We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a sunny day you can't beat the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location, parking, internet, and breakfast included. Clean huge room. Friendly staff, reasonable rate. Walking distance to everything, no need to get back in car. Even good wine in the mini-bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great hotel, its location is perfect for all the restaurants and bars. they are literally on your doorstep. The view from the balcony is wonderful, you can sit there enjoying the coming and goings of the ferry's and seaplanes with a glass of wine. Yes there is a little noise from the seaplanes etc but it is not that noticeable and I think adds to the atmosphere of the place.
This is not a full service hotel so it does not have all the amenities. The breakfast is a little lacking, but the view while you have breakfast is great.
As this is a suites hotel the rooms have everything you need, the kitchen is stocked with all cooking implements you need. All you have to do is add food.
The room was always looked after well by the housekeeping staff.
overall a very pleasant stay and we look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 502, and 602 have great views Try for room in the middle of the hotel. not one on the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rzrsedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The PROS: view is incredible, and a wonderful place to enjoy the Inner Harbour. Suite was huge, could easily hold a large family. Convenient parking (underground).

The CONS: loud (street traffic) and rather pricey for the room we had. Jacuzzi tub in master bath didn't work, CD players in both bedrooms didn't work - and when I told the front desk about it upon checking out, received a "oh really? Hmmm... Well, I apologize." room was a bit outdated for the price.

Overall, still a nice place to utilize if only for the view.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank MCinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I really loved the one bedroom sweet, it was such a nice room. My favorite part is the balcony you can go out on. Really clean and friendly & helpful staff :) I want to stay here every time I go to Victoria! Recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family of 5 had a lovely stay! We reserved a 1 bedroom suite but were kindly upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse suite. Very nice! Each bedroom had a king bed plus there was a pull out sofa. My kids loved having all the space to spread out. There was a full kitchen, a dining area, a sun room with glass/sliding doors on three sides, and balconies off most of the rooms. The views of the harbor were lovely and my children loved watching the seaplanes take off and land. We were on the side of the hotel farthest from the Parliament building so at night, we could only see part of it lit up. Nevertheless, the views were amazing. The beds/linens were comfortable, but I would've preferred a comforter to a blanket. The decor was dated and while I loved most everything about the Victoria Regent, I think it could use a bit of a facelift. That said, the suite was very clean and everything was in working order. You can tell the staff really cares. All of the staff was just lovely and so helpful. Made us feel right at home. We really appreciated the complimentary continental breakfast. For $2/person you can choose what you want the night before and have it delivered to your room. This was such a bonus since we had the dining table to eat at. Trying to wrangle 3 kids down to breakfast is such a pain, so it was fantastic to be able to eat in a leisurely manner and use the space. Some reviewers complained that there were no hot selections on the menu, but we thought there was plenty to choose froom...cereals, bagels, english muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, etc. Others complained about the lack of a/c, but it wasn't necessary with all the windows/sliding doors and the nice breeze off the harbor. It was very nice to have parking beneath the hotel given how congested downtown Victoria gets. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown and an easy walk to everything. It was a great value for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fijichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom suite with view of the wonderful Victoria port. We almost got lost in the space of the apartment. All facilities are there.....but airconditioning. Sliding doors to the balcony can be opened from any room. Just great as is the location of the hotel. On Saturday a noisy bachelor party was started in the hotel but quickly terminated bu hotel staff (we think).

Two issues to beware of:
- the approach of the waterplanes is directly over the hotel between the ours of (about 8am and 8pm). You can enjoy their airobatics very much, bit some might be irritated by their noise. We are sensitive to noise but did not consider it an issue,just enjoyed the show.
- streetnoise (nearby bridgeroad) was very audible.

We would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here at the end of July. We had a lovely 2 bedroom suite with 2 king beds. The room was very clean and the views of the harbour were amazing. The balcony was an added bonus that we really enjoyed. Each room had a large bathroom, one with a jacuzzi tub and shower and the other with a bath and shower. The beds were extremely comfortable with fine linens. We did not hear any outside noise from other rooms. The free parking was underground and convenient. The complimentary breakfast was also great with muffins, pastries, ceral, fresh fruit, etc. all served in a quaint area with harbour views. The lack of air conditioning concerned me initially, coming from an area where summer temperatures do not decrease much in the evening. Do not worry at all. Most
hotels do not have air conditioning, as it is not needed. Our room was never too warm and the weather was warm and sunny during our visit. They do have fans (located in the closet) if you
need the extra air. The temperature dropped after 6 pm which made it very comfortable to sleep
later on in the evening.
We ate at a good restaurant 2 minutes away (I can't remember the name, sorry. It was on Wharf street, across the street at the beginning of the pedestrian mall).
Great hotel that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J.L.B.2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,117 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $166 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing