We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

First of all: location location location, smack in the middle of Victoria. Couldn't be any better really!

We booked through expedia, upon arrival, everything was booked and ready. No problems at all with check-in. There was a free locked parking underneath the hotel, also wi-fi and continental breakfast was included (don't know for sure if this is standard or if this was an expedia offer only). The room, which was more of a an appartment i'd like to live in, was perfect. The view on the parliament and harbor were superb. On a clear day you can even see the snow-tipped mountains of the olympic peninsula. The room was big and had a terras and a fully capable kitchen. The hotel is basic in terms of extras; there is no pool or lounge or gym (that i was told about) but it doesn't matter at all. It's solid! It offers what it advertises. The only "downside" I could find was no airconditioning on the room. If the sun shines on the windows it can get very warm in there but if you let some draft go through it cools off quickly. Plus your near the water. But I can assume that whens its really warm outside, your going to be sweating a lot. Besides that, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    316
    55
    20
    9
See reviews for
398
636
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Directions to the hotel were perfect. Parking is included in the price and is located underground, keeping the car cool and clean - an important point since many cars on the street were littered with seagull droppings.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. We showed up on a Monday afternoon and found we were upgraded to a very spacious 1 br harbourfront suite on the main floor. The building was originally constructed as condominiums (some units are still condos) so the suites feel more like a home than a hotel. Gorgeous view of the harbour! The sliding glass doors to the large balcony needed a little jiggling to seal shut to keep the wind from howling through. Float planes take off and land directly outside the building, but surprisingly, they did not emit as much noise as one would expect. The master bedroom with king sized bed was HUGE, along with the insuite bathroom. The living room did not have a pull out couch for our daughter, so the staff promptly brought her a cot. There was plenty of room for that in the living/dining area.
The buffet breakfast (also complimentary) was great - good coffee and a nice selection of cereals, breads/pastries, fruit and yogurt. Staff worked very hard to keep tables clean and ready, and replenished items quickly as needed . Make sure to bring a few $$ to leave a tip when you're done - they truly deserve it.
We did bring a take out dinner back to the room one evening, and the kitchen had everything we needed, except for a sponge. We made do by washing dishes with the small washcloth provided. For larger families or groups, the dishwasher is very handy to have.
It was no more than a 5 minute walk to any attraction. We thoroughly enjoyed the Victoria Bug Zoo, Pacific Undersea Gardens and free tour of the Parliament Buildings. Bastion Square is just across the street and the whole area is full of interesting stores and restaurants.
The fact that parking, breakfast, wireless internet and even bottled water were all included made it a solid value. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 108 is next to the cafe where they serve breakfast. A bit noisy in the morning if you're in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto_traveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was our chosen hotel for our 2 day stay in Victoria. The location is very good in that it's located at the start of the main street through Victoria and has underground (free) parking. We stayed on the 1st floor and this was at street level. It meant that street noise could be heard and it was quite busy. the room was of average size and an air-con machine was provided which took up a bit of space within the room. Not much of a view from the room.

The breakfast was a buffet type breakfast and the selection was good. The breakfast room had a great view of the water and looked up to the parliment building...nice. All in all, the room we had was just average (but it sounds like you can have amazing rooms in this place) any maybe that was typical of the 1st floor rooms.

However, it was a nice hotel, staff were very helpful and having the free parking was excellent. If staying here again, I would probably ask for a room in the higher floors.

Room Tip: Higher floors sound better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Victoria was our second stop on our honeymoon. We checked in and found our room on the 5th floor. It was not huge, but fit the king size bed, desk, refrigerator, and a large closet. The bathroom was very big in proportion to the rest of the room. There was a small balcony connected to the room with a table and chairs set-up. Our room overlooked the city but I believe the other side of the hotel overlooks the harbor. It was very pleasant eating breakfast out on the balcony in the morning. One of the best things about the hotel was the parking. The Victoria Regent has an underground parking garage that you can access with your room key. It is included in the room price and felt very secure. It was nice not to have to wait (or pay) for a valet to get the car. The hotel was right across from Bastion Square and a short walk to the harbor. The staff was friendly, there was a small business center with a printer, and the front of the hotel is nicely landscaped. The front desk personnel were helpful in pointing us toward some things to do and gave us a map. We are very happy we found this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNS514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I can't think of a better location in downtown Victoria than the Victoria Regent Hotel. I stayed in a two-bedroom suite. The suite was large, with a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen, two large bedrooms and two full bathrooms. We had a balcony with an amazing view of Victoria's harbour.

Highlights:
- the spacious, clean & nicely decorated suite on the water
-a lovely breakfast room with huge windows overlooking the docks, boats, and seaplanes
-incredibly convenient location just a five-minute walk to the inner harbour and all kinds of shopping
-excellent restaurants all around (including the Sauce across the street, and Il Terrazzo a block and a half away)
-a decent continental breakfast included in your room rate (hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cottage cheese, bananas, fruit salad, red river cereal, bagels, muffins, pastry, scones, juice, coffee and tea)
-friendly front desk staff
-secure and complimentary underground parking
-free wifi internet (a few problems with connectivity, but not too bad)

The negatives:
- no pool or gym (although you can ask for free passes to the Y)
- no onsite lounge or restaurant
- room keys that were continually being de-magnetized
-narrow balconies

Despite the negatives, this was an excellent hotel overall. I would highly recommend the 2 bedroom suite for a family or two couples or a group of friends. The rates are very reasonable when you consider how much room you're getting & the excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We read through a number of places before deciding to stay here, and are glad we did. From the moment we arrived the reception staff was very friendly and helpful. I had booked and paid for the room over the internet and when we were shown in thought that we may wanted something a bit bigger and when I when I mentioned this we were moved to a larger suite without any problems. The room was very large for a 1 bedroom apartment and had an enormous living area. We were over looking the harbour and it felt as if we were on a ship floating on the water. It was very reasonably priced and we received a very nice breakfast and the wifi was free which is not often the case in larger hotels. It also included free parking.
The position was very central and all the tourist sites and shopping and restaurants were within walking distance.
The beds were kingsize and very comfortable and it had a very servicable and user friendly kitchen area.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite overlooking the harbour the view is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jokerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Searched around before settling on the Victoria Regent and we were really glad that we did. The convenience of being right on Wharf Street combined with an attentive and helpful staff that answered every question, helped with a few of our self-inflicted problems (a lost flight itinerary), and continually pointed us in the right direction, made our anniversary trip one to remember for sure. Our room was on the city-view side (i.e. the cheap side) and while it was insanely loud when the Canucks won their hockey game, it was clean, comfortable and the view was outstanding. The Continental breakfast was adequate but quite forgettable, although the view of the harbor was stunning. I wouldn't underestimate the value of the free parking and the proximity to nearly everything as it is surely unequaled by every other place except perhaps the Empress.

If we ever make it back, we will surely stay at the Victoria Regent!

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilkeCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,738 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing