We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kingwood
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Terrific location. Outstanding staff. A very large suite (essentially a one-bedroom apartment with full kitchen, large living room, separate large bedroom, bath, and closet room to spare) for great price relative to other options. View of harbor is wonderful. Everything within walking range. Lots of small, fun restaurants within a block or two. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a suite with the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    284
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
351
564
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the May Long Weekend. The room was LOVELY the view was AMAZING! The hotel was very nice and clean and the staff were friendly. I especially liked how we went into town and came back to our ice container being filled, complimentary water bottles and a little piece of paper with the next days weather forecast on it. The location was possibly the best location! You can get everywhere in downtown Victoria by walking. And there were lots of local pubs near by! I will be visiting this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe room for five nights and really enjoyed both the location and room. Very clean, beds were quite comfortable and the two closets in the entry gave it a home-like feel. Located within walking distance of many great restaurants and attractions. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay downtown for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I joined another couple in a two-bedroom suite overlooking the water in this very pleasant hotel/condo. We were delighted with our accommodations and the service. The view from our balcony and windows was spectacular. It was great to order our ample Continental breakfast the night before and enjoy it in our kitchen area. We found some wonderful restaurants and pubs within walking distance, and we were able to park our rental car in the convenient parking garage. The hotel staff was also very cordial. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We chose rooms overlooking the water because of the view. That was very appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Perfect hotel. Actually condo and hotel mix. Some rooms deluxe face the city more like a nice hotel room with a large balcony. Others are suites facing the harbor. Staff is younger and very friendly professional and accommodating. Cont breakfast and free wi do as well as parking included in rate. Bathrobes and nice toiletries

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Victoria Regent Hotel is in a very central location and close to the Parliament buildings, the shopping areas and The Empress Hotel. I chose to book at this hotel because it included free internet, parking and breakfast. The breakfast service starts at 7 am and has lots of options available. The staff at the Edge Water cafe is friendly and helpful.

The check-in was quick and easy. The only complaint I have about check in is that the keycards were not coded properly so they didn't always work to access the parking garage or our room. We had to get new cards made. The plus is that the parking garage has a buzzer you can ring to gain access if your card is not working.

The rooms are big and we had a street facing room. The room has ample closet and storage space and the washroom is HUGE - just what I like. We had a nice size balcony that we stood on to view the Super Moon on the day it was closest to Earth - so that was a nice bonus.

I found the staff throughout the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. The Edge Water cafe closes during the afternoon hours, so when my Mom was in search of a cup of tea, the front desk staff prepared a tray with a tea pot filled with hot water, milk, sugar and an assortment of teas for her and brought it to our room - at no charge.

The noise level from a street facing room is a bit more than I would have expected. People walking in the streets and talking loudly could be heard, and I could hear some noise from nearby rooms. Furthermore, we had a lot of windows, which offered lots of light. This was really nice during the day, however, I have trouble sleeping with even a sliver of light shining in the room, including any lights from electronics. At the foot of the bed, the TV stand has electronics that display the time. The light coming in from the cracks between window covers and the electronics made it difficult for me to fall asleep, compounded with the noise coming in from the street. It's certainly not a quiet neighbourhood with all the bars and restaurants nearby!

My only "big" complaint would be that a group of young men checked in and were staying on our floor. They started "partying" in their room at around 11 pm on a Saturday night - as young men do. We called down to the front desk and staff did come to their room and ask them to quiet down. The men were rowdy and did quiet down and eventually went out to go to the clubs. Around 3 am they returned and were again loud and fighting. The front desk staff was called again, however, this group was not asked to leave, despite complaints from our room and neighbouring rooms. Eventually the group did quiet down, but this was too late as they disrupted the sleep of other guests for most of the night. As it turns out these guests likely caused damage and the hotel staff could have prevented this if the police were called and that group was asked to leave.

The parking stalls are a tight fit if you're driving an SUV or larger vehicle. The passenger door of my vehicle was scratched when I attempted to park near a post.

The hotel, rooms and staff were fantastic and I would most certainly stay here again, but would likely reconsider where the room is situated when I make a booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satbir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is in a perfecto location on the water in Victoria. Perfect for launching walking tours of downtown, Chinatown and waterfront. Whale watching tour right next door. Also close to all good downtown restaurants. Staff was helpful on all counts. Great continental breakfast included. Only negatives are the parking deck underneath which is a little bleak and but with our rate included parking so I shouldn't complain.

Room Tip: Call hotel for best rate rather than rely on Expedia, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing