We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for touring Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location for touring Victoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent 1 night here at the beginning of our trip to Vancouver Island and 2 at the end of our visit.

Pros
Excellent location within walking distance to the harbor, restaurants etc
Nice continental breakfast
Parking included
Great harbor views
Friendly front desk staff

Cons
Some areas seemed slightly worn (carpets, deck furniture, towels)
Wifi access intermittent.


For the value provided you can't beat this accommodation. We walked 5 minutes after getting off the float plane and we were at the front desk. 10 minute walk the next day to pick up our car rental and short walks to the museums and great dining options. The first night we were upgraded to a harbor view suite-what a spectacular view! The last 2 nights we reserved harbor view in advance. The 2nd room did not have as good a view as the first night but still very nice and no complaints.

Go with the harbor view and enjoy your continental breakfast in your room. There is a $2 per person charge for this service but worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tashapVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    284
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
351
564
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed in several types of accommodation in and around Victoria, the suite we have at the Victoria Regent has it all. The location is fantastic you feel assured your vehicle is in safe secure parking while you walk out of the front door and explore Victoria. You are in walking distance of The Galloping Goose if you like cycling, running and hiking. Cycles are available to rent nearby and a lock up is available to guests. Sports facilities including swimming and kayaking are reached easily. Breakfast with one of the finest views in Victoria was complimentary and the service excellent. The rooms were cleaned daily and in great condition all the staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were overjoyed with our stay at the Victoria Regent... We tossed around many options (including renting a home on airbnb and many other hotels) before settling on the Victoria Regent, mainly because it was the most affordable option for our family of 6 adults and one 9 month old baby. With such a big group to fit, we were prepared to be a bit squished all in the one suite so it was a delightful surprise to enter our suite and find that it was bigger than our apartment! The suite consisted of four double beds, two bathrooms, a kitchen and dining space and lounge (with room for us all to sit) and balcony overlooking the harbour!
It was so good that after walking through the downtown area, and seeing all that we wanted to see, we decided to go back to our suite and have dinner and drinks admiring the view.
Breakfast was included and incredibly generous, again allowing us to make the most of the spacious and luxurious suite.
The staff were genuinely friendly and very accommodating - we were even given an extra car space FOC since we had two cars with us.
The furnishings in the room were modern and clean, the beds very comfortable and the carpet lovely and plush (our nine month old gave the carpet her firm nod after testing it thoroughly attempting to walk on her own... It cushioned many a fall!).
All in all we couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: We booked through a third party hotel finding site and simply requested that the room accommodate 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TickingOffBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Regent. We are delighted that our spacious suite fulfilled your needs and that we were a factor in your enjoyment of our beautiful city. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team and we look forward to being able to host you on your next visit to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a centrally-located hotel in downtown Victoria. Good for tourists (although I was not here for sightseeing.) All amenities that I wanted (desk, wifi) were there, wifi was good, staff were helpful. Room could have been a bit larger but it was fine. I liked the balcony, although in hindsight I would have preferred a harbour view room (there were some garbage or street cleaning trucks that woke me up one morning).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-OWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Large and lovely suites, clean, beautiful view of the harbor, attentive staff, good price, great location - what more could you ask? A great romantic getaway spot for a couple. Within walking distance of all the things you might want to see or restaurants you might want to try in downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: Ask to have a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here because of the great price for the 2 bedroom suites and ideal location. We were rewarded with a lovely 2 bedroom suite (so spacious and beautiful-both bedrooms had access to our massive balcony). The front desk was so helpful and always cheery. I dropped off many a postcard with them and relied on them for insider's advice. The breakfast is great-and loved the to-go coffee cups as well (also had a fine selection of teas). The view of the harbor was nice, although if we'd had a room on a higher level, it would have been all the more fantastic. The prime location really cannot be beat by any hotel.
I enjoyed the free wi-fi, full kitchen, and (had I had a car) the free parking. The lighting in the bedrooms gave it a nice modern feel. The bathroom products were lovely-and I enjoyed the normal hair dryer (vice the wall-mounted ones most hotels have). There is ample closet space!
My only suggestion would be access to a fitness room. Thank you for a truly lovely stay!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room if a view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing up three days here. What a beautiful place! We started out in a two bedroom, after asking to move from a one bedroom for a very small charge. The suite was lovely with a terrific partial harbor view. Clean, huge, updated. Our second night the fire alarm went off in our room about 10 pm after we were in our pajamas. They couldn't figure out how to fix it so we were moved...to the penthouse. Incredible suite with three terraces all with wonderful views of the harbor. Seaplanes, water taxis, ferries, the beautiful city at night. The staff has all been amazing, friendly and eager to help. One of our televisions wasn't working this morning. Within 10 min, someone was up to fix it. Parking is underground and free. Breakfast is in a lovely room with great views and really good continental breakfast. The homemade granola bars are terrific. And the ladies in the breakfast room are very kind and helpful as is the housekeeping staff. Customer service is obviously something they take very seriously and it shows. All in all. It is a great place to stay. We will be back the next time we come to Victoria. It's not the cheapest place but when you add in breakfast, parking, excellent service and the views, it's hard to find a place with greater value for the dollar.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alexmom1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing