We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Booking.com
$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
FindHotel
$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Hotels.com$117
eDreams$117
Priceline$117
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveler rating
602
211
61
26
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
602
211
61
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craigdarroch castle guest kitchen master suite mini suite yogurt guest house street parking continental breakfast breakfast area government house common areas living room laundry room other guests tea and coffee breakfast was excellent enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 917 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2017

The place is lovely, but as they tell you in any information there are a lot of stairs and no elevator. Not an issue for me, but it's important to know. When I was checking in, staff member watched me struggle to get things from car to front door without offering help - odd. Breakfast is simple but good with fresh and healthy options. Lose the oatmeal packets and make a pot of oatmeal in the morning. The parlour area is comfortable and inviting.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dkljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraigmyle, Manager at The Craigmyle, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments.
Please accept my apologies about the luggage. Although this is rather odd as we all bend over backwards to assist guests with their bags. During check in, we only have the one concierge staff on site and she's not outside so it could have likely been another guest you encountered.
Regarding the oatmeal - we use the packets as our breakfast service is 3 hours in length and maintaining a quality pre-made oatmeal is likely a challenge. This is why we leave it for guests to make their own fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

Staying at The Craigmyle was a living dream. The rooms were extremely clean, well-decorated, and comfortable. The complementary breakfast in the beautiful and well-appointed dining area was just the icing on the cake. On top of all that, it's literally steps away from Craigdarroch Castle. I can't stop raving about this fantasy guest house that I can't wait to revisit with my mom in tow!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marshas962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraigmyle, Manager at The Craigmyle, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

What a beautiful review - thank you!
We look forward to your return visit. Be sure to call me direct to receive our "friends" rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Check in and check out was effortless. Staff is cheerful and efficient. Ambience is wonderful. Continental breakfast buffet was yummy. Feels homey since it's tucked into a real neighborhood, yet has the beautiful Craigdarroch Castle as a backdrop. Walking distance to shopping, transit. We want to come back, for more than 2 nights next time.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rosiev618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraigmyle, Manager at The Craigmyle, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share such nice comments about your recent stay with us.
We all look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We stayed for one night at Craigmyle but wished we could stay a bit longer. The accommodation is exactly like the photos. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotless. The bathrooms are recently renovated and very modern. There aren't televisions in the room which makes it quiet. The common rooms are quiet, stylish and comfortable and there is free coffee, tea, and wifi.

The Craigmlye is located in a quiet historic neighbourhood to the east of downtown Victoria. Although there isn't parking at Craigmlye there is readily available parking on the quiet street in front of the building. The walk to downtown is about 20 minutes through tree-lined streets and past grand old arts & crafts buildings from the 20s and 30s.

There is a complementary breakfast comprised of fresh fruit, yogurt, a variety of whole grain breads, boiled eggs, a good selection of tea cakes, and jams and jellies. It is buffet style served in a sunny breakfast room with tables clothes, china. and silverware.

I would happily stay again.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CuriousGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraigmyle, Manager at The Craigmyle, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for your comments and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon to your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

The breakfast nook was very nice with that homey feeling, but due to lack of temperature control in the bedrooms(too warm) sleeping was not comfortable. The bed was also softer than we like but that may be down to personal choice. The overall ambiance was pleasant and the location to down town excellent. This was not our first time at The Craigmyle and it probably won't be our last.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraigmyle, Manager at The Craigmyle, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay.
As the Craigmyle is a heritage building, we don't have the temperature zone controls that modern builds have and that most of us have grown accustomed to.
We set the house between 70-72 degrees to ensure that guests on the upper floors and in the corner units are not cold. It is much easier to open a window or use a fan that's provided to cool down if needed, as apposed to trying to stay warm in a 100+ year old house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews