We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The next best thing to being a member...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Club British Columbia
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

One of the oldest, still beautiful buildings in lovely downtown Victoria, I had had occasion to dine there once a few years ago, as a guest of the Lieutenant Governor Stephen Pointe (ok, there were about 30 other guests, too, but still, it was an honour). I was delighted to discover that this private club has a few hotel rooms that it rents to, well, anyone--even me! I stay in Victoria a few times a year-- usually at The Chateau (see my reviews), but I fancied a change, and the chance to see inside the beautiful building again. I was not disappointed. From the kind and friendly counter staff to the efficient and calm breakfast server, the cordial nods of the members, to the solicitous and polite chamber staff, this may be my new "go to" hotel....in fact I've already reserved a room for my trip next week. I guess there is nothing there you can't find in other elegant hotels, but to me it was absolutely magical being steeped in all that history-- I felt a bit like I'd snuck into Hogwarts or something.

I would recommend the Union Club for anyone who wanted a quiet get-away. Definitely secure for a woman traveling alone, and terrific value, even before you consider the complimentary coffee and tea (real tea pots!) and breakfast (eggs benedict, available on grilled tomato instead of english muffin, with spinach and chevre-- fantastic). I suppose the one drawback is the parking--prepare to walk a couple of blocks, but there is an easy to get to courtesy spot right out front to unload/load up). There is probably a level entry for disabled guests, I imagine, but there is a gorgeous stone stairway leading up to the main entrance. The location is unbeatable, however, and I can't wait to be back....

Although I am staying for business, even when I travel for pleasure, I don't tend to grub around in jeans and a T-Shirt. If that is your standard attire, you might want to be sure you review the dress code. If you are the sort of person who is offended by tradition and standards, and who thinks private clubs are snobby, this is not the destination for you. If you are open to wonderful, unexpected surprises and think dressing up is a treat, perhaps I'll see you on the elevator (oh... the elevator alone is worth the stay.....)

Room Tip: The king room was small for two (though the bed was ENORMOUS), but there is just one other chair. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadLisaRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Ms. Read,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the Union Club with such amazing feedback from your recent experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies for my late response to your review!

We strive to provide excellent service and amenities at the Club for our guests and receiving feedback, such as your own, enables us to ensure we continue to develop as an excellent accommodation and dining provider in Victoria B.C. The breakfast is a popular item with our hotel guests and Club members and personally, the elevator is one of my favourite surprises also (second oldest in B.C.)!

Thank you for mentioning the ground entrance for any guests who would prefer to avoid stairs. This is located down the driveway on the left hand side of the building (Gordon Street).

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 207 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a great venue for our annual MahJongg Retreat!! We all agree there isn't a better choice than our own private club: a luxurious suite to set up our tiles for hours of uninterrupted play; excellent food and drink choices from the McGregor Room lunch and dinner menus and the club wine list; such comfortable bedrooms to eventually retire to; and delicious breakfasts. Such a wonderful experience...perhaps we should do this spring AND fall!?!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear SL R,

It is lovely to hear from you and your wonderful experiences at the Club - thank you for your feedback! Our kitchen work endlessly to ensure excellent quality and presentation of food is offered to our guests. We are very grateful to receive such positive reviews and to know the hard work of our service and kitchen staff is well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next retreat; coming up soon! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is greatly valued.

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We came to Victoria to celebrate our annual Company New Year Christmas Party. We were lucky to get the last Room at the Union Club. The location is amazing. The room has been cozy and beautiful - set in an old-fashioned style, but with all the modern amenities.. and very clean! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful - like Sophie who helped us to book the room at the last moment. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room, giving you the feeling of the most posh environment. Breakfast was very good, nice variety to choose from and the service was great. No doubt- we will come again!
.p.s. the party we attended in the Union Club, first floor hall, was amazing and the food served was superb.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jonauri,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Union Club of British Columbia. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely time at your Christmas work function! The complimentary breakfast is always a popular feature with our guests and I am glad to hear you had the opportunity to try it and loved it so much. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful compliments to our service staff and kitchen.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to enhance guest experiences, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria.

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed out stay. The facility is very grand, but the actual rooms are outdated and could use a freshening up. The service was good and the included breakfast was terrific. Would likely stay here again, given the reasonable price compared to the Fairmont next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Good day Adrian,

Thank you very much for your review from your stay in October. The breakfast is always a popular feature at the Union Club and we are glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyed. Currently, we have two recently renovated Suites however, as of January 2014, we will be commencing our renovation project for the remainder of the guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again for a brand new experience with the completed guest rooms, on your next visit to Victoria!

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I enjoyed the history of your hotel, although the building was built way more than a century ago - but managed to keep up and have maintained in such an excellent state. Front desk people are friendly, place is very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livia_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Livia,

It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Union Club and were able to experience a bit of Victoria's history in our 100 year old building! Thank you very much for your kind review; we appreciate all reviews, as it enables us to enhance guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to the Club on your next visit to Victoria!

Best regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our newly rennovated queen suite. As with all of our Canadian affiliate private clubs, the food and service was outstanding. Breakfast was included with a full menu choice. I loved having a fitness center on my floor. We also used the complimentry laundry.A perfect location in downtown Victoria on the harbour!!!

Room Tip: The queen rooms are newer than the king rooms. Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newshoesWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Union Club of British Columbia. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience one of our recently renovated Suites! The complimentary breakfast is a favourite with our guests and we are glad you were able to make use of the Fitness Centre and complimentary laundry service as well. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria.
Kind regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful property with history. Excellent location, comfort very reasonable for a traditional property. We had an excellent breakfast and felt our room rate was very competitive for the room size and location. Would always return and recommend to adult travelers.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 2nd floor king deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickB663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback received and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria, British Columbia.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 46 in Victoria
1,963 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,602 reviews
Fairfield
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
#11 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Club British Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Club British Columbia

Address: 805 Gordon St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Z6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $134 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Club British Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Club of British Columbia was established in 1879 and is rich in history. The Club features old Victorian decor with rich wood motifs and offers you affordable elegance while visiting Victoria, the City of flowers. Situated across from Victoria Harbor, the Club is in the heart of the tourist, shopping and business districts. As an overnight guest at the Inn at the Union Club, you are welcome to use all of the club’s facilities which include our Business Centre, Billiard Room, Library, Reading Room and during the summer season our Roof Top Garden. For dining purposes you may join us for casual breakfast, lunch or dinner in our McGregor Lounge, or for more formal dining, in our McKenzie Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Union Club British Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Club British Columbia Hotel Victoria
Union Hotel Victoria
Union Hotel British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing