We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Delta Hotels Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$254
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$198
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$381
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zed(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$94
$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oswego Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
113
222
88
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
222
88
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroyal theatresteam roomsecure parkinginner courtyardwithin walking distancefew blockssmall fridgeaverage hotelclean roomswould definitely stay here againfront desk staffcoffee makernice stayempress hotelper daychecking out
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 459 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really friendly AND helpful front desk personnel; when asked for info about bus to Butchart Gardens, they swiftly printed the schedule and told us how to get to the stop - without having to prod them. Our room (interior courtyard with kitchenette and small balcony) was quiet and well-serviced by housekeeping throughout our 6 day stay. Only downsides: no grab bar in bath tub (surprisingly common in far too many hotels) which is a nasty fall waiting to happen - but they said they're getting around to it. And the mobility- challenged should know that there are several steps up from lobby to elevator, making this hotel problematic for them. One last thought: wouldn't hurt to put in a few more dishes, plates,silverware, pots, etc. in the kitchenette.

Room Tip: The kichenette-balcony-inner courtyard room was quiet and pleasant, with a tinkling fountain and chairs and tables in the courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear GlobetrotterKing,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I have already passed your comments onto the front desk staff and thanked them for doing a great job.

You have raised some very good and helpful tips and we do take all suggestions seriously and I will be looking into putting grab bars into more of our rooms some do have them already but we do not have them in all rooms.

I am glad you did have a great stay with us for 6 days and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here one night while in Victoria. Rooms were large and well done. Parking was a bit challenging to find but once accessed it was great! The location allowed us to do some great walking tours to the harbour and to various restaurants nearby. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear SusieQ101,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel it is always great when a Senior Contributor takes the time to reflect on their stay with us.

We appreciate you pointing out all the wonderful attributes the hotel has to offer from its great location to the convenience of the secure yet sometimes tricky underground parking and our large clean rooms. We take a great deal of pride in our staff and hotel so that every guest that stays with us walks away happy and wanting to stay with us again.

Once again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a two night stay here that we had purchased on an online discount coupon and had to use it by April 30. Fortunately we booked when the weather was perfect for a visit to Victoria. Our room was clean and reasonably spacious. It overlooked a busy downtown street so was quite noisy at night but that is to be expected in a city. We did not bring a vehicle with us and found that we really didn't need it anyhow. We ate at the adjoining Argyle Restaurant the first evening. It was cosy and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. It is close to downtown and most of the tourist attractions and public transportation. I so not think that it has air conditioning so could be very warm in the summer.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard would likely be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Joyce D

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out we are in a great location and your understanding that being right downtown you are going to experience the sounds that come with it. I know for a lot of our guests that don’t live in the middle of a downtown city it can seem loud but as a rule the traffic dissipates at around 8pm and really does not pick up until about 8am.

I have passed your complements to the staff and they do appreciate hearing it, I am very lucky to have such an experienced staff with a combined 150 years working at this hotel including 3 staff members with over 30 years each.

We do have central air that can be controlled by the wall vent in the room and we are making up instructions so guests better understand our climate controls in the rooms. As it is and older property it is not as simple as just setting the temperature but still it is not that complicated. Many of the hotels in Victoria do not have air conditioning as our Island climate really never gets that high though we have been enjoying higher temperatures than we usually do for this time of the year.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Apr 2013 Used a living social coupon so the rate was reduced. The check in was easy and friendly . As we had an overheight 7 foot viehicle we needed to park across the street at $13.50 per night. The hotel is quite dated but very clean. As mentioned the soundproofing was poor, did hear a few kids ratteling around in hallway, but no big deal.Didn't try restaurant or pub as I generally find it good policy to avoid resraurants adjoining hotels. and there are so many good restaurants and pubs in Victoria .One dissapointment though was that they advertised a gym and a steam room , neither was open during our stay. All in all it was a good value even at the regular off season rate. Great place to sleep if you are not planning to spend the entire time in your Hotel. would possibly stay again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher room not facing Blanchard Street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redrock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Redrock55,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor it is always great to have Senior Contributor pass on their comments.

I do apologize about the Gym and Steam room we are just in the process of redoing the cedar in the steam room and we were trying to get it done a quieter time of the year but the hotel has enjoyed a very busy shoulder season thanks to its growing popularity and the Living Social promotion so it did catch us off guard. The Gym we had to use as a temporary storage room as we are updating all the lighting in the rooms and the order came in again when we were busier than expected so again my apologizes.

We are constantly updating the rooms and I am sure if you give us the opportunity and stay with us in the future you will enjoy the changes we are making.

As I and many of our guests have mentioned before we have a great location right downtown but it does make our hotel more susceptible to street noise and traffic. If you are not use to street noise which I know a lot of people are not I would recommend calling us direct and see if any of our courtyard facing rooms are available. They do not face Blanshard or Courtney streets.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to stay with us again.


Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is located in the downtown core near the harbour..no complaints on the location. The hotel itself is an older property with dated carpet and hallways. The rooms are updated but are starting to show sign of wear and tear. The rooms are average. It's spacious and clean. I was assigned to a room that faces the street. The windows are poorly insulated and the street noise travels freely from the outside. In addition, there were people staying above and not sure what they were doing but sounded like taiko japanese drums overhead. When people closed their doors, it Reverberated through the walls. I understand the frustration of the other reviews concerning the noise complaints. The walls are thin. Did not get a pleasant rest at all. I agree with other reviewers regarding spending a little more money for a better hotel.

In addition, there was temp control in the room but it did nothing. Rooms were on the colder side.

I would give this hotel a 2.5 star but my experience was 2 stars. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear jjking,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and you found your room noisy. We do take all comments seriously and do our best to address the issues that are bought to our attention. We are in the process of replacing any of our windows that have a broken seal which can contribute to the windows not as sound proofed as they can be. We have replaced 40 so far and will have the last 20 installed in the next few weeks. We know this will help insulate some of the sound that comes from the street.

As I am sure you understand having a great location right downtown does have its drawbacks one of which is we get street noise and for the most part it is not too much of an issue but there are times where it can seem excessive.

As far as the guests that stayed above you I am not sure if you informed the front desk as we have a very good policy of asking guests to keep the noise down if they are disturbing other guests.

There are 2 ways to control the temperature in the room we have electric baseboard heating with a wall mounted controller in all the rooms and central air that the airflow can be controlled with the adjustable wall vent if you could contact me to let me know which room it was I will investigate and get it corrected.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews