night, and slept soundly. Our room was spacious and comfortable,---- although a little 'faded' and in need of some maintenance. We even had a fireplace, and couches to sit on. And the beautifully flowering pot plants on our window boxes were lovely. The staff were courteous and helpful.
Location, ----- Government Street has lots of wonderful, interesting shops. The large Hudson Bay department store is right across the road. There are many eateries within easy walking distance, and the harbor is only a short walk away. This hotel does not have the 'frills' associated with much larger and more modern establishments, ------ but then it doesn't have the higher prices either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatandJackNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this modest but well-appointed hotel. It's location is excellent for shopping and dining. The only drawback is that it's full-service restaurant doesn't offer breakfast, although there is an Artigiano's Cafe in the lobby if you just want coffee and a bun.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces and harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymilawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel doesn't have the shiny new feel of the rooms of a nationwide chain, so what? What it lacks in gigantic flat screen TVs it more than makes up for in a musty British charm and location. The room I had was spotless and very large with huge windows looking out on the rooftop of the Hudson Bay store across the street. You couldn't ask for a better location for exploring the city - just walk out the door, pick up a coffee and a magazine at Munro's books, and the waterfront is just a few blocks away. The bed was very new feeling and comfortable and the light in the room was great. I personally am not bothered by slightly rumpled hallway carpets and gently used chairs. It is INEXPENSIVE for a downtown hotel, and why bother going to Victoria to avoid old British-y things? Isn't that the very basis of the city's charms? It was very quiet as well. There is a nondescript gay bar on the second floor that provided some much needed late night dinner after a long ferry ride. Oh, and there was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mantaraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
260 reviews
The Strathcona Hotel
#37 of 46 in Victoria
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 46 in Victoria
230 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $65 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing