We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Suites. Service? You Win Some, You Lose Some...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Suites. Service? You Win Some, You Lose Some...”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a great suite at this hotel with part harbor view, but it was definitely too expensive, over $300 a night including all the lovely Canadian taxes.

Initially, we weren't too happy with the service at the hotel - to say the least. When we asked if we could get soy or rice milk for breakfast, we were told we would have to buy that ourselves. When I asked kindly if they could clean our room Sunday morning, they let us know we would have to wait till the departure rooms had been cleaned first.

Err, right. We're paying 300 dollars a night, and you have to fight to have your room cleaned at 10 am? Or get your own soy milk at the grocery across the bridge?

I was about to give this hotel 1 star for service, but the Regency totally redeemed themselves the last night we were there. When there was heavy construction going on in the room above us, they actually moved us to their three bedroom suite which I would recommend to any restless millionaire (or any family of three).

Wow, what a place. That was worth the whole stay and showed us that the hotel actually cares about their guests.

So now they have two friends for life. If only that noisy construction had started a little earlier ...

Yes, we would stay there again, even though it's stressful to spend the night in a three bed suite. So many beds, so little time!.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanishAccent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Although cleaning a mix of check outs and stay overs can be a bit of a juggling act, there can be no doubt that we should respond to a guest's request to have their room cleaned at a certain time. This has been addressed with our housekeeping department. We do not have a full commercial kitchen with extensive storage, so that makes it difficult to supply all items for breakfast. I am glad that we were able to upgrade you and make the remainder of your stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    300
    55
    20
    8
See reviews for
371
602
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, which appeared to be an apartment with a living room, full kitchen, and 2 large bedrooms. This would have been perfect for 2 couples traveling together because the set-up provided optimal privacy for each bedroom. Our room overlooked the harbor. It was a bit pricey for the age of the hotel, but we got the AAA rate...which I thought was a good deal before they added almost $60 in taxes to the per night rate. The room was clean and we had everything we needed. We stayed 3 nights. The location is great--within walking distance to everything. They offer a continental breakfast buffet each morning that was perfect for us. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindynGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This is the 2nd time we stayed at the VR and with four adults and one child, this was a perfect location. We stayed for a week, which was a better deal. Able to walk everywhere downtown including across the Johnson Bridge to the Vic West side (Delta). 1st floor, 2 bedrm, 2 bathrm suite which suited us just fine. No elevator and just steps away from front door and the breakfast room. Noise not a problem except for a loud party upstairs of us who used their balconey to yell at passersby. A word with the front desk stopped that almost immediately. Wi-Fi, three TVs, full kitchen and dining area was really good. We ate out every lunch and cooked or brought food in every evening meal.

My only complaint would be that the parking is tight, especially for a rental van. As well, I could see in the hot summer with no A/C, leaving windows is a problem when the float planes take off and land. The exhaust fumes are pretty heavy and I could see it being noisy. While unusual to have warmer than 22 degrees C even in the summer, it has been known to happen.

Still, if comfort, cost and location is important, can't beat this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This building used to be a crappy place. But since a couple it is renewed in a perfect way!
We had a family room. Great living, two large bed and bath rooms plus a great kitchen with all you might need. The balcony/patio gives a nice view on the harbor. Worth the rate you pay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thema77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located in downtown Victoria. It had everything we needed for a short visit to Victoria. I appreciated the complimentary parking and breakfast. The bathroom was huge, and the room's furniture was nicely arranged so that it felt spacious and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for reasonably priced accommodations in Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycomforttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel with our 3 teenagers at the end of July. We were very impressed with the very large apartment style suite which we stayed in. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms roomy with black out curtains. Each bedroom had its own ensuite.There was a large living room and a very well equipped kitchen . The hotel had also provided an extra folding bed which we had requested when we booked through Expedia. We found the easy access to washing machine and tumble dryer in the same corridor as our suite very useful. We had a lovely harbour view and enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the float planes coming in and out and plenty of other harbour activity. (We did hear the float planes coming in and out from quite early in the morning but were able to 'filter' it out.) We had a good continental breakfast and again had a great view of the harbour from the dinning room. The staff at reception were very helpfuland gave us advice about places to go and how to get there.The hotel is in a very good position for easy access to VIctoria. We LOVED Victoria as a city and really liked the Victoria regent hotel. We would love to return some day!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia-BST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2009

pro..Excellent location for walking about the shopping district and the harbor
con..their opinion of a full harbor view differed from mine..We had part of a harbor view and a full parking lot view where noisy young people gathered at night. Our bedroom windows looked directly into office window next door and a restaurant.
pro..the continental breakfast was plentiful with a better harbor view.
con...same fruit bowl everyday and grapefruit is too strong to use in a fruit bowl it overpowered the orange and pineapple.
con I think i spent more time waiting for the elevator than I did sightseeing..Take the stairs.
pro..Rooms were very clean
con ..lobby too small and needs a reno.
pro..staff pleasant and very helpful especially young man with accent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadalady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing