We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bay Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$441
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$524
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$184
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
149
40
15
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
40
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomold englishbeach drivewatch tvhuge tvhomemade muffinstwin roomclaw footheritage hometea coffeebed and breakfastevery morningbreakfast was deliciousguest roomsperfect hostsresidential areatwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 207 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for two nights and found the B&B to be very comfortable and located close to the marina and 'Village'. Hosts were very pleasant and helpful. Rooms and beds were exceptionally comfortable. No tea or coffee making facilities in rooms, but are available on tap in the large lounge area. The breakfasts are eggs, eggs and more eggs! If you don't like eggs you may have to go hungry! In my opinion the host caters for what she really likes rather than what h guests may prefer. The presentation was also a little over the top with flowers and foliage supplied with the food.

The nearby English Pub, 'The Penny Farthing' is well worth a visit and has good locally brewed beer and good food.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank globalman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 days in this lovely old house, very old world charm with great food and hospitality. A very quiet and peaceful place to relax and let the world pass you by. I loved the large sunny sitting room complete with coffee/tea and biscuits plus fridge and microwave should you so need it. Derek and Egle were so kind and helpful and always had time for a chat even though they were busy. We would recommend Oak Bay to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and each one different, just look on the internet for your own choice
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Staying at the Oak Bay Guest House in Victoria was like staying at my mother's- comfortable, friendly and delicious. The rooms were clean with an old Victorian feel. The place is quiet and is situated in a quiet and stunning neighborhood. We ran each morning to the ocean and nearby park before breakfast. The breakfasts were appetizing and fulling. This owner really goes the extra mile with garnishes and extras. We plan to stay again when we visit our family in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My mom and I spent 5 nights at this guest house in April. It was a really great place to be - Derek and Egle are incredibly friendly and accomodating. The house is clean and comfortable, albeit old (part of the charm), and the food was absolutely fabulous and we were always full to bursting when we left with our muffins in hand. It was very nice to have two sitting areas to come to and read in or watch tv, and a nice touch to have coffee and cookies always available for our snacking! It felt very safe and the garden is nice for a little walk in the morning. Oak Bay is a great part of the city and there is lots to see and do within 20 minutes walking from the front door, not to mention easy access to downtown. We had great value for money, the only I suggest is getting an upstairs room if you're a light sleeper since the floors squeak a bit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Oak Bay Guest House for 1 week in late March/early April. This was our fourth stay and once again we highly recommend it. We stayed in the Romance room which has a sitting room off the main room, great for reading with a glass of wine or a cup of tea when you're not out doing all the things there are to do in Victoria. By staying for a week we got to sample a different breakfast every day, all wonderful as usual. It was our Silver Anniversary and both Egle and Derek made it very special with their kind extra touches. Looking forward to our next stay at Oak Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews