We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We state at the hotel for our anniversary at the end of September. Despite being locals and living just 5 minutes away - we could see our apartment building from the waterfront, we wanted a "night away". The hotel room was clean and bright. We paid a pretty penny for it, but it was still high season. We parked in the secure garage - spots are very small so don't bring a large vehicle or you will need to find parking elsewhere. The bed was awesome. The location can't be beat. It's central to everything. It's right at the number 6 bus stop. All the other bus stops are in walking distance. And it's at the base of the downtown core. You can walk to everything. However this is victoria so if you're vacationing here bring an umbrella no matter what time of year because it rains year round. Great hotel. Great location. Free breakfast but you have to seat and serve yourself and then they ask for a tip after?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwayso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    284
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
351
564
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

we took a two bed apartment in this hotel, the flat is very new, nice deco and very clean... the view from the balcony is amazing... staff is really friendly and the location is good too, its also quite cheap in January not sure during the summer tho...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matbonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Victoria Regent Hotel. The fact that you really liked your two bedroom suite, the friendliness of the staff, and the location, too, really means a lot to us! We hope to see you again on your next vacation to Victoria.

Earl Wilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My cousins , friends and I came from Ottawa, California, Chilliwack and Parksville to clean out our other cousins apartment. Staying at the Victoria Regent made an unpleasant talk enjoyable. We were able to come home at night , have a glass of wine and make our own dinner in a great space with a beautiful view. The kitchen was well equipped, the dining room and living room spacious with enough seating for a crowd. We had two, 2 bedroom suites and were together for dinner and the evening. The apartments had everything you would need for a 2 week stay and the staff were very helpful. The beds and bedding were clean and comfortable. The location was great! Right on the harbour , close to great restaurants and ocean walks . It was a great spot for us to stay.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the harbour and the Legislature Buildings. It was just after Christmas, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Alice,

I’m so pleased to hear that your stay at Victoria Regent Hotel was a bright spot in an otherwise difficult time, and appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

We love to read that you felt the apartments had everything you needed for a 2 week stay, that the staff were very helpful, the beds and bedding clean and comfortable, and the location great.

Earl Wilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

'Twas the night after Christmas, (and the night after that)
We went off to Victoria, for a family repast;
The ferry ride over was smooth as the air,
Turned left off of Pandora, soon we would be there;
The Parking lot is tricky, (a bit hard to grasp)
But the intercom voice finally, got us there at last.

Two floors up in the elevator (we rode this a lot),
We arrived at the front desk, greeted by Scott.
Or was it Adam or Lynne, or Ethan for that matter.
They all made us feel good, (oh, so much better).
To the seventh floor our elevator really did fly.
We walked into seven eleven and just said “oh my”!

The room was amazing, with views below.
A king size bed in the middle, with more than one pillow.
When what to my wondering eyes should appear,
A large flat screen TV and fridge for our beer.
With a large balcony over to one side,
And a nicely equipped bathroom (done with pride).

More down a hallway to the next room attached,
With doors into closet (iron and board, wrinkles dispatched).

Now we read about Marriot, Royal Scot, and Harbour Towers.
The Magnolia, Rialto, Swans Suites, man, it took hours.
Or days but not weeks (we had few to decide)
Some were better than most but ours had more pride.

So, stay somewhere else, if their reviews you do trust
But the Regent is our choice and we say it is a must.
And in the end we hope that they will not disappoint.
But you certainly can’t do better than stay at this joint.

PS my apologies to the staff who probably are not named Scot, Adam, Lynne, or Ethan but were all great. Also to the writer of “The night before Christmas” (although he’s dead).

Finally, Merry Christmas to all travellers and the best for the New Year.
From DJ Stewart

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RadTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
‘Twas the night we were reading this, and all through the hotel
All employees were delighted by this story you did tell.
Housekeeping, front desk, maintenance, too,
Even the GM was yelling “woo hoo!”

You see, your comments were so nice to hear
We couldn’t help but sound a loud cheer.
We’re so glad the front desk staff helped you feel grand
This is part and parcel of the Victoria Regent brand.

You mentioned your amazing room, with views below.
This, too, gave us a pleasant glow.
We’re happy you enjoyed the comforts of your suite.
It sounds like king beds, flat screen TVs, and a fridge for your beer were a treat.

Once again, we appreciate your glowing review,
And send a very heartfelt THANK YOU!

Earl Wilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Four girlfriends rented a two bedroom suite with two queen beds in both bedrooms so we could celebrate our friendship & do some Christmas shopping in Victoria. The suite was perfectly located so we could shop, eat & drink all within a few minutes walk of our hotel. The beds were comfortable, the showers had great pressure, the living room was well suited for conversations and the kitchen was well stocked. The staff was very friendly, the parking was free and the complementary breakfast was great. We will definitely book the Regent for next year's get-together.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us.

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your girlfriends’ getaway and that you found you were not only perfectly located for shopping, eating, and drinking, all within a few minutes walk of the hotel, but that you also had time for great conversations in your living room and enjoyed comfortable beds, friendly staff, and our complimentary breakfast.

Can’t wait to see you all again for next year’s get-together!

Earl Wilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have been meaning to write a review about this hotel for months and have just not got around to doing it, our stay here was so good, whatever I write will not do it justice but I feel duty bound to make the effort and post a review.

We stayed here on our touring holiday through the Rockies, Vancouver Island and Vancouver. I was travelling with my elderly mother, my husband and our 15 year old son. Do not be put off by the look of the outside of the building, these apartments/rooms are fabulous, the location is perfect. We were exceptionally lucky; upon arrival we were upgraded to their best suite, it was located on the 6th and 7th floors and occupied the corner of the building overlooking the Parliament building on one side and the harbour on the other.

We had the use of three bedrooms; the master had a beautiful en-suite with a Jacuzzi bath, shower etc. all finished with granite, the other two rooms shared a large shower room which was just as opulent. All rooms had floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views. Down the spiral staircase within the apartment to the open plan living area; this comprised of a lovely kitchen with every appliance you could think of, a dining table for eight, two separate lounge areas with ‘log effect’ gas fires, TV’s, sound systems etc. and an office area. All rooms again had floor to ceiling windows but these all opened onto a large terrace.

We paid very little extra to have breakfast brought to the apartment which was lovely. The rooms were spotless, the staff exceptional, the location could not be bettered; straight out of the door to the harbour and main shopping area, car park directly under the main building accessed via a lift.

Undoubtedly the best hotel we stayed in though out our trip, although we were extremely lucky to be upgraded the other guests we met during our stay where just as happy, we would definitely stay here again with or without our upgrade if solely for its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We so appreciate you taking the time to write and post your review. The fact that you had such an incredible stay and that ours was undoubtedly the best hotel you stayed in during your holiday through the Rockies, Vancouver, and Vancouver Island really means a lot to us!

Thank you for your many kind comments about your “fabulous” and “spotless” room, the “exceptional” staff and perfect location. This is exactly the kind of experience we want for you and all of our visitors.

Earl Wilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

As our work xmas party was in a 2 bed suite at this hotel, we opted to stay in room (not a suite) to avoid any driving after the event. So, first time, sight unseen. Enjoyed our stay; complementary breakfast was just great; staff very friendly; parking convenient underground; close to all downtown Victoria has to offer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Brenda,

I’m very happy to hear that your first visit to Victoria Regent Hotel, sight unseen, was enjoyable and that you liked our complimentary breakfast, friendly staff, convenient underground parking, and proximity to all downtown Victoria has to offer.

Thanks for taking to the time to share your thoughts, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Victoria.

Earl Wilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing