We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Travel Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Delta Hotels Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$254
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$198
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$381
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zed(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$94
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oswego Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
5
19
27
6
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
19
27
6
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite spotplace to sleepfridgevancouverferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 100 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were concerned after reading reviews, but a cousin had stayed here and said tho dated it was clean. this is a motel that is dated, and does need some repairs to the balcony, but we found things to be clean and reasonable, remember you are not going to a 5 star hotel.. We did mention a couple of problems, about a lamp and radio alarm clock not working and they were fixed the same day - we were impressed. You are a 10 minute walk to the Harbour. there is a White Spot kitty corner that you get 10% off by staying here. And the price is reasonable 79.00 for a King Bed Room. Would I stay again? If budget was my concern, Yes I would.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWBug_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

having stayed here 4 0r 5 times before, I thought I was safe. NOT.

this place in or out of recievership, is "rough" to be kind.

had I not been in a hurry I would have moved to another place.
dirty carpets, soiled bedding, stained comforter,no remote for TV, shower blasted water to the ceiling and beyond, blood on the wall in bathroom, pressure washer going ALL day Saturday.

do yourself and family a favour, move on from this dive.

Room Tip: stay anywhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montigny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor P, General Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hi just reading through reviews and our review came to my attention as it was not very good. I would like to invite you back to stay at our hotel again on your next visit and see how was have changed. We are under new Management and all new staff. We had a past manager that allowed in everyone and everyone. We now are very strict on our customers. Thank you for taking your time and bringing your issues forward helps me as the new manager improve in these areas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I did not read trip advisor before I booked this hotel through Expedia for its location and price. My wife then checked the negative comments before I checked in and complained my booking of a cheap hotel. We arrived in the hotel without high expectation, but I enjoyed the stay. Though I have to agree with those negative comments (the building is old, when a big truck passes by, you can feel the building shaking, it can be a little bit noisy as Douglas is one of the busiest street), but overall the place is safe, clean and tidy, the location is very convenient, it is a nice place to stay with such a good price and free parking.

Room Tip: I will suggest you asking for a room on a second or third floor instead of first floor, the rooms in the first floor may smell smoking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umchenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

a little bit noisy at night cause it is near the road. Over all, it is a nice place to stay with such a good price and convenient position.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Planned on staying here for 3 nights... should have checked trip advisor 1st. I will start with the positive, the woman working at front desk was extremely nice and professional. Thats all I can say. We parked in the underground parking figuring we could unload our stuff and hop straight into the elevator. Wrong. The door to access the elevator was locked so I stood there with our bags until my bf ran upstairs again and took the elevator down to unlock the door. Front desk told us the door is never locked... ok. Minor inconvience. Got up to the third floor and it wreaked of cig smoke. We figured with such an old building it was just years of previous smoking left lingering in the walls. But that night the hallways wreaked so bad it was obvious people were smoking in the rooms. Also the major cigerette burns in our comforter was our other big tip that it wasn't from the days of smoking inside (legally). I was so disgusted. I didn't even want to imagine the things that hotel room had seen and the stains all over the comforter didn't help . The toilet was another issue but I wont go into it. I had stayed here a few years back and I didn't remember it being so scummy so it was a disapointment. If your budget only allows this place then ok but it is really really worth it to spend the extra 20 or 30 and get a cleaner place. Needless to say we checked out by 9am the next day, didn't even shower (after reading about silverfish in the tub on here).

ps the entire building shakes when large trucks drive by.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethegreatoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor P, General Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Thank you for taking your time and submitting a review on our hotel. I would first like to appologize for your not so welcoming stay and would like to have you email me gmislandtravel@gmail.com so I may settle your issues

I took the property over in January this year and have had a bunch of hurdles to jump through but we are now back on the right track and again I am very sorry for your last stay and would like to invite you back to see our changes. We have added Continental breakfast and cleaned the place up

Thank you
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews