We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs An Overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Drapes falling off the walls, Dirty Carpets, Stinky Carpets, Hard Beds, Noisy Area lots of traffic noise, Lots of kids running in hallways and staff did nothing about it
Car Broke into in underground secure parking HOW SAFE
staff was rude (Was lady manager)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vibusinesstvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 446 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for four days in early November. We had also stayed there in late March in 2004 and had hoped that our stay would be as pleasant. If anything, the hotel has improved.
While this hotel doesn't look like much from the outside. The rooms are large and comfortable and kept very clean. The rooms we've had have been well-equipped with the usual amenities as well as a coffee maker and a bar fridge.
Many of both the cleaning and desk staff have been at this hotel for 30+ years, and their service is always pleasant and excellent. The major advantage to this hotel, apart from price, is that it is in the heart of the downtown area within an easy walk of the Empress Hotel, the museum, shopping, restaurants, and the bus station. When we stayed 4 years ago, we had a room facing the street and library square, and at times the street noise and noise from people gathering on the square was a little intrusive. This time, we had a room facing inwards towards the hotel patio and it was very quiet. I would definitely ask for this again.
On our earlier visit, we hadn't tried the basement pool, assuming it wouldn't be the very good. This time, to our surprise, we found the pool clean and warm and, except for us, deserted. The pool and steam room offered a nice break from the November rain.
There's always fresh coffee in the lobby and free internet access. The desk staff was quite knowledgeable about local restaurants and shopping, including where to find fresh crab!
While this hotel is not impressive from the outside, it is clean, pleasant, and the rooms are spacious. It offers great value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Spent 3 nights here during a winter wonderland. Snowed in Victoria! Upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - best thing we could have done. Large private bedroom with King bed and large TV. THe living room had a double pullout couch, small but modern wonderfully equipped kitchen (convection micro and large fridge), large TV, wireless internet. The standard size hotel table beside the low windows provided a great comfy view of the snow falling outside. Walked all over the place as was very convenient - to mall, parliament buildings, waterfront, movies, downtown. Came back to a hot sauna and swim. Did not use the workout room but it had a treadmill and eliptical type thing. Pool is small but is indoors and gets the job done. Underground parking was a bonus because of the weather. Have stayed at Quality Inn downtown before and will stay again. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DLobsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

The room was quite large. We had a corner room just above the lobby. The staff was friendly however there were a few problems we got sorted out. The night we were due to arrive we knew we wouldn't make it from the US so called to change reservations for arrival next day. Note: room was prepaid for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were told we had no reservations. I produced confirmation and after a short time they found the reservation that had been cancelled but not reinstated. This can happen, however the 2nd night we were there the night auditor told my husband we needed to checkout in the AM. When I inquired at the front desk, they noted it had been a mistake. Had I not had our written confirmation I might have been concerned especially as the room was pre-paid.

Amenities were basic and housekeeping did not replace shampoo. Apparently the room must get warm as there was a standing fan in the room.

Location is within walking distance to the harbor and capitol building. Within a block there are 2 reasonably priced restaurants for breakfast. Both were good.

Pool is indoors. No diving as it is quite shallow. There is a sauna which we enjoyed. Narrow parking stalls. Hotel offers free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1hyplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Quality Inn Downtown for 2 midweek nights. She was there for business while I joined along for pleasure. Needless to say, we had a great 2 nights stay there and it was perfect for our needs. We are not first-time visitors to Victoria so we were not seeking exciting first impressions, hotel grandeur or Inner Harbour views. However, the Quality Inn provided a very comfortable, convenient, and all around enjoyable stay for us.

First, the hotel was easy to get to. When we arrived we kept our car parked on the sidewalk (which is reserved for hotel guest check-ins) and went to the front desk. We checked in promptly. The staff were very friendly and they explained to us the parking situation - free parking down below in the locked underground parkade - but you need your room key to gain access to it. We parked without a problem.

Our room was on the third floor (the highest for this hotel). There is only one elevator, but we never had to wait long for it. The room had 2 Queen beds which were very comfy - we slept well. We had a TV unit with plenty of storage space in the drawers below, a small table with chairs but perfect for us to both use our laptops and get work done, complimentary coffee and tea, a closet with ironing board, iron, hangers, extra pillows and luggage racks. The bathroom was well equipped with enough towels for 4 people, a spacious shower and good shampoo/conditioner (was not expecting that!). Oh yes - the free wireless internet was frequently used without problem.

We had the room that overlooked Blanshard Street. Outdoor noise was not a problem, and the curtains were dark enough to block out any light as we slept. The only noise issue was around 6am when some other hotel guests were talking loudly in the hallways - it woke me up, but that was the only noise issue.

The hotel has a small indoor swimming pool which is located in the basement (which is accessed by the elevator or down a short flight of stairs from the lobby), however, we never used it. There was also a closet-sized exercise room with 2 pieces of fitness equipment. Again, we never used it.

The godsend of this hotel was its location as it was hugely convenient to getting everywhere on foot. In fact, we kept our car parked in the lot the entire time and walked everywhere. The hotel is 2 blocks away from the Inner Harbour (essentially one block behind the back of the Empress Hotel), so within 10 minutes you could be on Government Street, walking through the Empress, heading up the BC Legislature building or to the Royal BC Museum.

But what we really enjoyed was exploring Victoria like Victoria locals. Fort Street was a block up the road - home of Antique Alley. But it's also a local Victoria neighbourhood with some great shops, restaurants, and unique boutiques. In the late afternoon we'd walk through Beacon Hill Park to the waterfront and head back along Cook Street through another local neighbourhood - Cook Street Village - a great place for a coffee.

Overall, I was very satisified with our stay and would gladly recommend this Quality Inn for those looking for a similar experience to ours.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BC_Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, and found it to be clean and relatively comfortable. The location was great. It was a short walk to the BC Museum and most of the other Inner Harbor attractions. Our chief complaint is that there was too much noise from the street, as our room was on the 1st floor right on the corner (you can see it on the right in the property photo.) At first, we didn't realize that housekeeping had left the windows open, but even with the windows closed, the street noises (buses, car stereos, ambulances) were a bit too loud. The desk staff was reasonably friendly and helpful, though one person gave us incorrect/outdated information about the local bus to Buchart Garden.
It was nice having a jacuzzi bathtub, especially since the hotel didn't have a jacuzzi, only a pool. We never got around to using the (indoor) pool.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We booked this at the last minute during our trip to Canada. We were only staying in victoria for one night. The hotel was very handy for the harbour and shopping areas. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was a good size , clean and had a very comfy bed. Although small the bathroom had a jet bath. The free internet access was also a big bonus. Would definately sfay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HelenD021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
258 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 46 in Victoria
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Address: 850 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $81 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located downtown Victoria. Two blocks from the Inner Harbour, tourist attractions, shopping, dining & theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Victoria
Victoria Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing