We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time style with Moderen amnities- Geat Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Club British Columbia
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old time style with Moderen amnities- Geat Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We came to Victoria to celebrate our annual Company New Year Christmas Party. We were lucky to get the last Room at the Union Club. The location is amazing. The room has been cozy and beautiful - set in an old-fashioned style, but with all the modern amenities.. and very clean! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful - like Sophie who helped us to book the room at the last moment. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room, giving you the feeling of the most posh environment. Breakfast was very good, nice variety to choose from and the service was great. No doubt- we will come again!
.p.s. the party we attended in the Union Club, first floor hall, was amazing and the food served was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jonauri,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Union Club of British Columbia. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely time at your Christmas work function! The complimentary breakfast is always a popular feature with our guests and I am glad to hear you had the opportunity to try it and loved it so much. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful compliments to our service staff and kitchen.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to enhance guest experiences, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria.

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    46
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
85
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed out stay. The facility is very grand, but the actual rooms are outdated and could use a freshening up. The service was good and the included breakfast was terrific. Would likely stay here again, given the reasonable price compared to the Fairmont next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good day Adrian,

Thank you very much for your review from your stay in October. The breakfast is always a popular feature at the Union Club and we are glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyed. Currently, we have two recently renovated Suites however, as of January 2014, we will be commencing our renovation project for the remainder of the guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again for a brand new experience with the completed guest rooms, on your next visit to Victoria!

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I enjoyed the history of your hotel, although the building was built way more than a century ago - but managed to keep up and have maintained in such an excellent state. Front desk people are friendly, place is very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Livia,

It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Union Club and were able to experience a bit of Victoria's history in our 100 year old building! Thank you very much for your kind review; we appreciate all reviews, as it enables us to enhance guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to the Club on your next visit to Victoria!

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our newly rennovated queen suite. As with all of our Canadian affiliate private clubs, the food and service was outstanding. Breakfast was included with a full menu choice. I loved having a fitness center on my floor. We also used the complimentry laundry.A perfect location in downtown Victoria on the harbour!!!

Room Tip: The queen rooms are newer than the king rooms. Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newshoesWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Union Club of British Columbia. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience one of our recently renovated Suites! The complimentary breakfast is a favourite with our guests and we are glad you were able to make use of the Fitness Centre and complimentary laundry service as well. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria.
Kind regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful property with history. Excellent location, comfort very reasonable for a traditional property. We had an excellent breakfast and felt our room rate was very competitive for the room size and location. Would always return and recommend to adult travelers.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 2nd floor king deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback received and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria, British Columbia.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A true 'gentleman's club' atmosphere in a superb location. A few steps up to the entrance of the but worth the effort. Don't expect a porter to come to your aid - there appear to be none. Spacious, a little quaint and with a dress code that may not suit very casual travellers, but which was not too demanding in the breakfast room at least. Welcoming and helpful staff, and an excellent breakfast. Very well located, a stone's throw from the harbour with its many activities/attractions.

Room Tip: Our excellent room had no view of any consequence. Many must have a splendid outlook, but presumably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Roger,

Thank you for your kinds words. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback received and note that the stairs are sometimes a little challenging when carrying luggage. In future, there is an alternative entrance down the driveway where you can then take the elevator up to avoid any stairs. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria, British Columbia.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed the vintage building, elevator and room fixtures. I can't comment on the complementary breakfast because we had to get an early start up the coast. However, it looked like it would have been excellent. The September price of this room was very competitive if you want to stay downtown. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who appreciates classical architecture and antiques. We had a hard time finding this establishment. It was not marked well and calling the hotel did not yield useful information. We deliberately selected the least expensive room price and the view was predictably bad. Note that you will be paying a hefty parking fee for any of these downtown hotels. This hotel used public parking that is about two blocks away.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what the magic trick is, but if you want a view, don't book the lowest availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club British Columbia, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. For your next stay, you may wish to consider booking one of our Suites, or the Harbour View Suite, which has an amazing view the the beautiful inner harbour. We appreciate all feedback received and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Victoria, British Columbia.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Club British Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Club British Columbia

Property: Union Club British Columbia
Address: 805 Gordon St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#23 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Club British Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Club of British Columbia was established in 1879 and is rich in history. The Club features old Victorian decor with rich wood motifs and offers you affordable elegance while visiting Victoria, the City of flowers. Situated across from Victoria Harbor, the Club is in the heart of the tourist, shopping and business districts. As an overnight guest at the Inn at the Union Club, you are welcome to use all of the club’s facilities which include our Business Centre, Billiard Room, Library, Reading Room and during the summer season our Roof Top Garden. For dining purposes you may join us for casual breakfast, lunch or dinner in our McGregor Lounge, or for more formal dining, in our McKenzie Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Union Club British Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Club British Columbia Hotel Victoria
Union Hotel Victoria
Union Hotel British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing