We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Rotorua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Super location, so handy to the waterfront and to a wide range of shopping. Very clean premises, no issues with housekeeping at all, room was always cleaned superbly. Staff were all super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dalice B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here on Trip Advisor.

I was glad that all the staff preformed to their upmost, we take a great deal of pride in the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. I am very lucky to have such a great team and you recognise it and it comes across to all of our guests.

Our location is very handy indeed being so close to almost every attraction Victoria has to offer.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    186
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
127
111
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Easy walk of harbour, shops and restaurants. Room was clean and well equipped. Staff helpful and friendly. A problem caused though the booking intermediary was swiftly and courteously sorted out. Ok it.s not a grand venue but at a third of the price at least of the grand hotels just around the corner we found our 3day stay to be good value. Yes the elevator does seem to have a mind of its own but we found it quirky and a good way to get chatting to people!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Wildroamer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel we always like to see comments from Senior Contributors like yourself.

We are happy when our guests see the value for money we provide for such a great location right downtown in a clean comfortable room.

The front desk staff are very good at correcting situations as soon as they come up and in this case I am glad we could take care of you in a timely fashion with no extra stress.

Our beloved elevator “Baffled” sometimes makes a great way to meet people you would not necessarily meet. He is old and confused and we are in the middle of trying to get him a brain transplant. He like some of us can only understand one thing at a time and when he gets 2 different people pushing buttons at the same time he does not think logically he will go to the first place the button was pushed, and if you push the button to many times he will cop an attitude and then just sits there for a bit until he gets his marbles together. But that aside we are looking into upgrades that will help improve him with his thought process.

Once again thank you for your comments they are important and we will always improve from them.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a bike trip and it was important that the motel be conveniently located. It was a short ride from the ferry to the motel. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, with good temperature control. We enjoyed the indoor pool. The staff was very pleasant. There was no breakfast and the room was a bit expensive. We did not have a car. There were several very nice lunch spots within two blocks on Blanshard Street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Followthesons,

As a Senior Contributor here on Trip Advisor it is always great to have such a positive review of our hotel.

Thank you for pointing out all of the things you enjoyed. Our housekeeping staffs do a great job of making sure that all of our guests have a clean room to stay in. The beds were all replaced last year and I could set up sideline business selling them we get so many good comments on their comfort.

Our location makes it ideal for going out to eat there are about 50 restaurants within 5 blocks of us serving every kind of food imaginable and we have three of our staff that are true foodies and are very good at making recommendations for places to eat.

Once again thank you, and the next time you are out for a bike trip please stay with us again.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
350 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is just a short walk to the waterfront. We paid roughly $120 a night which I would say makes this an excellent value (I agree with a previous review (ironman224) that at $175 / night I would have rated it lower. The rooms were simple and it had a small pool which would be fine for kids (we didn't use it).

For us it was a great value to explore victoria

Location wise, its a very short walk to the Bus Station and there were a couple bike rental places located just a block away.

I would stay there again for a similar rate.

One caution, the sound proofing between rooms isn't very good. Either that or the neighbours in the adjoining room enjoyed 'Harry met Sally' a few times with the volume way up on our last night. (you have to be over 40 to get that reference....;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear greaume,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our location is certainly one of the comments we hear a lot of and as far as value goes we are always very competitive with the hotels located in the downtown area. We believe in good value for money and as I pointed out to ironman224 the rate he paid was $139 per night which for the time of year here in Victoria is a very reasonable rate. As we all know to well there is little I can do about taxes and we do have our share of them here in BC.

I did smile when you made the reference to “Harry Met Sally” and I will leave that one well enough alone and for those people out there reading this I hope they see the humour in it also. One thing I will mention is if you are ever in that predicament again, please feel free to call the front desk and we will do our best to get them to turn down the volume.

Once again thank you for your review, your comments are very important to us.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights at a cost of nearly $175/night after taxes and parking ($9 a night). If it had been $100-125/night I would have rated this hotel higher. For $175 for a standard room? Rip off. Dated old decor, no breakfast, no free parking.. would not return, extremely poor value. Location is ok though, 5 minute walk from the inner harbour.

Room Tip: Save your money and find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ironman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear ironman224,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we always like to hear from senior contributors.

I am sorry you felt our hotel is overpriced. In our industry prices fluctuate all depending on the season and demand, what some people don’t understand is a hotel room is a perishable item. If it is not sold, you do not get another opportunity to sell it. Victoria is very much a tourism driven location for a very limited time of the year. Hotels would not survive if they could not get a premium rate at peak times of the year and would have to close their doors. We would end up with a situation where no one would open a hotel here and there would be no place for visitors to stay if our peak season rates were not reflective of demand.

Unfortunately, there is nothing I can do to control taxes. Based on the total you paid, I assume your room rate was $139 before taxes and parking. $139 is actually a very reasonable rate to stay in downtown Victoria in the middle of summer in a hotel. Rates for the Downtown Inner Harbour area can range from $119 to $400 plus taxes on peak summer days all depending on your needs or requirements. We monitor our competitor’s rates daily to ensure that we are one of the best value hotels in the downtown core.

It is certainly not our intention to rip off any guest. We try our very best to supply a quality, clean room so guests may have an enjoyable time while visiting our great city.

As land is at a premium in the downtown area most hotels charge for parking and that can range up to $30 per night. There are also very few hotels that offer a free breakfast as most have a restaurant attached to them. While there are hotels that offer free breakfast and parking in the downtown Inner Harbour area of Victoria in the same hotel class as we are, their average rate is 20% higher than ours. Charging for our amenities helps keep our room rates down, instead of building them into the base price. This way, guests who do not need or want all the extras do not pay for them.

I hope this helps to explain why rates can fluctuate in a tourism destination. In the off season prices can get as low as $59 due to the fact far less people are traveling to Victoria.

Once again thank you for your comments and if you do ever come back I do hope you give us another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmorhea, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Location, location location! Within easy walking distance to most downtown attractions. Get there early if you need a parking place, only a limited number of spaces. The hotel does have a washer dryer which comes in handy for long distance travelers. Some rooms open to a central patio which allows for fresh air. Rooms are relatively small but well-kept. It does look aged, but clean

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear IowaTraveller68,

Thank you for your review here in Tripadvisor it is always great to hear from top contributor like yourself.

Location is king for Victoria as all the main attractions are within blocks of our hotel we have many guests that bring a car and park it and don’t use it again until they depart.

You pointed out our small underground parking we have under the hotel, just so you know across the street from our hotel we have our unlimited overflow secure underground parking so to assure you we have unlimited underground parking.

I have also passed your comments to the housekeeping staff on the cleanliness of the rooms as they work very hard to make sure every guest has a clean and wonderful stay with us and we all understand the importance of a clean room.

I am not sure which room you stayed in we do have a few rooms on the smaller size but the majority are larger two queen bed rooms which offer a much larger room. If you do stay with us again ask for a double queen or king bed room and I think you will be pleasantly surprised with the size of those rooms.

We have been updating rooms and have many more plans in the future I hope that we have another opportunity to have you stay with us so you may see the changes that are constantly going on with the hotel.

Once again thank you for your input and being a member of Tripadvisor, we do listen and take all reviews and comments seriously.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Pros: Very clean room. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our king room with jetted tub, balcony and mini kitchen was surprisingly spacious. Big plus was that we could walk to harbor, Museum, Government Street shops and restaurants.

Cons: The décor is a bit dated. We were disappointed in breakfast at the attached Argyle Attic restaurant, but there are lots of other restaurants close by.

All in all we were very happy with location and price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear IowaTraveller68,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It sounds like you stayed in one of our King Jacuzzi Suites. They are definitely one of my favourite room types here. The size of the room is great as you mentioned, and the kitchenette really helps if you are staying longer than a couple nights.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast in the Argyle Attic. The restaurant is a separate business to the hotel, but I will be sure to pass your comments on to their manager.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you can look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Laura Caceres
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 56 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Address: 850 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located downtown Victoria. Two blocks from the Inner Harbour, tourist attractions, shopping, dining & theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Victoria
Victoria Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing