We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
141
62
11
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
62
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate clubreading roomgentlemen's clubempress hotelbilliard roomblue jeansrunning shoesmembers clubold world charmbritish columbiaeggs benedictantique furnitureking suitefour poster bedinner harborguest roomsmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 225 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

In full view of the landmark Empress Hotel and the British Columbia Parliament Buildings and the harbour below them, the Union Club is in neither glitzy nor glib. It is premium vacation property. A sense of place, of history over a century old. Grand salon, linen service in the restaurant, brass accordion screen elevator, the old library and the billiard room. A sensible fitness room. The rooms are tastefully renovated but retain period furniture below the high ceilings and cornice work. The food is excellent and we found the staff to be more than accommodating. The only drawback is overnight parking that is located off site and a five minute walk from the hotel... somewhat inconvenient. Also, no air conditioning in the rooms so keep your windows closed in the day and let them open at night to the cooler evening and overnight temperatures along the harbour. The location is so close to the harbour amenities and shopping and dining, we believe it more than makes up for the minor negative issues. And about 1/2 the price of the Empress right next door, a bonus. We've stayed here from time to time in all times of the year for over twenty five years. That's how much we like it.

Room Tip: In the summer, choose a room with an east or north exposure as there is no air conditioning in the rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow - thanks for the fantastic review, mark l! We are proud to be your home away from home when visiting Victoria. You review mentions many points of which we take great pride. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Everything about our stay was first class. The room, the service, the beverages...everything.
As for the dress code...we received two emails from the club prior to our stay, reminding us of the dress code. Therefore, it should not be a surprise for anyone that there is a dress code to use their wonderful club. Personally, we enjoyed the dress code...it was a fitting touch for such a place.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jano633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello jano633 - thank you for your favourable review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Union Club. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

This is a members club so you will need to be guest of a member or through an affiliate club.

First impression is the club is not as stuffy as old school would suggest. Stiff were charming after checking us in. We had two small children with us who were on relatively well behaved. Members were welcoming anf engaging which to me suggest a very nice club and set of members.

it is located neat the harbor and Empress hotel so absolutely worth going to if you get a chance.

Room Tip: Perfect location which ever room you coose
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grandad_Sticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day Alan H! Please allow us to apologize for our delayed reply. Thank you for your favourable review. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please note: while The Inn at the Union Club is within the Union Club, the boutique hotel operates independent and is available to guests - no member sponsorship required.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

This is an old, but well maintained, men's club. It seemed a bit "uppity" at first, but the employees were actually all very nice. We did not try to dine there due to being vegan. Parking garage is about 3 blocks away, so that would be inconvenient for some, but was fine for us. We did have a tiny night visitor in the bathroom - a mouse! My husband disposed of it & we told the desk manager about it as we checked out. Everything was very clean, so the mouse was probably just a fluke!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peggy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Peggy Q - thank you for your review. We apologize for our delayed reply. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be engaging - they are a great crew, and the Union Club is very lucky. We're very sorry to hear of your "visitor". Downtown Victoria has been known to have a few of these little guys, however we have been very lucky. Your sighting was reported to our pest control immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Union Club when you next return to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

The location of this place is superb, as close as you can get to the waterfront without actually being on the waterfront. The hotel is comfortable with everything you need for your stay. On top of this, the staff were very helpful with everything we needed. Breakfast were great but we didn’t eat dinner there as Victoria has so many other good places to eat. So, why not 5 stars? Well, this is a traditional “gentleman’s club” that opens its door for paying guests. There is quite a strict dress code for the formal areas of the building and (to be honest) it was way too formal for a vacation....not really my thing! It almost feels that the guests are tolerated rather than welcomed. It’s fine if you plan to be out all of the time and need a central bed but it is expensive for just that.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Hi Steve F.! Thank you for your review. While it appears you enjoyed the majority of your stay, it is too bad you found the dress code when using the common areas of the Club (basically no faded or torn blue jeans, or running/athletic shoes) to be too restrictive. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Victoria, and share our comfort, helpful staff and great breakfasts with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews